Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
16
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 October 2013
If you like your Wagner with 'attitude', as I have to confess I do, there is much to like here. From the majesty of the 'Meistersingers Prelude' to my favourite version EVER of 'Siegfried's Funeral March' from 'Gotterdammerung', the whole thing is a joy throughout. The Vienna Philharmonic sound wonderful, and the uncredited recordings, by Producer John Culshaw and Engineers Jimmy Brown and Gordon Parry, remain of demonstration quality. If you like 'high octane' Wagner, this is the set for you, AND it's at a bargain price!
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
New to Wagner and want to see if you like it? Then this is the perfect choice for you. Pick out the ones you like and then get closer by buying the full versions of the ones you like. A good economical choice that will prevent you from wasting money on a full version that you dont like much.
Sorry to offend the Wagner officionado's that think a 5 minute section of a full work is sacrelige, but I think this is just what you need for a long car journey, will keep you alert, amused, and motivated!
Buy, Buy, Buy!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Superb musicianship all round and really atmospheric interpretations ranging from the tenderness of Siegfried Idyll to the power of the Dutchman and the drama of the Tanhauser.The Vienna Philharmonic are outstanding as always,but it is a huge bonus to hear the 19year old Roland Berger's sizzling power cutting through the sound of the rest of the horn section.This must be a star buy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2005
I'm not sure whether or not you should buy this compilation CD just to hear highlights of Wagners operas or to hear the mighty sound generated from the VPO?.
One way or the other, it's a very satisfying experience!.
I always thought Solti was a good Wagner interpreter, if a little hard-drievn at times. But as showpieces for orchestra this is superb.
Worth having in your collection as it's so good value for money...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 2 September 2008
Wagner: Orchestral Works

Solti's thumping, thrashing performances of these masterpieces of the romantic opera will electrify some, but infuriate others as they scurry for the headache pills. Given the competition, there's really no reason to buy this anthology...save one.

One might describe this performance of Siegfried Idyll as, members of the Vienna Philharmonic (with Georg Solti present). Still, on a rare day, he could be musically relaxed and charming and this is onbe of those rare treasurable occasions. I've never heard better. Pure chamber music reminding us of the piece's origins as a gift from husband to wife. Look to Karajan for a big symphonic version, or to Celibidache for an extended dreamscape amongst other Wagner overtures whose performance are the antithesis of Solti. Solti's superb, classic rendition is (or was) also coupled to a comparably affable Schubert Ninth at one time, so if that pairing suits you...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2010
I have just purchased the recording of favourite Wagner orchestral pieces performed by the Vienna Philharmonic conducted by Georg Solti.Not the most recent recording - but WHAT A PERFORMANCE! MAGIC! Wonderful value.Thank you Amazon.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2006
The two disc set offers a good cross section of Wagner's most famous orchestral music at a bargain price, and that is it's redeeming feature (together with the disc's cover!). Unfortunately, on some occasions (and at only casual listening), I detected uncertain intonation (a.o. in the famous Tannhäuser trombone fanfare and the strings in Siegfried Idyll) and sloppy attack (the lead trumpet in the Götterdämmerung funeral march). Perhaps at careful scrutiny there will be more to comment on. Strange that Solty put up with it!
Pro is that Solty chose not to use the 1860 Paris version of Tannhäuser, with it's soft ending but rather the original version with it's rousing finale (competing with Liszt's Les Preludes), contra that I do not always like his tempos e.g. in the relatively slow (and slightly dull) opening of the Meistersinger (but that is a matter of taste) and the strangely un-emotional reading of the Götterdämmerung funeral march. If well interpreted it offers some of the most hair-raising moments in music ever conceived, but here it lacks every shred of tension.
All in all I must say that I like Karajan and the Berliner Philharmoniker's or the Szell and Cleveland's interpretations better, but as an eye-opnener for the uninitiated it is a collection well worth its money (and that cover looks good in your car too......)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2012
Fine playing and superb sound for the period but unfortunately many of these excerpts are lifted from Solti's complete sets and so have fades at the end or abrupt endings. They are not concert performances.
The Prelude from Tristan is included but not the Liebestod. Lohengrin has the prelude to Act 1 but not Act 3. 121 minutes for a two CD set is ok value for the price but I would willingly have paid a bit more for two full discs including the omitted peices. There was a two CD set available including the aforementioned excerpts but this appears to be no longer available.
In short, recommendable as an inexpensive introduction to Solti's take on Wagner but it could have been a lot better if Decca had issued the concert performances and included more music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
Great CD with great music.......play it all the time....cant live without Wagner's wonderful music playing away somewhere or the other close by!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Did not even have Flight of the Valkyries on it so I was really disappointed
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)