Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I need you to guide me to safety
I don't know who chooses the soundtracks for movies, or how they select appropriate music. Not every film can have a Zach Braff.

But whoever did it for the megablockbuster "Spiderman 3," they have some GREAT taste in music. Rather than scrabbling for some MTV hits, the soundtrack is graced with some genuinely wonderful music -- blazing blurry hard-rockers, lush...
Published on 17 May 2007 by E. A Solinas

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the score by Christopher Young!
At time of posting, Amazon state that the artist of this soundtrack is Christopher Young, who is the composer of the score for the movie.
However, the track listings stated by Amazon are for the compiled song soundtrack release.
I was stupid and didn't even check the track listings and just presumed it was in fact the score composed by Christopher Young.
I...
Published on 23 Aug. 2010 by N. May


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the score by Christopher Young!, 23 Aug. 2010
By 
N. May (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 (Audio CD)
At time of posting, Amazon state that the artist of this soundtrack is Christopher Young, who is the composer of the score for the movie.
However, the track listings stated by Amazon are for the compiled song soundtrack release.
I was stupid and didn't even check the track listings and just presumed it was in fact the score composed by Christopher Young.
I suppose it's half mine and half Amazons fault why I ended up with (in my opinion) this rather useless CD.
Personally I'm not interested in soundtracks with 'music from and inspired by'. Basically these sort of albums are just another way for corporates to squeeze a little more money out of the movie, and to regurgitate old music. But if you like the songs, fair enough, it's only £1.99 after all, hence why it's not even worth the hassle of sending this back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Right movie Wrong music, 8 Dec. 2013
By 
Ian Mildred (Bracknell, England.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 (Audio CD)
I was excited to see this, listed as the score by Christopher Young, whose music I like, but also' he uses Danny Elfman's music as well as his own compositions. I received it nice and quickly and then I discovered it may as well have been a "Now That's What I Call Music" album, not one track is from the score, most disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I need you to guide me to safety, 17 May 2007
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 (Audio CD)
I don't know who chooses the soundtracks for movies, or how they select appropriate music. Not every film can have a Zach Braff.

But whoever did it for the megablockbuster "Spiderman 3," they have some GREAT taste in music. Rather than scrabbling for some MTV hits, the soundtrack is graced with some genuinely wonderful music -- blazing blurry hard-rockers, lush Britpop, and mellow balladry. It's more a clever rock mixtape than a soundtrack.

It kicks off with Snow Patrol's "Signal Fire," a blend of blazing guitar and lushly swirling instrumentation. The Scotrockers really shine in this one, straddling the line between Britpop and energetic rock'n'roll. "In the confusion and the aftermath/You are my signal fire/The only resolution and the only joy/Is the faint spark of forgiveness in your eyes..."

It's followed up by some hard-rocking stuff -- the Killers have a high-octane "Move Away," the Yeah Yeah Yeahs provide the sizzling "Sealings," and the glorious Wolfmother takes the hard-rock thing even further with the deliciously sludgy "Pleased to Meet You," which is a great introduction to the band.

Then with a epic grimy rocker by the Walkmen (complete with yowling), we segue into some softer material -- Black Mountain provides a beautifully sweeping folksy-rock ballad, Jet's bluesy rocker, Simon Dawes wails that he is "Scared of Myself," Rogue Wave strolls through shimmering indiepop, and Sounds Under Radio turns on the swirling, cycling electric guitars in a soaring ballad.

And with a title like "The Supreme Being Teaches Spider-Man How To Be In Love," it's pretty obvious that the Flaming Lips are involved. Their song is really lovely, with a "Soft Bulletin" softness and beauty.

The soundtrack for the first two "Spiderman" movie had one or two good songs per album (Aerosmith!) by an accomplished band, but most of the songs were by a wretched wad of trendy pop-rockers like Maroon 5, Yellowcard and the Ataris. So I can be forgiven for expecting the worst in the third movie's soundtrack.

Fortunately, I was wrong. The third movie's soundtrack is just crammed with great bands, many of whom are still unknown to the mainstream (Black Mountain, anyone?). There are one or two bumpy patches -- Coconut Records's smug-sounding ballad mellows me into a stupor -- but most of the songs have the feeling of a mix CD you burn for an indie friend, to introduce them to some great music.

And many of the songs fit together well -- many of these songs have cycling, blurry guitars and a slightly grimy sound, and though few of them sound alike, they complement one another. And some of them fit the themes of the music well -- "Signal Fire" and "Scared of Myself" seem like perfect reflections of Peter Parker's feelings in the movie.

The soundtrack for "Spiderman 3" is not only a wonderful soundtrack, but a solid collection of brilliant alternative rock'n'roll. After the awful "Spiderman 2" soundtrack, this is a blessing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 18 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 (Audio CD)
Was hoping for the sand mans theme tune, however it wasn't on it, still the other tracks were good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have listened to it all!, 8 May 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 (Audio CD)
Unlike the other reviewer here i have heard the whole album!! and i can say as a whole it works - some of the songs are not to my liking but if you are a fan of the film and films of this genre and style then i can recomend it.

I played it at work, my colleagues liked it and when they asked what it was they were shocked when i told them.

All in all - Not to bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Could be as good as the previous 2 soundtracks, 31 Mar. 2007
This review is from: Spider-Man 3 (Audio CD)
Now it's pretty hard for me to rate this soundtrack since I've only listened to 1 of these songs "Signal Fire" by Snow Patrol. I can tell, it was good. Unlike previous film credit songs, "Signal Fire" is by far the most calmest (kinda sad emotional too) song, it just fits with tragic ending of the 3rd installment. I gave it 4 stars due to past experience of the last 2 soundtracks (both equally good), so I think this 1 should be no different (sure, the musical score is by Christopher Young than Danny Elfman, but it shouldn't affect the soundtrack that much)

Here's the list of the songs:

Snow Patrol - "Signal Fire"

The Killers - "Move Away"

Yeah Yeah Yeahs - "Sealings"

Wolfmother - "Pleased To Meet You"

The Walkmen - "Red River"

Black Mountain - "Stay Free"

The Flaming Lips - "The Supreme Being Teaches Spider-Man

How To Be In Love"

Simon Dawes - "Scared Of Myself"

Chubby Checker - "The Twist"

Rogue Wave - "Sight Lines"

Jason Schwartzman (featuring Kirsten Dunst) - "Summer Day"

Jet - "Falling Star"

Sounds Under Radio - "Portrait of A Summer Thief"

Wyos (Wasted Youth Orchestra) - "A Letter To St. Jude"

The Oohlas - "Small Parts"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spider-Man 3: Music From And Inspired By (Int'l Version)
Spider-Man 3: Music From And Inspired By (Int'l Version) by Spider-Man 3: Music From And Inspired By
Buy MP3 Album£8.19
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews