Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant folk-pop duo
Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel were better together than apart, because they had such different talents. Paul was a brilliant songwriter - certainly one of the best of his generation - and a good singer without being anything special. Art was not a songwriter, but he had a superb voice that brought out the best in Paul's songs.
So, here we have 40 of their finest...
Published on 24 Feb 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Great item, fast delivery.
Published 12 days ago by Le-ann


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant folk-pop duo, 24 Feb 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Paul Simon and Art Garfunkel were better together than apart, because they had such different talents. Paul was a brilliant songwriter - certainly one of the best of his generation - and a good singer without being anything special. Art was not a songwriter, but he had a superb voice that brought out the best in Paul's songs.
So, here we have 40 of their finest recordings, digitally re-mastered to sound better than ever, with most of the songs written by Paul and Art doing most of the singing.
Of course, all the obvious tracks are included - Bridge over troubled water, Mrs Robinson, Homeward bound, Sound of silence, The boxer, Cecilia, Feeling groovy, I am a rock, America and El condor pasa (If I could) - but this collection contains a further 30 tracks which are all of a very high quality.
Among them you'll find Hazy shade of winter (a song revived brilliantly by the Bangles in the eighties), the upbeat but rueful Keep the customer satisfied, Baby driver - another upbeat song, a cover version of Bye bye love, not forgetting the superb Scarborough fair/Canticle.
After the split, Paul and Art each had some success as solo singers, but despite some great individual moments, they never achieved the level of consistency separately that they achieved together - and this is one of the best collections you'll ever find.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent or rather Essential, 29 Nov 2003
This is an fantastic set of recordings. If you already have one of the severall compilations already, as I do, you may still find this a compelling purchase. Asside from the obvious large number of songs, there are live songs in at all the appropriate moments, and as a collection they are ordered well.
If you dont recognise some of the songs, then this is a definate must, even for the casual fan. I find the collection emotional and relaxing to listen to, with Paul Simon's vocals and the guitars of G having a casual (not overproduced) sound to them, which makes the album infinately more listenable to then the majority of other 'digitally remastered' best ofs that seem to be coming out. These are the best songs by a great band, in their origional form. This is an Essential purchase, even if you already have the Definative collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From a gramophone record to MP3, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most tracks are from original format with digital enhancement. Some great tracks but one or two so-so but in general still enjoyable considering how long ago the original was released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Summary, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Simon & Garfunkel (Audio CD)
I used to have a Simon & Garfunkels "Bridge Over Troubled Water" LP years ago. I bought this to play in my car. Excellent if you like Simon & Garfunkel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another flash back for me, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Growing up in the sixties Simon and Garfunkel were a haunting part of it, still love their exquisite lilting harmonies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Present for my Mother-in-law, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a present for my mother-in-law and she loved it, has played it daily. Good value for money. Will use this service again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thank you, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
love the MP3 of this album.
so many good songs that make you feel happy.
Would also purchase for family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is what it says on the tin!, 16 Dec 2010
By 
This is definitly the essential simon and garfunkel,which i actually bought for the wife ,though i think i've played it more than her.Well worth the money this as the amount of songs is 40 contained on both discs.The cd goes through most of the repitoire of simon and garfunkel with not a bad song on it,if you have a favourite its probably on here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Top notch in quality and delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Essentially, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Replacing old LP's and this was a great way to get all the best tracks on one CD. Is what it claims to be i.e. The Essential Collection,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Simon & Garfunkel
The Essential Simon & Garfunkel by Simon & Garfunkel (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews