Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (126)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough
Having purchased other sketch/variety type shows, I was expecting a slow build up to the comic genius I remembered from my childhood. The surviving material from the duos first BBc series reinforced that expectation. While it is undoubtedly funny, it's just not the M&W I remembered. But with the first colour episode, and the introduction of Eddie Braben as their...
Published on 12 Oct 2011 by Parkie

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spoilt by woman giving running commentary
classic comedy. OK on discs 1-6, but disc 7 spoilt by some woman doing a running commentary on what E & E are up to; I haven't found an option to turn her off. (haven't tried later discs yet)
Published 29 days ago by Muso Phil


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars is not enough, 12 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Having purchased other sketch/variety type shows, I was expecting a slow build up to the comic genius I remembered from my childhood. The surviving material from the duos first BBc series reinforced that expectation. While it is undoubtedly funny, it's just not the M&W I remembered. But with the first colour episode, and the introduction of Eddie Braben as their writer, the series just sort of arrives fully formed. Braben did what no other writers for Eric and Ernie did, he based his whole approach around their own off-stage personalities and the three together raised the bar for TV comedy. All the things we remember so fondly are in place and the leads are firing on all cylinders from the opening credits to the first, dazzling curtain call of Janet Webb. This episode also features the great Peter Cushing's debut and the start of one of the longest running gags in comedy history, "I haven't been paid yet". The rest of season two is just as funny. Even the one or two contemporary references that I couldn't follow still made me laugh with the delivery.

The third series builds on this solid foundation and soars into new realms of comedy inspiration. M&W were always a comedy duo, never a double act, as neither ever acted as the "straight man". Each had their own idiocies and balanced the other perfectly. Ernie, pompous, self congratulatory, but with a childlike glee at times, and Eric, irrepressible, down to earth and taking the mickey out of everyone and everything, but never, ever cruel; often acting as a one man comic greek chorus commenting on the action around him. There is no "fourth wall", they involve the viewer completely and as other reviewers have said, even during their bickering, the affection they had for each other is infectious.

At the risk of sounding an old fogey, the guest stars were proper stars, with a prescence about them that we rarely see today. International stars of stage and screen, serious musicians, you name it, they wanted to be part of the fun. The ultimate must surely be Andre Previn, whose performance is absolutely perfect, it's a real shame that, apart from a couple of cameo appearances later, it was a one off. The guests, appearing as "turns" by themselves and in relation to M&W mean that sheer nostalgia value would earn this collection 5 stars. A particularly surprising moment away from the comedy is when regular guests, folk group "The Pattersons" burst into a song that was incidental music in the ITC serial "Strange Report".

Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morcambe and Wise - Complete BBC Collection., 19 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
So far we are only half way through 20 dvds. This box set is worth the money.

The set covers all the years these 2 were at the BBC. About 20 myears I think. My partner and I have been rolling on the floor laughing at them. Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Fantastic product, lovely packaging well thought out and beautifully designed and the duo are hillarious.

The first two series are not completely subtitled and your get about one line out of every four. However, after the first two the subtitling is excellent. I would say that the typography and bordering of the subtitles make it harder to read than it should be, its white text with a black border and then a white border outside of that which give the apearence of it being blurry. They are readable though, just not as easy as modern subtitling that you get on most DVDs nowdays.

If it was not for the subtitling colours and font I would say it gets a full five stars without question. However, as i realise not everyone needs subtitles I have still given it five stars as it makes for great watching and some serious laughs for all the family, unlike modern stand up, they are clean, well spoken and well dressed professionals having a laugh at each others expense and of course at the expense of their guest and although I wasnt born until many years after this was aired, I find them timelessly funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, 11 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
At a time when comedy didnt need four letter words , classic stuff from Eric & Ernie , had a blast watching this , highly recommend this for a purchase .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Watched with great affection., 4 Feb 2011
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Anyone who is a Morecambe and Wise fan will not need me to tell them how good they were. Their affection for each other spilled over the, "Footlights", and became infectious. I remember as a kid, the family event of watching their shows and delighting in seeing my Grandad crying with laughter, which also became infectious. Therefore when I watch these DVDs I watch with great affection for the two of them. Nostalgic, yes but also still very funny.

I am impressed with the quality of the picture, which seems to have benefited from some digital remastering, or perhaps it's the upscaling of my Blu-Ray player. Whatever it is, it holds up well on the 42" screen and you soon forget the 4:3 aspect ratio. There's very little black and white footage, just some surviving clips from their first series. In fact, my only note of disappointment to date (currently up to Series 4) is that the early footage didn't include the B&W show when they had the Beatles on as guests and Eric kept referring to Ringo as, "Bongo". I know this must survive because I've seen it repeated on the TV recently. Of course it might be on an early B&W Christmas Show, which are grouped together at the end. I haven't watched any of these yet so hopefully my disappointment will be premature.

Needless to say, it's only a small flaw (if one at all) in an otherwise brilliant presentation. Well worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars superb entertainment, 22 Aug 2011
By 
Chris (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I bought this thinking I had seen most of it, but I was wrong, there's far more material here than I had seen. You can see a small part of the first series, which is interesting, but by the second series there's most of the charateristics, guest stars, stage work, scenes at home, the refernces to a wig, and height, the slap round the face.

The main changes from the earlier series is that the musical numbers are allowed to progress, and if you are only a familiar with the later work you still expect Morecambe and Wise to come on and mess about.

My criticisms of the DVDs are no extras, and that the scenes aren't the same as the sketches, so if you are less keen on the 'serious' music, as I am, skipping often skips across sketches as well, also if you are looking for a particular sketch you don't get any indication where it might be!

For less than 50 you get a gem in this box set, enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phenomenal Comedic Talent, Box Set Worth Every Penny, 11 April 2014
By 
timelord007 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Dvd Info.
20 disc set, Region 2.
Running time 2865 minutes approx.
9 Series & 5 Christmas Specials.

Timelord Review.
This dvd box set features every BBC episode from 1968-78 & delivers some of the greatest sketches & funniest comedy moments in the history of British comedy.

This duo defined the word comedy & there talent for comic timing is phenomenal as with the late Eric Morecambe you get that improvised feel to his comedy yet every scene was meticulously rehearsed & the late Ernie Wisealways played the pompous playwright & the butt of many of Eric's putdowns.

The guest star's Morecambe & Wise worked with over the year's is quite exceptional & they way they always sent up their guest star's without ever belittling them showcases how great this comedic duo were from Singing Diva Shirley Bassey, Actress Glenda Jackson, Singer Elton John, Composer Andre Previn it seems nobody was safe from the clutches of this duo & of course the main protagonist was Des O'Connor who's singing was always being joked about by Eric.

This duo for me are on par with Laurel & Hardy for comedy geniuses & this 20 disc dvd boxset delivers so much laugh out loud humour that you can watch over & over again & still you'll always find yourself laughing.

No swearing or sexual vulgarity here to get laughs just two great entertainers at the top of there game who gave us some of the finest funniest moment's in British comedy.

A essential purchase for fan's of classic comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars misinformation, 31 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
fantastic box set, but product info states it contains 5 xmas special (back of the box and amazon product info). in fact it includes all 8 xmas specials (the same as the separately released 3 disc set. which amazon pair up as a buy together????)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete Morcambe + Wise BBCdvd collection, 12 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
Well, it certainly brought me sunshine! Great quality DVD as you would expect from 'Aunty Beeb', I bought this with a gift certificate to bring back happy memories from days gone by. Wonderful - it must have been all them words wot Ern wrote! If you like their comedy, it's a great collection to dip into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Morecambe & Wise-Complete BBC Collection (DVD) 1968, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968] (DVD)
I have always enjoyed many of the comedians from my younger days and to me this pair where great in nearly every show they did. The way they would have a well known guest or guests on their show and so often completely make full fun of them in one way or another. There was of course the way that Eric would do something to his mate for one reason or another, which was often seen by the audience as just complete good fun. I have watched these DVD's and being honest still had to laugh at many acts they did, which I do remember finding them funny on first seeing these certain acts.The complete series was well worth buying and will be treasured in my collection of DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa60c0c18)

This product

Morecambe & Wise - Complete BBC Collection [DVD] [1968]
27.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews