Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More bearded fatman rockin', 28 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Robot Hive / Exodus (Audio CD)
This one doesn't hit you as immediately as Blast Tyrant. The songwriting isn't as tight because they didn't spend as long on it. Some of those BT songs were around for years with different names, so by the time they were released they were perfect.
This one's a lot more laid-back and sounds more like regular stoner rock, the way Slow Hole To China did. There's some awesome songs though, like 10001110101 and Gullah, and the new keyboardist puts churchy organs into the slow songs and Meters-style solos into the instrumentals.
They really should have kept Machine at the production controls. Blast Tyrant was punchy and gave Neil's voice the richness it deserves. Here the instrumental passages slip into the background and his voice sounds a bit thin. As ever, Neil's lyrics make you sit up and think "did he really say that?".
It took a while for BT to grow on me, so maybe i'll warm up to this one later on. But for now it's another solid Clutch album, but not in the league of BT or Elephant Riders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robot Hive/Exodus, 8 Jun 2005
This review is from: Robot Hive / Exodus (Audio CD)
I have to say, right off the bat that this is Clutch's best album to date. There's always a split with Clutch fans as to whether Elephant Riders or the self titled is their best (I preferred Pure Rock Fury before this came out) and I think it's a testament to how brilliant they are for their best album to be released 15 years into their existence.

For those who haven't heard Clutch, I cannot really articulate their sound in mere words. They're bluesy (a Howlin' Wolf cover appears here), they're funky and groovy and they can be pretty heavy when they want to be.

The music is top notch stuff; you can tell these boys do it for a living. Jean Paul Gaster is one of the best drummers I've seen live, he pulled out a 10 minute drum solo the first time I sawe them. The rhythm section is tight and grooving. Tim Sult, the guitarist is obviously a Hendrix devotee without going over the top.

Now it's Neil Fallon, the vocalist that really takes Clutch to a new level. He's the make or break point to wether you like Clutch or not. His voice is an acquired taste. It's very gruff and powerful yet not harsh as you'd expect. Described as 'the voice of ten men'!. His lyrics are extremely clever and witty too and you'll be singing them for days to come.

To those who have heard Clutch; then you will not be disappointed. It gathers together all the elements that make them an awesome band and is a culmination of their past efforts. It has the solidity and catchiness of Blast Tyrant, but has the technicality and querkiness of Elephant Riders. The songwriting and consistency is up there with the self titled. Robot Hive/Exodus is chock full or catchy choruses, grooving rhythms, & bluesy riffs & is one of the most infectious albums I've heard.

You'll just have to hear it to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential album of the year, 30 Aug 2005
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
I buy several hundred albums every year and most, not surprisingly, are nothing more than bearable ways of passing the time. I have also been a fan of Clutch for several years now but felt their previous albums were often too exclusive. I therefore came as a surprise that when I put this on I was totally blown away.

This is the album Queens of the Stone Age should have produced. It grooves in a way not heard since "Feel Good Hit of the Summer" and Clutch seem to have finally lived up to the titles of their previous albums: The Jam Room and The Elephant Riders. Imagine the MC5 if Howlin' Wolf were the lead singer and was attempting to imitate Johnny Cash while covering Black Sabbath. This is how good this album is. I don't give maximum marks easily and hesitate to do so here but it is the only new album of the last two years I can imagine raving about to people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clutch - Robot Hive/Exodus, 15 Aug 2011
By 
Gentlegiantprog "Kingcrimsonprog" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: ROBOT HIVE/EXODUS (Audio CD)
Clutch's seventh studio album Robot Hive/Exodus was released in 2005 and had the impossible task of following up the band's astounding 2004 album Blast Tyrant. Despite the pressure, Robot Hive' nails it from the attitude filled open to its dreamy close.

Neil Fallon impresses as usual with his utterly unique and spectacular vocals and lyrics, which help make Clutch one of the most fun and interesting bands out there. Complex political theory and obscure historical references sit beside bizarre surrealist imagery and odd juxtapositions; all delivered in amazing croons, growls and soulful shouts.

The band; now augmented with keyboards, are on top form musically delivering their usual standard of impressive virtuosic moments mixed with the subtle and restrained styles that define them. Big riffs, noodley jams and extremely tight rock beats all sit seamlessly together from an astounding collective of brilliant musicians.

The album is one of strong highlights, such as the bluesy slow number `Gravel Road,' which erupts into a gigantic riff after its slide guitar intro, or the heavy and intense `Burning Beard,' which has a furious impact with its dramatically urgent verses. In addition to `10001110101,' which makes amazing use of the band's talents.

The album is solid all the way through however, and tracks like `Never Be Moved,' and `Subtle Hustle,' that don't have a definitive handle to instantly identify them by, like `the slow one,' or `the heavy one,' are still a brilliant set of top quality enjoyable rock music, that get better on every listen.

In summary; the album is just so masterfully crafted and the arrangements, performances and production are all marvelous making Robot Hive/Exodus an utter joy to listen to. If you like Clutch, get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Clutch., 13 April 2007
By 
Mr. Ts Dudhill (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
Every song is masterfully arranged, subtly blending solidly imposing rock riffage with technical and inventive flair and Fallon's ambiguously entertaining lyrics. The album is considerably more blues-tinged than previous releases, after hints embedded in Blast Tyrant with the addition of an organ player to a single track, who is now a fully functional member of the band; a move which adds such variety and depth of colour to the band's already overwhelmingly confident modern heavy rock sound. The move away from more hardcore climes certainly elevates clutch as a band in terms of musicality, and essentially this album is a collection of songs the band *wants* to write and record; that they work incredibly well individually and collectively on this record is a clear indicator to me of a band at the peak of their game. I only hope that their new offering 'Beale Street to Oblivion' focuses the band's efforts on creating the ultimate modern rock cocktail.

No duff or dull songs on this album to mention, I have been solidly listening now since I bought it 6 months or so ago; the groove brings you back for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant album, 21 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
If you like bluesy, gutsy rock then you will like this in some ways reminds me of Audioslave. The first track, Mr Flannery, sounds as if it accompany an episode of Breaking Bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK!, 10 Jun 2010
By 
Mr. J. B. Quinton "Jimbo" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
Got the album through in no time at all with no problems! I'd also like to thank my mate Rob for introducing me to Clutch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Robot Overlords of Tokyo RISE AGAIN!, 10 Feb 2006
By 
Robot Overlord (floating somewhere...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
Another jump-round-your-house-with-headphones-on record from American Psycho Band "Clutch," who market themselves as "stoner," but who do themselves as diservice by associating with a movement apparently incable of producing likable music. Of the stoner scene, only Clutch, the sadly dispersed Kyuss and Fu Manchu have successfully made vibrant and dynamic sounds - Robot Hive is polished, practiced and tight, with lots of different textures but which coheres well. It is a little overlong, and much tighter than looser and jammier earlier efforts, or the worrying hardcore of their first records, but it's great, especially now there's an element of real blues creeping in from the edges. Best noise album of the year, I predict.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Solid gold, again., 28 Aug 2005
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
There is a parallel world to this one. In it, the people don't follow herd-like the siren calls of manipulative marketing people who peddle the wares of lowest common denominator, shallow, one trick, artists. In that world people are individuals and listen to music with an open mind and form their own opinion. Likewise, the artists follow their own muse and craft their art accordingly. Those with the most individuality, creativity, daring and spirit are the ones who naturally receive the most exposure, plaudits and therefore become the "Biggest Names." Their music is unique to themselves albeit influenced by the music that they enjoy. There are no labels to put on anyone, pigeon holes to put people into or talentless millionaires clogging up the media. In that world, Exodus/Robot Hive fills the air and Clutch is King.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Clutch Album: Another Masterpiece, 19 Feb 2007
By 
Truthsayer (The Origin of Storms, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Robot Hive/Exodus (Audio CD)
It's pretty simple really. There's only one great heavy rock band out there right now. And these guys are it. Thank god they're so damn prolific. Still, a year is a mighty long time to wait for the next one when all you've got in the meantime is...er...nothing else by anyone else.

P J Harvey. Genius. Interpol. Genius. But when you want to rock you've got to rock. And when you've got to rock it's got to be Clutch...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

ROBOT HIVE/EXODUS
ROBOT HIVE/EXODUS by Clutch (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews