Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars8
3.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
2
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2011
So it's not objective and it's sensationalist. Well we get unobjective, sensationalist views everyday from our local branch of corporate news. This, at least, is a different view. Lots of people have no idea whatsoever of what's going on in South America. Even if you don't agree with the ideology's being portrayed, there aren't many other movies about any of this, let alone with Stone's craftsmanship.
Funny and entertaining, the Stone's and Moore's of the world are just as necessary as the Pilger's and Chomsky's. If you consider the fact that Pilger and Chomsky have been trying to open our eyes for decades and very few people seem to be paying attention; effective, popular story tellers may be more necessary than objective, academic ones.

Worth it just to hear Kirchner relating his incredulity when hearing Bush say openly that he believed war to be the best method for solving a country's economic problems! After getting over the shock, I realized it did explain an awful lot of his decisions as president.
Lord help us.
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2011
REALLY ENJOYABLE AND INFORMATIVE. OK, MAYBE A LITTLE ONE-SIDED, BUT WHATS NOT TO LIKE ABOUT THESE GLIMPSES OF CHAVEZ/ MORALES ET. AL.COMPARE THIS TO THE SANITIZED POLITICS WE HAVE HERE IN ENGLAND, ALL "SUITS" AND PUBLIC SCHOOL BOYS.
WELL DONE OLIVER STONE; KEEP ON ROCKIN FOR A FREE WORLD!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
This is a marvelous Oliver Stone documentary uncovering the new socialist democracies of South America and the way they have been portrayed as little better than Nazi Germany in the American media and by many US politicians. Stone interviews 5 of the leaders and this makes the film hugely enjoyable and very enlightening while it provides an excellent counter balance to the type of nonsense you get not just on Fox News, but on NBS and other major networks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
Yet again Amazon think it acceptable to list an item without any vital subtitling information. One in 7 in the UK have a hearing problem. Sort this out Amazon! In the meantime can any customers enlighten me? (Sorry to post this here, but if you've tried getting subtitling information out of Amazon's customer services department you'll know how hit and miss it can be.)
22 comments|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Fine production by a great documentary and film maker.
Thank you seller!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
This movie is not very informative for someone already well informed about Latin American politics. If you have seen John Pilger's War on Democracy, then it's not worth adding South of the Border to your collection. I thought it was particularly made by and for North Americans whose media is often extremely biased when it comes to Chavismo. However, if you're completely new to Latin American Politics, then it might be worth getting.
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2014
How can you be so One sided?
Stone has obviously never suffered under those regimes. Mr. Stone, try to earn a living in Caracas for a while, go shopping, send your kids to school, loose your dignity, then we talk. Then make a movie about South America.
Down with Stone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2010
Oh dear I had expected a somewhat more balaced view on Latin politics. Only authoritarian socialism/communism can be good and all opposed must be unethical and uninformed imperialists. The political preference of Oliver is gushing out at a murder rate. Not informative, not enjoyable. Very Michael Moore-ish. I won't even make anyone else suffer by donating it to a charity shop.
33 comments|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)