Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (20)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imagine Jaws and Open Water - but on a ski lift
The film's premise is simple; three college kids go skiing for the weekend and by a slight stretch of the imagination end up stranded in a ski lift chair as night sets in. With the resort closed for the rest of the week our trio must decide what they want to do: Stay on the lift in the sub-zero temperatures, climb across the razor sharp cable above them, or jump to the...
Published on 1 Oct 2010 by Philippa Leah

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simple set-up.... simple results.
Presumably green-lit after the success of other "extreme circumstances" films like "Open Water", this is well-made and has a good cast but in the end it doesn't add up to anything more than its basic premise (of three twenty-somethings stranded halfway up a frozen mountainside on a ski-lift) and wouldn't bear a second watching. The lead-up to the situation is handled...
Published 5 months ago by Jem4books


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 59 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Imagine Jaws and Open Water - but on a ski lift, 1 Oct 2010
By 
Philippa Leah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frozen [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
The film's premise is simple; three college kids go skiing for the weekend and by a slight stretch of the imagination end up stranded in a ski lift chair as night sets in. With the resort closed for the rest of the week our trio must decide what they want to do: Stay on the lift in the sub-zero temperatures, climb across the razor sharp cable above them, or jump to the ground far below them.

Needless to say the results of any of these actions aren't going to be pretty. But 'Frozen' almost demands you think to yourself 'What would I do?' even as it swiftly shows you what would happen to you if you did. And this is one of the greatest strengths of the film, to put you into these three people's (ski) shoes and force you to experience the terror first hand. However although at times the visuals are incredibly cringe inducing, its the use of cut away angles that is most effective, leaving your imagination to fill in the grisly details. But this is definitely not one for people with a fragile constitution, and you may find your fellow movie goers hiding behind their popcorn come certain scenes.

Clearly 'Frozen' is intended to be a thrill and tense ride and it succeeds marvellously at this. The main drawback to the film is the slow beginning and a slight lull in the middle that may have you wishing for some more gore (or not). But on the plus side it isn't long before the pace picks up again and we are once again swinging along with our protagonists. And special mention must go to the performances, particularly to Emma Bell who makes an only slightly annoying female lead (which for films like this is quite a marvel), and particularly to Shawn Ashmore (Iceman from 'X-Men' - no pun intended), who is very convincing in his part as the third wheel in the trio.

For anyone who has 'enjoyed', if that's the right word, films like 'Saw', 'Open Water', or 'P2', you will definitely get something from 'Frozen'. If fleshy wounds and grisly visuals aren't your thing then you may want to give this a miss. Or you could hide behind the person in front of you. But this is definitely a worthy little movie that deserves to do well, even though it isn't the best advert for a holiday to the Alps
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars it could happen to YOU..., 7 May 2014
By 
Mr J.P. Davis (Bournemouth, Dorset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Love this film. The suspense is scary and the end is so sad. Brilliant! So credible as it could happen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 13 April 2014
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Really enjoyed this film thought was gona be bit boring at first 3 people stuck on a ski lift whole of the film but turned out to be a realy good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars chilled not frozen, 21 Feb 2014
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
To start with the characters are very well played. The Story line idea is good but to far drawn out before the intensive and very gory action sceans begin. In all very well acted but what actually only takes just under an hour and a half seems longer due to the drawn our preamble. My suggestion rent or borrow from you local library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Simple set-up.... simple results., 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Presumably green-lit after the success of other "extreme circumstances" films like "Open Water", this is well-made and has a good cast but in the end it doesn't add up to anything more than its basic premise (of three twenty-somethings stranded halfway up a frozen mountainside on a ski-lift) and wouldn't bear a second watching. The lead-up to the situation is handled quite well, setting up a basic tension between the three central characters (the new girlfriend with limited snowboarding experience versus the oldest buddy who feels his normal vacation time with his best bud is being spoiled) and keeping them just the right side of annoying. The circumstances that lead up to their stranding induces a few "d'oh!" moments but is more or less plausible. And then we have the "how do they get out of that?" dilemma, which has good moments but often struggles to keep up any particular tension. The group bicker and attempt some desperate remedies - which produce a couple of proper surprises, which you might need to watch with fingers over your eyes - but there isn't any proper development or building sense of doom here. The film does create a really effective sense of how unpleasant conditions are, and if you watch the DVD extras you'll see why - the poor actors and stuntpeople really did spend hundreds of hours dangling in the air in sub-zero conditions. In fact, the director is almost gleeful when he tells us that one of the stuntmen suffered the same unpleasant injury that occurs to one of the characters during one of the more desperate escape attempts. The director comes across as so proud and excited about the fact that he's not shooting in a studio, that this is an on-location bonanza with no faked "cold" effects. Well, fine, but we viewers need more than just knowing that the snowflakes are real: a script with a clearer sense of escalating drama, or some sense of the universality of these individuals' drama, for instance. I did care a bit about the characters, and there were definitely a couple of moments that made me wince, but some vital element is missing which in the end makes this feel like a little story with nothing much to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A brilliantly effective mix of horror, thriller and suspense., 14 Dec 2010
By 
Ernie (Kent) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed Adam Green's last two films, the superb old school slasher horror 'Hatchet' and the psychological thriller 'Spiral', and 'Frozen' is equally as good.
Green cleverly spends the first 30 minutes of the film building up the three main characters, showing them as ordinary likeable people, and when the realisation of their predicament kicks in you're already pulled into the film caring about their plight. And from this point the film really becomes a brilliant mix of unsettling horror and thriller.
If your a horror or psychological thriller fan then this a movie which should be on your wish list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Just OK, 22 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
This wasn't quite I thought it would be a bit far fetched for me had a weird ending as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Frozen........was my heart watching this crap, 20 Mar 2014
By 
Daffodils86 (north west england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
No no no, two times I had to sit through this.
Its just one of those movies that has a great idea with poor follow through.

I'm not even going to mention the wire...... or the stupid idiot who jumped.... or the poor defenceless woman.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Okay film., 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
Good enough film but not one I would watch again. Enjoyed it but became a bit boring towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars cool, 13 Oct 2013
This review is from: Frozen [DVD] (DVD)
the film was good but it had some really anoying parts like how the female always cries and why would the man leave them or better yet why jump out and break your legs

a huge anoying part is the girl escapes and the wolves are eating a man insted of eating something new he continues eating the man

WHY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frozen [DVD]
Frozen [DVD] by Will Barratt (DVD - 2010)
3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews