Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touchy story
A priest is locked within a prison for a crime he claims he did not committed!
There his faith will be putted to the test as not only he has to face the harsh environment but he finds himself in love with his handsome guardian!
Very good but the film is lucking all the cliches that i personally like! However it is enjoyable!
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by Minerboh

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So Disappointing
Having regard for Daniel Brocklebank as an actor, I felt for him being given this script. He did his level best but many of the scenes were so unrealistic for an English prison it was difficult to believe in it.
If the film had been set in a prison in a poor country or in the 18th century perhaps it might have rung true. Where in England would you find a prison so...
Published on 16 Jan 2011 by Mr. P. J. Hales


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a load of rubbish, 8 Nov 2010
By 
M. A. Hadlow "33mark" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
This film is nothing as described under the synposis. There are perhaps about 3 small scenes that may depict something about that synopsis.

This film is mediocre. The story line is pathetic. It is all about jumping from clouds, dreams & with loads of cheap effects thrown in.

I sincerely hope that no public funds were spent on this awful film. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY ON THIS FILM. I WISH HADN'T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Touchy story, 1 Jan 2011
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
A priest is locked within a prison for a crime he claims he did not committed!
There his faith will be putted to the test as not only he has to face the harsh environment but he finds himself in love with his handsome guardian!
Very good but the film is lucking all the cliches that i personally like! However it is enjoyable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good movie, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
was expecting more but its a good movie to watch when u dont have nothing to do..Was expecting something more exciting from this movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A chilling saga 4*, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
It is questionable that those reviewers on here that have been so uneducated and malicious in their reviews of this film have chosen to ignore the cinematic merits of a brave and challenging story.

As a straight married woman I watched this film after reading a review by Stephen Brown in the Church Times and was struck by the honest and emotional content of a fine little British film. The accompanying "making of" provides a sincere insight into not just the film maker's intentions but also the cast's approach to the very involved and topical subjects being explored.

That this film was made for less than 25,000 is a staggering achievement. I found myself in agreement with much of the review in the Church Times and quote below what I agree with wholeheartedly.

"The jail is scruffy; its neon lights are unrelentingly severe. Bar the occasional brief dreamlike flashback, we the viewers never leave its con fines; for we are captives also. After many other fine prison movies, it is a challenge to carve out a special niche in this genre. This succeeds, if only just. Yes, we get the gang brutalities against the weak while prison officers look away, the shortcomings of the judicial system, and the institutional ised hopelessness of it all. The narrative wears its concern to the point of compassion fatigue.

The inmates are clad in spotless white T-shirts, as if we were in the company of angels. This signals a wariness of outward appearances. Wickedness comes in all kinds of packaging. Max (Bernie Hodges) is the flesh-crawling instigator of much of the evil, constantly quoting scrip ture to justify his animosity towards Jack. The chaplain adopts a similar strategy to persuade him to repent of his homosexuality. This is where the film comes into its own. Flag-flying it might be at times, but here is a film angry at the imprison ment of all our souls."

A tough and viscerally interesting film in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Daniel, 1 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
I've always liked Daniel Brocklebank, and believe that he was robbed of a successful career in acting. Instead he's stuck doing low-budget films like this one, with a tremendous story to tell, but also a story far too ambitious for its extremely limited budget. If you're willing to overlook details with setting and scenery, you might still enjoy this film. I really did.
It does have a story worth telling, a story that is told in pieces throughout the film, culminating in a final flashback where you can put the pieces together. It requires intelligent thought in the same way a big Hollywood movie can, which makes it kind of brilliant despite its short-comings. I'd recommend you give it a chance. But make sure you have tissues to cry into.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not worth my time!, 31 Dec 2011
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
The worst film ive ever seen, its really not worth the ti me and money, it's unrealistic!!! Dont bother with it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking + powerful, 9 Nov 2010
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
Wow, just a year after the same writer / director team Christian Martin & Darren Flaxstone gave us the uncompromising gay Chav epic 'Shank', they're at it again with 'Release', an equally compelling yet distinctly different production.

I found 'Release'to be one of those films you think and talk about for days after, a rare thing indeed in modern gay cinema. With it's central storyline of imprisoned gay priest father Jack, (an excellent soon to be in 'Eastenders' Daniel Brocklebank) and his clandestine relationship with idealistic prison guard Martin, (Garry Summers), Flaxstone & Martin take the viewer on a sometimes hellish journey of love, faith, hope and redemption via an intriguing, (though sometimes confusing), time jumping narrative employing fantasy dream sequences juxtaposing with startling scenes of prison brutality to gradually reveal Jack's dark past, loss of faith and future with Martin after his 'Release'.

To make matters worse for the poor old Jack there's also the prison king pin, 'Max' to deal with, an eeirie Bernie Hodges, who's portrayl of the bleach obsessed inmate will be enough to put most people of blue latex gloves for life! I'd love to see this guy try his hand at a Bond villain!!

I gather from the informative making of feature this film was produced for a fairly low budget, which makes the end result all the more impressive- a hard hitting, atmospheric gay themed drama which actually has something to say about modern society and challenges the viewer. Phew, now that's something you don't often find in British cinema these days, let alone in a film made for the weeks catering budget of 'Hollyoaks'!

I can't wait to see what these guys do next, perhaps a romantic comedy, now that would be like Richard Curtis on acid!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars send a copy to the pope, 20 Dec 2010
This review is from: Release [DVD] (DVD)
Today I have reviewed Shank [DVD] [2008] which after viewing it I then purchased the film makers follow up RELEASE out of curiosity. As an undergraduate of film I can personally assert that I recognise the many filmic influences in this film and that gave me a great thrill.

After SHANK I was expecting more of the same but these guys have gone in a different direction and chosen to approach this story with devices and techniques that belie the low budget (that frustrates me as a film maker as if is often used as a criticism rather than something that is irrelevant especially when the film's narrative keeps you interested and involved - as is the case here).

Release doesn't shy away from dealing with subjects that are either taboo or set red top alarm bells ringing. (I am appalled that on here someone has had the temerity to criticise this film for an unattractive cast! - this film does not deal with attractive issues - they are real and heartfelt issues that concern many.)

I wouldn't say Mickey Rourke is the best looking bloke, however I loved The wrestler, what a vane world we live in

I personally didn't cry at this one, but my girl friend did.

This is a film for people that admire the craft of film and appreciate the warmth and escapism it can bring. In studying film we are shown comparative pieces and taught to be analytical. This film reacts against the popcorn feast of heavily laden special fx movies and A list cast blockbusters and competes admirably within it's field with some of the greats it apes and borrows from. Kudos.

Personally I give this a 4 * but I've rated 5 because I believe it should have a higher rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Release [DVD]
Release [DVD] by Christian Martin (DVD - 2010)
5.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews