Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful spooky book
This a great book. I found myself wanting to read it really quickly just to get to the bottom of the various mysteries running through it.

It basically starts in a home for troubled kids. It's the srt of place that wants to help and 'fix' the kids. On the face of it, not some awful institution.

Freeman is a very troubled kid and arrives at Wendover...
Published on 26 Sep 2011 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad
This was an ok read, probably enjoyed it more due to reading it on the beach.....

woth a look if you like the writings of Nicholson.
Published 12 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful spooky book, 26 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This a great book. I found myself wanting to read it really quickly just to get to the bottom of the various mysteries running through it.

It basically starts in a home for troubled kids. It's the srt of place that wants to help and 'fix' the kids. On the face of it, not some awful institution.

Freeman is a very troubled kid and arrives at Wendover with a past the involves abuse by his scientist father, but also with a gift for reading minds. He finds that some of the other kids can also read minds after going into the mysterious Room Thirteen for treatments with the doctor. Then people start to see ghosts of the former mental patients from the time before Wendover was a childrens' home.

The whole story unfolds brilliantly and the pieces all fall into place. Friendships start up with kids that have never seen the point or had the opportunity to forge alliances with other kids. Throw in some secret government cover up and you're onto a winner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great read, 15 Jun 2011
By 
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
With echoes of the films 'The House on Haunted Hill' and 'Session 9', Scott Nicholson's latest release provides thrills and scares a plenty.

A former psychiatric hospital is now being used as a home for troubled children where experiments are performed on their minds, but the experiments are also affecting the ghosts of former patients.

Nicholson's fans may already have this novel from its original paperback release some time back, but this would seem a great way for new readers to discover his work.

Once you've tried this one I suspect you will be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Great book not what I was expecting. First book I have read from this Author have already got 6 more on my kindle ready to read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This was an ok read, probably enjoyed it more due to reading it on the beach.....

woth a look if you like the writings of Nicholson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Started off well...., 12 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed the first half but when spirits suddenly started to appear, I lost interest. Creating that suspension of disbelief is a fragile process and this didn't quite work for me, although I do enjoy other Nicholson novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Troubled AKA The Home, 3 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Scott Nicholson book I have read. I haven't really gone for supernatural / horror books since my staple diet of James Herbert and Dean R Koontz many, many years ago but this author comes recommended to me and as i managed to grab this book cheaply, why not?

I have to say I thoroughly enjoyed the first two thirds of the book. Interesting in a book for grown-ups to be largely written through the eyes of a child, the institutionalised and deeply troubled Freeman Mills. A little heavy on fervent Christians, perhaps, and not all the characters had a lot of depth, but a good, dark and spooky plot.

I did feel the ending got a little bit too surreal, though, at least for my tastes. It also seemed to get a bit hurried compared to the pace of the rest of the book. Perhaps that is more about my own preferences, and certainly my overall feeling about the book is a good one. Good enough for me to read more by the author and maybe rekindle (no pun intended) my taste for the genre.

I'm giving it four stars because it's better than three, and I cant give three and a half. Certainly worth a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The home, 7 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book it was easy to read entertaining throughout out make you wonder what really went on in these types of places
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The home, 1 Jan 2013
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
Pretty good read, will certainly look at other titles by this author as this is the first I've read by him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Lost it's way, 11 Nov 2012
By 
Polly (North East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
This book started well but trailed off into a muddle. There were several inconsistencies of plot and some ideas that never really went anywhere. It was OK for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A book worth reading., 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Home (UK Edition) (Kindle Edition)
From the beginning I felt as if I was reading a report from a newspaper and that it had recently happened and could still be happening. It was as if the writer had experienced it and was writing something they knew about first hand. Great book would recommend it. Would love to read a follow on. Would even make a good movie.
JM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Home (UK Edition)
The Home (UK Edition) by Scott Nicholson
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews