Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for Fletcher
Seven Of One: This must be a show to go down in history, purely because it sparked Porridge and Open All Hours. Effectively a series of 7 pilots, with possibilities for further series with each episode, Ronnie plays 7 completely different characters with perfect ease.
Porridge: Clearly one of the greatest comedies of all time. Fletcher captured our hearts with Ronnie...
Published on 24 Nov 2005 by sue

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars good
if you like barker its all here most of his stuff sitcoms ect and cheaper than buying the sitcoms separate the porridge the full movie is not in this boxset but most of his otherstuff is there is no the two ronnies stuff in this box set
Published 8 months ago by stephen


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

107 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it for Fletcher, 24 Nov 2005
Seven Of One: This must be a show to go down in history, purely because it sparked Porridge and Open All Hours. Effectively a series of 7 pilots, with possibilities for further series with each episode, Ronnie plays 7 completely different characters with perfect ease.
Porridge: Clearly one of the greatest comedies of all time. Fletcher captured our hearts with Ronnie Barker's terrific acting abilities, and his talent for bringing a monotonous situation to life. Excellent writing, excellent acting, excellent direction. Excellent.
Going Straight: Oft overlooked, I find this to be almost on a par with Porridge; it is to me a fourth series of Porridge, just in a different setting. Richard Beckinsale heads up a spectacular backing cast for Ronnie, who gives his level best again.
Open All Hours: Ronnie's second most famous piece, discounting the Two Ronnies, I have never liked this anywhere near as much as Porridge, but the shop holds some truly fabulous moments, characters, and catchphrases.
The Magnificent Evans: He's Welsh now, and he slips into this new role with perfect ease, and it's hard to believe he could be so different to Fletcher and Arkwright.
Clarence: Now he's blind. Not as funny as it might have been, but some moments in Episode 4 will surely have you rolling about with laughter.
What's missing? Not a lot. I would've liked to see the "Ronnie Barker Yearbook", one of the shows which began his path to glory, and I would have liked to see that "Fletcher: Beyond The Box" thing from a couple of years ago, where some reporters visit the characters from Porridge and see what they made of their lives. There's one brilliant moment when the illiterate Warren is being interviewed while painting a "SCHOOL-NO STOPPING" sign on the road. He seems a bit worried, and calls off to say "How many Os are there in school?" He gets the reply "Two", says "Oh, that's a relief", and the camera pans down to see "SKOOL-NO STOPPING".
Anyway, here's hoping they do a comprehensive Two Ronnies Boxset soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie as Clarence & Arkwright is superb!!, 26 Jun 2007
By 
Shane Welch "Serge Ortega" (Canberra City, ACT Australia) - See all my reviews
An excellent collection. I've been a Ronnie Barker fan for years and jumped at the chance to buy this set.

I remember Open All Hours from when it was originally shown on Australian TV. Ronnie makes stuttering Arkwright one of the best comedy characters ever seen on TV. A very young David Jason proved the perfect foil for Ronnie's penny-pinching Arkwright. Brief aside here - why does a lot of David's early work (Porridge, Doctor In The House) entail him portraying old men? Strange that!

I've never been a fan of Porridge, but found I really enjoyed Going Straight (which I could not remember seeing on TV). Fletcher having to cope with life on the outside made him an even funnier character than that portrayed in Porridge. A very young Nicholas Lyndhurst was an added bonus.

Clarence was sublime!! I've been after this series for years. Ronnie and Josephine Tewson really sparked together. Pity only one series was ever made. This series alone was almost worth the purchase price of the whole set.

I enjoyed The Magnificent Evans and Seven Of One but unfortunately they could not compete with the brilliance of OAH and Clarence.

These comedies walk all over American comedies. The Brits (especially Ronnie) do it best!!

So where's the complete Two Ronnies set? I cannot believe one of the best comedy series ever made has not yet been released on DVD!!!! Series one release is NOT enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five stars for Porridge and Open All Hours, 3 Oct 2005
By 
Jonathan Oakey (Brussels Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This box set contains the following DVDs:
* Porridge series 1-3 & Christmas Specials
* Open All Hours series 1-4
* Going Straight
* Clarence
* Seven of One
* The Magnificent Evans
Porridge is Ronnie Barker's supreme achievement - his portrayal of Fletcher, the prison lag, is surely one of the best characters in comedy. Open All Hours, another of the top ten British comedies of all time, is a gentler comedy but also very good. Going Straight was a disappointment, and Clarence, from what I remember of seeing it on TV, wasn't that great either.
The price of this collection is amply justified by Porridge and OAH, and the others are interesting footnotes in Barker's career. Nevertheless, two of the greatest comic performances ever shown on TV - who can complain about that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ideal gift for Ronnie Barker fans, 19 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Includes all the DVDs of Ronnie I could think of and at a great value. Tested DVDs on my PC and different type of DVD players, and they run perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best a Genius at his trade, 15 Dec 2009
By 
Purchased The Ultimate Ronnie Barker to watch one of the best actors of his time. How can you forget the Four candles (Fork Handles) sketch from the Two Ronnies, the man was a genius at his trade, to make you ache with laughter.

The only thing that could have been mentioned before purchse is the fact that the disc`s default to Sub-Titles, in my opinion they should default No Sub-Titles, it`s not all that easy to take off the sub-Titles, it looks as if they are off when they are not - a bit messy.

But you cannot fault the entertainment.

Ron Wainman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie Barker - Side splitting comedy without a swear word, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. P. I. Campbell "Philip Campbell" (Bangor, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ronnie barker is one of the greatest comedians anywhere. His timing and often straight face are unique. These DVDs are a magical mix of both comedy and acting and for all of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars nice one RONNIE., 19 Dec 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
entertainment of the highest quality from the master of comedy.
40 for the box set is an absolute steal , the porridge set alone is worth that but my personel favourite from ronnie is clarence its so witty and clever only a true genius could write such a series and ronnie certainly delivers in his last offering before retirement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ronnie Barker - Comedy Genius, 9 Feb 2013
See the Genius in action when Barker starred on the popular BBC sitcoms "Porridge" (1974) (as a cockney prisoner) and "Open All Hours" (1976) (as a stammering Northern shopkeeper). In fact, only Leonard Rossiter could be said to have rivaled him during this time for the crown of British television's most popular comedy star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An American's Review, 25 Mar 2011
By 
Cantonman "Cantonman" (Dallas, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD] (DVD)
I can't think of many comedians more talented and versatile than Ronnie Barker. This set is a real bargain that provides hours of entertainment that really doesn't seem old despite the true age of many of these productions. I guess good acting, writing and production never age.

My favorite is "Open All Hours" simply because it was one of the first British comedies I was exposed to here in the States. It's "comfort food" for my eyes. I enjoy the warmth and slow pace of the series. Slow, yes, but never dull and full of relaxing greatness.

I'm not terribly familiar with Welsh accents and to my ears Ronnie sounds more Indian than Welsh as Evans. He does everything perfectly so I'm assuming it's accurate. I still enjoy the show.

It's so nice to see some lesser-known roles and have a good retrospective of his comedic career. (I'll have to seek out "The 2 Ronnies" as well to complete the collection.) Terrific in every way and highly recommended to other Americans looking for non-controversial, great comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate, 11 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD] (DVD)
Ronnie Barker has to be one of the greatest comedy character actors of all time. Whichever part he is playing he is totally believable and always very funny. This box set is excellent value and will keep you entertained for hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD]
The Ronnie Barker Ultimate Collection [DVD] by Ronnie Barker (DVD - 2010)
21.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews