Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars422
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£17.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 August 2014
This series was immensly popular in the 1970 and is classic British farce. Unfortunately it was branded racist partly due to the fact that Michael Bates, a white actor, played the part of an indian using brown make-up. It should be noted that Bates was born and brought up in India and spoke fluent Urdu and was able to affect Indian manerisms with accuracy. Although there are many running jokes that might offend today's sensibilities, these need to be seen in the context of the culture at that time and my view is that, unlike contemporary comedies such as "Love thy neighbour", the core of this humour is human nature and not race. Every member of the cast gets made fun of in their turn. It is very much in the genre of "Dad's Army" and "Hi-de-hi" - two other Perry and Croft series.
Personally I love this series and find the humour warm and simple and representive of a less sophisicated time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2012
What a great box set. Better than I remembered it and great value for money entertainment. You can see the characters grow through the years and series. It would be difficult for this to be shown on TV as the PC police would have a field day !!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Got this set as a 'funny' little stocking filler gift for my hubby, but he loved it, we had forgotton how good it was, its years old and it still makes us laugh, even our 24yr old kids laughed! Good clean 'cheeky' fun not much language and a little inuendo but no 'rude' bits like you see/get these days. The characters played in it are such a bunch of missfits it works brilliantly, great fun.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
Great - how to have a laugh in a PC mad world - watch TV drama / comedy before they got to it. Really good acting and actually very funny. Love it - great one to add to our ever expanding DVD collection for when there is 'nothing on the telly' which seems to be a lot of the time now unless you like 'reality' shows - go on buy this, chill out, have a laugh remember how it used to be !!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2013
I have been promising to buy this unforgettable collection for months and finally bought it, thanks to a gift voucher for my birthday last December, I hav'nt stop watching it yet, it's just so hilarious, and clever. This is a treat for anyone who is interested in knowing what humour is all about, at being able to make fun and extract enjoyment out of a time which was, for most a terrifying time, It shows the people who lived through it always seem to find something to smile about. I knew several ex-servicemen who fought in this theatre, the forgotten army, and there stories never cease to astound me, they experienced terrible things and still found things to laugh at and bring these memories home, and by the way I know they loved this series when it was first shown on television. Just wonderful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2012
I missed it on TV and saw it was going in a bargain box.If there is anyone in the same circumstances, it is worth getting,if you saw it on TV you will know if you want to see it again
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2013
What a superb show with great writing and acting from the cast. it is a gem, funny, characterful and quirky.
I am heartily sorry that it wont be repeated on TV- it is set during WW2 and the attitudes reflected those times I am certain. What might not be so amusing set in the present day, produced series after series of charm and laughter in context of the times. Michael Bates was born in India, and the entire cast meld perfectly together. It is a gem of a production, and I was sorry to read up on those who have passed away. I met Chris a few times, so it is funny to see him as a younger actor. And what a smashing tribute to him, and all the cast. Put a bit of seasoning into your viewing- it aint half good!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Nice to catch up with an old series that can still make you laugh, saw this as a child and it still makes me chuckle now,Michael Bates,Windsor Davies and the rest you were classics.It's a shame it is not repeated on one of the numerous channels we have today on TV but apparently it is not politically correct now which I find so sad especially in this world,there is a lot worse out there.My son who is 12 finds it so funny we both sat down last week and watched 2 episodes, can't wait to find a day so we can watch the rest.

Arrived on time and well packaged,thank you for bringing a boring day into some laughter,There is an old Hindu Proverb which say,classic.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2014
Bought this as a Father's Day gift for my Dad as I remembered it was one of his favourite BBC comedies back in the 1970's. The day it arrived he sat down to watch the first episode and ended up watching six episodes in a row. He has since watched nearly the entire box set in a fairly short period of time. He says it is every bit as funny as it was in the 70's, if not more so.

It is not shown on mainstream TV anymore as it is not deemed to be "politically-correct". As with most political correctness, this view is a load of rubbish. It is classic comedy writing of the period and it has stood the test of time. Highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2011
This collection is absolutley great
What a pity the BBC are so wrapped up in the silliness of polictical correctness that they will not re-run this top comedy show
It is good clean fun no bad language no shock tactics just family comedy at it's best
By not repeating it the BBC are depriving so many people of one of comedy greats
But this collection is well worth the money
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)