Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I don't deal in conspiracy theory, I deal in conspiracy fact."
Directed by Chris Smith, who directed the hilarious documentary American Movie, a film so funny I half expected it to be a hoax, turns his attention a radical 180 degrees and instead gives us 82 minutes in the company of a former Los Angeles Police Department detective turned investigative journalist, in Collapse.

Collapse is a penetrating character study of...
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by Mr. Tristan Martin

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peak everything. Or gospel according to Michael Ruppert.
This is a fairly short documentary, a film of one actor (actually, a police officer turner independent investigator) and, once you get used to Michael Ruppert's emotions (tears, shouting and jumping from one subject to the other and scattered narrative), you start to be grabbed by "Collapse". Self-proclaimed expert, whose views, as he acknowledges himself, is gathered...
Published 2 months ago by Lola


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "I don't deal in conspiracy theory, I deal in conspiracy fact.", 21 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. Tristan Martin (Hertfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
Directed by Chris Smith, who directed the hilarious documentary American Movie, a film so funny I half expected it to be a hoax, turns his attention a radical 180 degrees and instead gives us 82 minutes in the company of a former Los Angeles Police Department detective turned investigative journalist, in Collapse.

Collapse is a penetrating character study of Michael Ruppert, an enigmatic man who advocates fiercely that industrialised civilisation is at a tipping point because global energy supplies - essentially oil - have peaked. Western society is in such a precarious position, Ruppert argues because money has no power without energy and (easily available) energy has crossed the Rubicon into an inexorable downward slope. As a consequence, the world faces financial turmoil and civic unrest.

Not entirely without criticism (Ruppert occasionally comes across as a little unstable and erratic, prone to hyperbole), this documentary gives the viewer a chance to get familiar with uncomfortable topics that get scant column inches in the mainstream mass media.

This "intellectual horror movie" (according to Variety) is sure to leave an impression on all who watch it, whether you agree with Ruppert's analysis or not. Collapse is a valuable piece of filmmaking and deserves as wide an audience as possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Greate video great service, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
The video 'Collapse' is an extradinary piece of work, and everyone should watch it. The work Michael did on peak oil, exposing CIA involvement in drugs and the fundamental corruption of US politics be self interested money men shows how broken the western idea of democracy is. His opinions on how the western economy will fail and collapse into localised areas of sustainable production bears less scrutiny. He never really explains his view of how the end game will play out. But this is minor criticism of a profoundly moral guy who has the courage to challenge a corrupt system. Whenever anyone ever does this they are always portrayed as traitorous communists just look at what is happening with Julian Assange
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars short sharp and should be watched, 29 Jun 2011
By 
history fan (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
I agree with most of what the other reviewers have to say. I must say I was expecting some kind of drivilling crackpot to be expounding some apocalyptic story of armageddon but was happily dissuaded of this view by what I saw on the dvd 'collapse'. The mainstream media appears to move like a herd and there appears to be less and less investigative journalism about asking different questions or sometimes the questions that people deliberately avoid so my curiousity was alerted when I came across this documentary. At 82 minutes its about the right amount of time to give to the topic of peak oil and 'the end of civilization as we know it' in a documentary. There are some extras which are worth a look. A short follow up report made a year after the film was released and 15 minutes or so of deleted scenes which are not as cringe inducing as some can be. The speaker who becomes somewhat the subject of the documentary at times, is fairly well practiced in organising arguments, public speaking and talking to issues of consequence through work as a freelance journalist, campaigner and public speaker so its not amateurish. The film is largely a interview in what looks like somebody's poorly lit windowless basement but there are regular cut aways to stock footage to such things as oil workers or rioting people on city streets to illustrate in a thousand words in a few seconds what is being talked about in the overall sweep of argument and discussion. The interview is fairly convivial, the interviewer pokes about a bit like I said making the interviewee the subject in pretty much the way alot of journalists do. And there is no irony that this is basically one journalist interviewing another journalist however far out their views might be, this is pretty regular kind of info nourishment provided on evening news everywhere, though it lasts a lot longer. The interview is broken up into sections each with a subheading printed on screen so if one answer proves boring or irrelevant to the viewer or gets exhausted; pretty soon a new topic or aspect of the subject is moved on to. I thought this a worthwhile watch and was happy enough to watch it through over a beer. As to my own views, I think sustainability is common sense and a good look at policies for 50 or 100 years down the road are only fair to future generations. As to whether current events portend a 'collapse' that remains to be seen though but as I write the Greek parliament are voting on austerity measures while many Greeks riot in the streets outside, in a decision that has far wider ramifications than just for the sun-kissed Hellenic state and population.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars COLLAPSE, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
An interesting look at how living and thinking outside the box can slowly weigh you down if you dont have some form of outside support, to revitalise and nourish. Here you see a man slowly dwindle before your eyes as his faith in human nature is tested and found wanting, leaving him broken and rudderless. This is a process we will all have to go through if his predictions of social and economic collapse come to pass. A great film that captures the mood of the time and gives hope and ideas of how to get to the other side. See what you think...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Peak everything. Or gospel according to Michael Ruppert., 29 April 2014
By 
Lola (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fairly short documentary, a film of one actor (actually, a police officer turner independent investigator) and, once you get used to Michael Ruppert's emotions (tears, shouting and jumping from one subject to the other and scattered narrative), you start to be grabbed by "Collapse". Self-proclaimed expert, whose views, as he acknowledges himself, is gathered from the information widely available (but not necessarily widely highlighted) in mass media.

I found the narrative exhausting, it felt like I was watching on-line tutorial recommended by Uni (although my professors did not chain-smoke and swear). BUT if you are interested in economics, finance, ecology, environment, politics, overpopulation of the planet and future without oil (if indeed it is possible) - an inevitable collapse of the human industrial civilization. Food for thought, indeed.

(Would have given it 4 stars, but just for the enthusiasm and urge to alert the world about all of the above. I just wish the film was produced differently.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The quest for the 100th monkey, 7 Jan 2013
"Collapse" is a somewhat curious documentary, essentially being an extended interview with one man, Michael Ruppert.

Ruppert is often accused of being a conspiracy theorist, but since I haven't read his books or followed his now defunct newsletter, I can't really judge that issue. "Collapse" mentions conspiracy theory mostly in passing, and instead concentrates on the peak oil issue and its ramifications. I admit that I liked the film. It reminds me of John Michael Greer, James Howard Kunstler and similar authors. There is a certain tension in the film between Ruppert talking about peak oil, and the interviewer wanting him to talk more about himself (he seems to have had a pretty colourful career!).

Those familiar with the issues will recognize most of the material covered. In fact, it's pretty basic: peak oil, the almost complete dependence of our modern civilization (including agriculture) on oil or gas, the impossibility of replacing the fossil fuels with alternative forms of energy, etc. "Collapse" points out that all forms of alternative energy are ultimately dependent on the oil economy - for instance, you need oil to replace standard cars with electric cars.

Ruppert predicts financial panic as the next crisis turns out to be unsolvable because of the super-debt and the decrease in oil production. Some nations might explode or even collapse, such as Saudi Arabia or Dubai. Mass starvation and depopulation will be another consequence of the crisis. American society will be in for a rough ride, as well.

Ruppert don't believe survivalism in the hills is an option, unless you are already very well prepared for it - which most people are not. Instead, the solution is to create strong, resilient, local communities, presumably in some kind of urban or semi-urban settings. Humans must come to terms with the fact that natural laws cannot be overturned or bended anyway we like them to, and that no god will intervene to save us from our own folly. Yet, Ruppert isn't anti-spiritual. In fact, he calls for an individual spiritual transformation: "I'm not the Messiah, I'm not trying to save anyone, except myself".

The most curious part of "Collapse" features Ruppert's musings about Cuba and North Korea, two Communist nations which suffered their own version of peak oil after Russia stopped its oil deliveries. Ruppert claims that Cuba promoted "capitalist" local initiative and freed organic agriculture from state regulations, thereby mitigating the crisis. By contrast, North Korea simply continued with its super-centralized planned economy, and ended up with a massive famine as a result. Despite not being a leftist, Ruppert actually sounds pro-Cuban!

Although Ruppert isn't as apocalyptic as the more extreme doomers (in this, he resembles Greer), he is nevertheless very upset and emotional about the human predicament, and almost starts crying at several points in the interview. I get the feeling that he doesn't really think the human race is going to make it... The gloomy feeling is compounded by the interview being made in a dark room with a prison-like wall, Ruppert being dressed in a monochrome outfit, making it seem that he's been incarcerated!

As I already indicated, "Collapse" is an introduction to the peak oil issue (or issues), not an in-depth analysis with all the possible arguments pro and con laid out before the viewer. If you are new to these issues, you need to complement it. "The Long Descent" by John Michael Greer, "The Long Emergency" by James Howard Kunstler and "Energy Myths and Realities" by Vaclav Smil are three good places to start. Perhaps Ruppert's own books are good too, but unfortunately I haven't read them.

The interview also contains one major howler: a new version of the 100th monkey myth or urban legend. This time, the story is placed on some US-controlled island in the South Pacific (usually it's Japan). But sure, I liked Ruppert's comment about "searching for the 100th monkey".

Will that 100th monkey be able to save the Third Chimpanzee? That, I suppose, is the $ 10,000 question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not a conspiracy film, it is plain facts that we all need to hear!, 15 Jan 2012
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
This is the definitive overview of the great converging challenges we face as a species and as beings of mother earth who is being destroyed by us.

I copied and pasted this from my YouTube channel (search for `ammachi3' for more videos on these issues):

Q: So what are the challenges we face?

A: We face three massive converging challenges: 1) the Peak in Global Oil Production (along with peaks in many other resources), which results in, 2) a Irreversible Contraction of the Global Economy - or the End of Economic Growth (we do not have the supplies to meet our massively growing wants) - and 3) Catastrophic Climate Change.

Q: Okay, but how have these come about?

A: Our modern, technologically industrialised society has increasingly decimated the very life supporting systems on which its very existence depends. This is happening because of the unscrupulous and unrestrained burning of fossil fuels, and consumption of other resources. Fossil fuels are the base of our society as it supplies the energy for all we do and create. However, these are in decline, with the world having already passed its peak in production, and our demand for them is rapidly rising. With a quickly widening gap between our supplies of resources and our greatly increasing demand for them, we are now seeing a flat-lining in growth for many nations of the globalised economy. This will eventually result in an irreversible economic contraction, as we cannot pump further oil from the ground and thus fuel our current economic infinite growth model on our finite planet. This will happen even if we manage to find an impossible miracle cure for our toxic levels of debt, which will otherwise greatly facilitate the inevitable contraction and disintegration of globalisation.

Q: What about Climate change?

A: Yes, most serious of all is our unrestrained burning of fossil fuels, which has led to extremely high levels of CO2 and other harmful amounts of greenhouse gases being released into our atmosphere - levels which have not been seen for hundreds of thousands of years. This has resulted in the unfoldment of catastrophic climate change which could, if we do not curtail our emissions, threaten the very existence of all life on Earth.

So this is our situation, but I would recommend spending just a few pounds and listening to what and how Micheal C. Ruppert has to say about these matters. This is a film for people who want to wake up and take action - before its too late!

Peter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable., 12 Jan 2012
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
This documentary is about as no-frills as you can get. It is, essentially, a man talking for 80 minutes with a few clips playing on the screen to support his arguments, and little in the way of flash production or experimental editing (though they're not entirely absent). With that in mind, this becomes a piece of cinema that holds your attention almost exclusively via Michael Ruppert's charisma - a man who, much like Alex Jones, Peter Joseph or David Icke, is utterly hypnotising in his passion and self-clarity but, crucially, also has the knowledge, experience and logic to back up the majority of his assertions. At the same time, the viewer is transfixed by just how much Ruppert's obsession with warning the masses has ruined his own life, a fact which Ruppert is fully and tragically aware of but is now so entrenched in his frustrations that he is unable to ever redeem himself.

The film is not perfect - considering Ruppert was interviewed for 14 hours it seems a shame that he only received just over an hour and a quarter, although I've heard of far less generous selections. I also feel that the final card sounds too critical of Ruppert after what is a relatively objective piece until that point, although in fairness it felt more like a play to the emotions of the audience than an attack on Ruppert himself. However, these are minor points. The bottom line is that, with an open mind, you will be totally shaken by what you see and hear. It's a fantastic film and required viewing by anyone who has even the slightest interest in resource depletion and the future of the world economy - which should, I'd hope, be absolutely everyone on the planet.

Highest recommendation possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an astonishing document, 24 Oct 2011
By 
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
This man speaks about what's actually happening in the world so anyone dismissing him as a conspiracist crank need only review the news being broadcast in the mainstream media about what's happening in the world regarding its various economic and social upheavals. Passionate, informative and prescient. I had never heard of Michael Ruppert before watching this film but I find it difficult to imagine ignoring what he and others like him have to say in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Collapse" - Peak Oil and other things too. Insider's view point., 21 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Collapse [DVD] (DVD)
Michael Ruppert was born to parents who both worked closely with the US Government and as their son at an early age, had a "Q" clearance to comply with secrecy laws. Graduated with a Bachelors Degree and enrolled in the LAPD. Left the Police to become an investigative journalist and came into contact with very suspicious deaths and circumstances.

Very interesting interview with an interesting man who has something to say about a variety of subjects from Government corruption, his predictions of the economic crisis (which proved correct), Government intimidation, LAPD and CIA involvement in Narcotics importation (seems to ring true as there were rumours that the Black Panther Party was wrecked by flooding certain neighbourhoods with drugs to create in fighting within the Black Panthers).

Michael Ruppert has spent the better part of his life trying to warn people of what has already happened, and what is likely to happen. There is a sense that he has struggled to share this information with the rest of us for many, many years and a sense of frustration at having been labelled a "merchant of doom" or "conspiracy theorist" which he counters with - 'I'm only interested in conspiracy fact'.

Instead of just a warning about the economic collapse, this is a discussion of the evolution of the human race and the affects of technology on the size of the population. It is a stark reality check on the irrellevance of Party Politics and how every political party is assuming that Oil and Finance will fuel perpetual growth - infinitum.

A warning that our standard of living is about to change - possibly for the better (depending on your perspective); and the need to adapt to this future world. The collision coming is with Peak Oil and the Monetary system of fiat currencies. We should not blame Obama - he says; for being unable to do anything as he is a prisoner of Corporate America, the federal Reserve and other international banking and corporate interests. We should not look to Politicians for answers. Seems pretty obvious now, but thirty years ago it wasn't; to the average person - including me.

Excellent film portrait of one of the good guys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Collapse [DVD]
Collapse [DVD] by Chris Smith (DVD - 2010)
14.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews