Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above
There are many books about the dangers of F1 and this particular tragedy, but none that I've read have come close to this. Not only is it an eloquent analysis of the accident, the trials and the subsequent changes made in Formula One, but it is also a poignant reminder of what Senna meant to the F1 world and to the people of his native Brazil. Williams covers every angle...
Published on 11 Sep 2002 by Caroline Jones

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don’t believe the hype
After reading all of these good reviews I was expecting to be blown away, but after reading the book I ended up with a “is that it feeling” by the end. I think the reason for all the good reviews is that this book was originally published way back in 1995, barely a year after Senna had died and at the time the material in here was ground breaking. Now almost...
Published 10 months ago by Sandro


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cut above, 11 Sep 2002
There are many books about the dangers of F1 and this particular tragedy, but none that I've read have come close to this. Not only is it an eloquent analysis of the accident, the trials and the subsequent changes made in Formula One, but it is also a poignant reminder of what Senna meant to the F1 world and to the people of his native Brazil. Williams covers every angle - he does not try to deify Senna, yet he still manages to write a fitting testimony to one of the greatest drivers in F1 history.
For the F1 fan, an excellent read, one which I highly recommend, but for the Senna fan, an absolutely essential book - you will never read anything that paints a truer picture of your hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - You'll read it in 1 sitting, 23 Aug 1999
By A Customer
Having started my obsession in F1 in '95, I had only known of Senna from his reputation and acomplishments. I wanted to know more about the man who's name is still used as the benchmark for modern F1 champions. I finished this book in 1 day, I couldn't stop reading it.
This book is a traditional biography but at the same time goes into lap by lap motorsport journalism for the most significant grand prix encounters.
There are some very funny episodes in the book, mostly concerning Senna's rivalry with Prost but the overall tone is that of sadness, of a man who fully realises his own kismet but is helpless in avoiding the inevitable. The account of his funeral is very moving.
The book explores his personal motivations and beliefs, his upbringing and purpose. The last third of the book concentrates on the 9 minutes leading upto his death, the ensuing trial and repercussions.
I would recomend this book to anyone, racing fan or not, it a beautifuly written testiment to a gifted genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Racing in his blood, 14 July 2011
Although this is by no means the most extensive tome written about Ayrton, it is certainly one of the best. Richard Williams has an easy, highly readable style. So much so in fact, that I finished reading this book, in two days.

The book covers the intense rivalry with Alain Prost, the importance of Ayrtons family to him, and his career, his faith, and the fallout from his death. The book is far superior to anything Christopher Hilton ever wrote, and has consistently good reviews, from motor racing journalists.

A must!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don’t believe the hype, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After reading all of these good reviews I was expecting to be blown away, but after reading the book I ended up with a “is that it feeling” by the end. I think the reason for all the good reviews is that this book was originally published way back in 1995, barely a year after Senna had died and at the time the material in here was ground breaking. Now almost twenty years on there is absolutely nothing in this book that is not common knowledge among Grand Prix fans. It’s actually the first half of the book that is its strongest asset; the second half reveals nothing that you can’t read on Wikipedia. I was also disappointed with the quality of this book, as it has a rather flimsy and cheap feel to it

There are over 100 Ayrton Senna books out there but the number that focus on those final three days in Imola can be counted on one hand, it is a niche within a niche. Unfortunately despite the title this book fails to shed any new light on Senna’s final 72 hours, “the life of Senna” actually provides a more detailed (at times a little bit too detailed) look at Senna’s final weekend. I have also been hearing great things about a controversial new title called “memoirs of Imola” which apparently takes it to a whole new level.

Nonetheless this book is very well written, in fact its almost like “Motorsport poetry” if you will, but for the reasons mentioned above it also leaves a lot to be desired, and there are other Senna books that do the same thing much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing insight into the man, 1 Jan 2005
Richard Williams has structured this book very well. He dips back and forth in time, building up a well rounded picture of this complicated man and his incredible talent.
there are accounts of his most famous races, his incredible feats on the track, and his passionate personality. I came away from this book feeling I understood Senna that little bit more.
An excellent, excellent book that also reveals a great deal about the workings of motorsport. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book with heart and soul, 25 May 2004
This book doesn't dwell on a race by race description of Senna's glittering career - instead we get an insight into the mind of the man, his motivations, his hopes and dreams. Williams writes with economy of prose yet evokes strong feelings and emotions - the overriding theme is one of nostalgia, of mourning that which is lost. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For those who love Ayrton and motor racing, 16 May 2001
By A Customer
The first half is for Ayrton's dramatic motor racing life and the second half for description of his fatal accident. Both are full of fascinating anecdotes and thrilling facts without emotional excess. The name of "Senna" always stimulates our imagination altough for the first time I feel realizing what kind of humans he is(was) like after reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor choice of title, 9 Jun 2011
I bought this book in the vain hope it would shed some light on the actual crash with perhaps telemetry readings and subsequent investigation.

Instead, we get a dull recap of his career, with very few insights and cursory coverage of the Williams trial.

The problem is that the book is so brief (around 200+ pages)it only skims across the subject matter and Senna was a figure who defied such simplicity. If you want to understand him better, this book doesn't have the depth to do the man justice.

The Christopher Hilton book "The Hard Edge of Genius" (which has now been collected into a new book, Senna - The Whole Story)is far superior in every respect.

Don't waste your money when you can buy that book for around the same price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Emotional film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars F1 fan? Read this., 19 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. J. H. Wheeler "Easy Street" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Death of Ayrton Senna (Kindle Edition)
A remarkable man's story told clearly and factually...well done. Takes in much of his career and clearly enumerates his attitudes and goals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Death of Ayrton Senna
The Death of Ayrton Senna by Richard Williams
£2.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews