Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (57)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (14)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solar lights
I am very impressed with these lights, they do their job really well and are very stylish looking. I left them to charge for 3 days as per the instructions, and since then they have stayed illuminated after I've given up and gone to bed - and I'm a night owl. They are very sturdily constructed and I can imagine them lasting for a good many years, giving them proper...
Published on 17 April 2011 by awol

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quality product with shortcomings
I bought these lights to replace an inexpensive set. I was impressed by the quality and the good looks of the lights. They came fully charged and provided an impressive glow late into the night on the first use. On subsequent nights they were going dim by 6.30 and completely out by 7.30. The cause it appears is the limited amount of light available on dull winter days and...
Published on 16 Dec 2011 by Cuddly Pierre


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent solar lights, 17 April 2011
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
I am very impressed with these lights, they do their job really well and are very stylish looking. I left them to charge for 3 days as per the instructions, and since then they have stayed illuminated after I've given up and gone to bed - and I'm a night owl. They are very sturdily constructed and I can imagine them lasting for a good many years, giving them proper 'green' credentials - unlike many other solar lights. The spike is long and metal and so should cope with tough ground. The light from them is nice and bright, making them ideal to light a pathway - I have mine outside my summerhouse. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality, 15 April 2011
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
These lights are great as they can be seen over tall plants, and give crisp white light even in an area that only has partial sunlight. I left switched off for 3 days as per the instructions and was very pleased by the amount of light once darkness fell, they still glow on dull days. The metal spike makes them ideal for harder soil and will prevent them from being snapped off by my dogs which has happened in the past to lights on a plastic spike. They were noticed by my son who commented how bright they were.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Attractive, bright light, 19 July 2012
By 
John Lee (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
These lights look great. They light up for a good while, even on gloomy days, and they are very stylish. I live in North Yorkshire and have had them for a nearly a year now: I have had no problems whatsoever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solar lights, 16 April 2011
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
Fantastic product - smart & modern, well made and actually do light a reasonable area. Will look good in any type of garden situation - Have had other solar lights - these do leave the others in the shade!! would I buy more - definately.
Well - an update end jan 2013. I got these in April 2011 and we're now almost through 2 winters. They've been lit over the winter months, although not for very long after dusk, which is not a problem for me. Have just had a good look at them. They are not cracked or showing signs of any degrading in their quality or appearance, despite sub zero temperatures, snow etc. But they are showing signs of being much more durable than others I've got and spent more on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solar Lights, 27 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
Bought two sets to highlight edge of lawn. They all work as I'd hoped, Nice warm light. At this time of year (mid May) they light from around 9.15pm until 4.00 am, even when it has been overcast. Every light is in shade for at least part of the day although all get some sun. They look fine, are sturdy and work as described. Would recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A quality product with shortcomings, 16 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought these lights to replace an inexpensive set. I was impressed by the quality and the good looks of the lights. They came fully charged and provided an impressive glow late into the night on the first use. On subsequent nights they were going dim by 6.30 and completely out by 7.30. The cause it appears is the limited amount of light available on dull winter days and combined with a high drain on the batteries of two leds in each lamp they only remained lit for 2 - 3 hours. I was disappointed with this shortcoming and returned the lights. The previous lower quality lights remained on far longer but of course were less bright
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If they are 'London', they are certainly not 'Kensington'., 21 Oct 2011
By 
C. Lacey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
Don't get me wrong, they look good from a distance, but these lights are cheaper quality than I expected from the image and description. For £15 each though, they definitely do the trick. London Made in China.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Better than average for solar but not top, 26 Sep 2011
By 
C Richards "Graaf" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
Well good and bad.

Bad:
- 1 of 2 did not work (sigh!)
- On-Off switch label useless, sometimes 2 per switch (at different angles) and sometimes at 90' to the switch itself (and batteries won't charge on the 'off' position), and the pair do not match layouts!
- The Lid (holding all valuable batteries, circuits, LED & solar panel) is loose on top of light, easily dislodged and lost
- Rather light gauge steel construction
- Rather flimsy plastic spike (also loose)
- The reflector is an unpolished steel cone: mirror would have been brighter
- Cost!
- The main circuits and 'gubbins' is in lid, and if laid on the ground or falls from the holder, rests on a tranistor and the LEDs which are mounted on frail soldered wires: I can't see those lasting long!

Good:
- Bright
- Size is good
- Better than the usual solar garden lamp
- On-off switch easily acessible and a nice touch

Back it has to go Alas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very POOR design and fails miserably, 4 Oct 2014
By 
EMS (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
Extremely poor quality. Bought 3 pairs and had to ask for replacement for a pair within a short period, because soldering was falling apart. Received very good service and a replacement pair. Sadly, the replacement pair also had soldering problems. Money was refunded promptly, because replacement for replacement is not Amazon's policy. Now, I am left with two pairs and one of them stopped functioning although there is still a lot of day light. Turned around the solar panel and found soldering had given up yet again. Very disappointed with the product as the design is very, very poor. A few wires are pressed by the rechargeable batteries and there was a cut which broke the circuit, which means even if there was nor soldering problem the light would not work. It is one of the more expensive solar post lights in the market and it is definitely not worth buying just for the aesthetic of it. NOT RECOMMENDED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2) (Garden & Outdoors)
These lights give a nice soft light. Don't expect these to actually illuminate your garden they wont but they do create attractive 'mood' lighting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Solar Centre London Solar Post Lights (set Of 2)
£26.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews