Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Say Die
Another explosive novel from Tess Gerritsen. Oozing with suspense it makes the reader desperate to read further. Another Tess Gerritsen marvel. I would highly recommend this crime novel to anyone who enjoys the excitement of the chase.
Published on 26 May 2011 by P. J. Pearson

versus
28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never Say Die
Usually I love Tess Gerritsen, I have most of her books which I have rated 5 stars. However, this one seems almost as if it is written by a different person, the plot is ok but some of the script she uses is so overused it's like listening to a manufactured pop song. Maybe this one was written a while ago and the publishes decided to cash in on her recent success, I...
Published on 20 July 2006 by Mrs. M. Last


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Never Say Die, 20 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Never Say Die (MIRA) (Paperback)
Usually I love Tess Gerritsen, I have most of her books which I have rated 5 stars. However, this one seems almost as if it is written by a different person, the plot is ok but some of the script she uses is so overused it's like listening to a manufactured pop song. Maybe this one was written a while ago and the publishes decided to cash in on her recent success, I don't know but I'm hoping her next book is better than this. It's not terrible, don't let me put you off, but it's certainly not her best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as her current writing, 31 May 2007
This review is from: Never Say Die (MIRA) (Paperback)
An early work by Tess Gerritsen, well before she got into her stride. It's not a bad story, set primarily in Vietnam, about a woman looking for the body - alive or dead - of her Air America pilot father, missing for twenty years. It's competently written, but the book doesn't have the raw appeal of her later work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Never Say Die, 5 Aug 2009
This review is from: Never Say Die (Paperback)
I was so disappointed with this book. Tess Gerritsen means to me, a book that once started will have you gripped to the bitter end. Not on this occasion. I have tried to read this book on about 4 separate occasions and have yet to finish it. There is nothing in the story line to keep me gripped and is nothing more than hard work to concentrate on.

So glad that this was the last book of hers that I had to read. I this was the first, it would have stopped me from trying the others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 5 Sep 2007
By 
J.Flood (Dublin,Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Never Say Die (MIRA) (Paperback)
Bill Maitland's plane appeared to have been shot down over Laos, during the Vietnam war, and he was never seen again. The plane was carrying a special cargo. Over twenty years, his daughter, Willy, has gone to South East Asia, to try and locate her father. The local authorities are unhelpful, and worse, someone is trying to frighten her off.

The pace of the novel is quite good. Although, the dialogue between the two main characters, Willy and Guy, can be a bit cliched and annoying, at times, but,I felt, there was enough action, throughout the novel, to keep me interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I can't decide, 26 Mar 2007
By 
molko (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Never Say Die (Paperback)
I liked teh story, I found the setting interesting and so on, but I just hated the characters! Willy, the main character, was bearable but Guy! He was maybe one of the most annoying characters i've evr encountered while reading! He spoke like he was stuck in 1930's London as did Willy.

If you think you can put up with the constant 'Oh gollys' then buy the book, but if like me you're likely to become annoyed with it then steer clear of this 1 and go for another of Gerritsens books like 'The surgeon'. It's a shame to becuase the story actually isnt that bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Never Say Die, 26 May 2011
By 
P. J. Pearson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Say Die (Paperback)
Another explosive novel from Tess Gerritsen. Oozing with suspense it makes the reader desperate to read further. Another Tess Gerritsen marvel. I would highly recommend this crime novel to anyone who enjoys the excitement of the chase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, 29 Sep 2010
By 
G. Haffenden "gemalou" (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Say Die (Paperback)
I was expecting it to be different to Gerritsens newer work because of the previous reviews - and it was - it wasn't as polished as her most recent books but it still had me on the edge of my seat all the way through!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where's the paint to watch dry?, 11 Jun 2007
By 
SJSmith (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Never Say Die (MIRA) (Paperback)
It's border line between 'ok' and 'didn't like it'. I opted for 'ok' based on the fact it was easy to read and essentially the plot was of Jack Higgins standard.

Basically Willy has a very famous father, a pilot carrying something that needed to be kept secret. The plane is bombed, he and the cargo is presumed dead and 20 years later Willy is convinced he isn't and goes searching for him. She meets Guy, who is responsible for getting dead soliders identified. Very predictably they fall in love. What a surprise!

The whole story is around them finding out the truth. Lots of death and gore on the way. If this is the first Gerritsen book you've read then you are in for a treat as they get better, much better. If you've read her before and looking for a change of direction then still try it. It is 'ok'. Easy Sunday afternoon reading, comfortably sat on the sofa with a few cups of coffee!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MS. GERRITSEN - A GOOD CHANGE OF DIRECTION, 23 Jun 2004
By 
Ap Nj Dorrall "nicky0512" (plymouth,devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Never Say Die (Paperback)
MS. GERRITSEN PAINTS A VERY BLEAK PICTURE OF WHAT LIFE MUST BE LIKE FOR THE VIETNAMESE PEOPLE AND THE WAY THEY LIVE.
THIS MAKES IT EVEN MORE DIFFICULT FOR "WILLY" TO FIND OUT WHAT HAPPENED TO HER FATHER. OBSTICLES ARE PUT IN HER WAY, TO PREVENT HER LOCATING HER FATHER, WHETHER HE IS DEAD OR ALIVE - SHE IS LEAD TO BELIEVE THAT HE IS IN FACT ALIVE. SHE REFUSES TO BELIEVE THE LIES SURROUNDING HER FATHER.
SHE IS FORCED TO WORK WITH "GUY BARNARD",EVEN THOUGH THERE IS A SIMMERING ATTRACTION BETWEEN THE TWO, SHE DOESN'T TRUST HIM IN ANY WAY. AS THEY PROCEED THROUGH VIETNAM/THAILAND AND INTO SAIGON, THEY ENCOUNTER LIES, MISTRUST,POLITICAL INTRIGUE AND MURDER. IT SEEMS THAT NO-ONE IS WILLING TO HELP "WILLY" AND THOSE THAT DO, PAY ULTIMATELY WITH THEIR LIVES.
THIS IS A FIRST FOR MS.GERRITSEN, YOU WOULD NORMALLY ASSOCIATE HER WORK WITH MEDICAL THRILLERS NOT POLITICAL ESPIONAGE, BUT THIS IS A VERY GOOD BOOK, WHICH PROVES SHE IS ADAPT AT ALMOST ANYTHING SHE PUTS HER MIND TO.
THE PLOT AND CHARACTORS ARE WELL LAID OUT, "WILLY" IS SUCH A STRONG CHARACTOR, BUT UNDERNEATH ALL THAT BRAVADO, IS A WOMEN JUST TRYING TO FIND HER DAD. SHE HATES HAVING TO RELY ON OTHERS ESPECIALLY "GUY" WHO SHE KNOWS HAS AN ULTERIOR MOTIVE - WHETHER IT BE TO LOOK AFTER HIMSELF OR TO GET HER INTO BED.
THERE ARE QUITE A FEW CHARACTORS IN THIS BOOK, THEY ARE EASY TO GET TO KNOW AND YOU NEVER REALLY GUESS WHO THE "BADDIE" IS, I DIDN'T ANYWAY.
THIS IS NOT HEAVY WITH THE POLITICAL INTRIGUE, IT LEANS MORE TO A ROMANTIC THRILLER IF ANYTHING BUT, AGAIN IT IS NOT HEAVILY LADEN WITH IT.
I REALLY ENJOYED THIS BOOK AND WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS BOOK.
EXCELLENT READING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: Never Say Die (MIRA) (Kindle Edition)
Very good story and great book. Recommend. The story is a bit slow to begin with but if you keep on reading it soon becomes very interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Never Say Die (MIRA)
Never Say Die (MIRA) by Tess Gerritsen
£2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews