Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deepest Purple gets a little deeper...
Deepest Purple was first released in 1980 as a TV advertised compliation from EMI. It was Purple's third number 1 album in the UK after Fireball and Machine Head (it was knocked off the top spot by that poor seller Back In Black by AC/DC!)The NWOBHM was in full swing and various Purple off-shoot bands were at the forefront of the rock scene of the day - Rainbow, Gillan...
Published on 27 Oct 2010 by Stratpack

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars COPY OF COPY
This dvd is very bad copy,i dont recomend to buy it.
Published 3 months ago by c.m.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Deepest Purple gets a little deeper..., 27 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Deepest Purple was first released in 1980 as a TV advertised compliation from EMI. It was Purple's third number 1 album in the UK after Fireball and Machine Head (it was knocked off the top spot by that poor seller Back In Black by AC/DC!)The NWOBHM was in full swing and various Purple off-shoot bands were at the forefront of the rock scene of the day - Rainbow, Gillan and Whitesnake. The cynic in me could easily say it was a total cash-in of previously released material and followed a long line of compilations since Purple had split in '76. I won't say any of that though! Time has been kinder to this compilation more than 24 Carat Purple, the original Singles A's and B's album etc and has been used as the introduction for many a novice to the band. The reason for this is that it purely and simply gave you Purple's most famous tracks - no live versions, no obscure b-sides or lesser known album tracks, all on one CD (or originally a single LP).

Which begs the question did it really need re-released for a 30th anniversary especially after the plethora of compilations that have been released since 1980 and its own CD release later on? For this release the album has 4 extra tracks and a DVD of various video clips interpolated (Made In Europe anyone?) with Jon Lord talking about each track. The videos range from the original single/TV promos, live tracks from already released DVD's and some cracking footage from Made In Japan's Space Truckin'! (low quality, but this mythical footage bowled me over!) The Jon Lord interviews are pretty good, although fairly brief. Shame they couldn't have got some of the rest of the band involved (we all knew Ritchie's answer already).

The 4 extra tracks:

1)Hush - i agree this should be in as its one of Purple's most well known tracks especially to non-hard rock fans.

2)When A Blind Man Cries - its a great track, but it was a b-side. This should be one for further listening when fans want to delve a bit deeper into Purple. A great Ritchie solo. PS they use the '97 remix here not the original '72 mix.

3)Soldier Of Fortune - see above. An album track from Stormbringer but for further listening too, not for a compilation to try and pull new fans in. They should have used Into The Fire or Mistreated perhaps?

4)You Keep On Moving - this should be in too as it represents the only MK4 album with Tommy Bolin. Great track. Single edit though.

All in all the music is 5 stars but I've knocked a point off for the cost. At £11.99 its a bit pricey when the original CD was going for 3.93 recently! Who is it aimed at I ask? Long term fans will have these tracks multiple times already (MIJ video aside) and newbies will baulk at the price and go for something cheaper.

Once it comes down to a fiver I recommend it highly as an introduction to a great band. After this listen to In Rock, Fireball, Machine Head, Burn.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic collection just got better, 13 Dec 2011
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
I have waited a while for this to drop in price,first bought the vinyl in 1980 and it was one of my first cd's(a particularly poor transfer).

This however is the business,the original track listing was excellent and the 'bonus' tracks are ALL worthy inclusion,only really Mark III's 'Mistreated' a genuine oversight.

Whats not to like when a discs includes... 'Smoke on the Water','Woman From Tokyo','Black Night','Child in Time','Burn','Stormbringer' & 'Soldier of Fortune'? not to mention 'Highway Star','Hush' and 'When A Blind Man Cries'.

Throw in a dvd with various clips and Jon Lord commentary and you've got a winner all the way.

The best compact 70's Purple compilation money can buy (Hush' aside).

a superb release and bargain to boot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb !!!!, 1 Mar 2013
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Any rock music lover should have this in their collection !! the second cd gives you an insight into how the tracks came together , its been in the car since i bought it , makes my journeys much more enjoyable !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars essential in any rock fan's collection, 4 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
This is the real deal! I mistakenly bought THAT other Purple compilation, the one with the butchered and edited tracks, which rapidly got disposed of at the nearest charity shop. I should have bought this in the first place. No hard rock fan's collection is complete without it. Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rebooted & expanded, 27 Oct 2010
By 
S. C. D. Ford - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Nice additional tracks with MK1's Hush being a no brainer.
A shame the savage edit of 'You Keep On Moving' was chosen as opposed to the full album version.
No 'Mistreated' which was DC's calling card for many years.
I would have added 'Gettin' Tighter' to give Glenn Hughes' pipes
some decent representation in the Purple story.
Can't quibble at 'Soldier of Fortune',totally essential.
Mr Lord gets sniffy at Mr Coverdale lyrical prowess on the bonus dvd
which itself is a handy round up of mostly prime-time Purple promos at a bargin price.
Some new to me like 'Child In Time' with supposed Eastern(?)European people
cut in over the Doin' Their Thing visual but with the studio cut as the audio.
'Burn' is the Cal Jam footage(VHS version I believe)which is noteable highlight
because the Hits & History DVD Set didn't
feature this essential footage.
Original studio single edit of 'You Keep On Moving' audio dubbed over the Rises Over Japan footage.
Great value for money.Simon F
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
brings back memories of groing up some brilliant tracks plus dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fine best of with the Lord's prayers, 27 Nov 2010
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
Excellent selection, embellished with the « Deluxe » treatment. The DVD is great, and especially the Jon Lord's comments : funny; intelligent and humble. A must for the die hard fans, event when they are french like me !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good selection of classic purple hits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As Best Of's go....., 26 Oct 2010
By 
Denis (Dublin, Co. Dublin Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
This is a brilliant intro to a great Classic Rock Band for anyone who hasn't heard them before. People (like myself) who bought this decades ago will probably broadly agree with the choice of 4 tracks that have been added although I think "Soldier" and "Blind Man" are a little bit too similar. Personally I would have swapped "Blind Man" for "Into the Fire" from InRock ....but that's only my opinion!

Otherwise, this is as definitive as "Best Of"s can get. Purple have had their share of rubbish Best-Of's over the years, but this one has never been bettered in my opinion. Personally, I wore out the cassette when I bought it from a bargain bin back in '89 having not heard Purple before. Anyone new to Purple will be spoiled to say the least with what's in store here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the only Deep Purple compilation you need, 31 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. Jonathan Robin Oxley "Jon Oxley" (Northampton, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Deepest Purple: The Very Best Of Deep Purple [30th Anniversary Edition] (Audio CD)
When originally released, this compilation chose 12 essential tracks from the Mk2 and Mk3 eras. Let's face it, whatever those dedicated Purple fans say, the only essential stuff is from 1970 to 1975. I was always a Mk2 (Gillan/Glover) fan and after revisiting this album, it is the Mk2 stuff which is by far and away the most impressive. Ok, so Mk 3's Burn album was good and the tracks Burn and Stormbringer are more than worthy on this compilation, but for me Coverdale was no Gillan (I actually preferred Glenn Hughes' voice). Worthy additions are Hush (Mk1), When A Blind Man Cries (Mk2) and You Keep On Moving (MK4's best track). One minor gripe, not sure about Soldier Of Fortune when you have Never Before, Might Just Take Your Life or Coming Home missing. The DVD is interesting stuff, with a great mixture of live performance, studio miming and video shoots. With John Lord interviews (who has always been the most instructive when talking about Purple's history), it's interesting to hear how he now regrets the breakup of the Mk2 lineup (he is quite sniffy about Coverdale's lyrics). In summary, it's the place to start if you haven't discovered Deep Purple by now because it only compiles the essential Deep Purple era.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews