Customer Reviews


541 Reviews
5 star:
 (437)
4 star:
 (65)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Disney classic
Our favourite Toy Story characters make another welcome appearance in the latest instalment of a modern Disney classic. Toy Story 3 is a fine piece of CGI animation. This successful modern animation represents Disney finest piece in the 21st century. Toy Story 1 and 2 enjoyed massive success. Toy Story 3 continues to be captivating, enchanting and hugely entertaining. It...
Published on 23 July 2011 by Mr. P. Datta

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, shame about the short feature.
The main movie is, as most pixar offerings are, enormously entertaining and the 3D element makes it a joy on the eye. I doubt there are many people who aren't familar with Buzz, Woody and the rest of Andy's toys. This latest instalment is about what happens to them when Andy grows up and goes off to college.

I'm not going to go into any detail about the movie...
Published on 18 Nov. 2011 by Mrs. L. J. Swann


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Disney classic, 23 July 2011
By 
Mr. P. Datta "Pritthijit" (Stockton on Tees, Teesside) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Toy Story 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Our favourite Toy Story characters make another welcome appearance in the latest instalment of a modern Disney classic. Toy Story 3 is a fine piece of CGI animation. This successful modern animation represents Disney finest piece in the 21st century. Toy Story 1 and 2 enjoyed massive success. Toy Story 3 continues to be captivating, enchanting and hugely entertaining. It shows no signs of faltering and continues to maintain wide appeal to various ages. I thoroughly enjoyed the animation. The animation conveys the values and qualities of what Disney is traditionally renowned for. This includes a mixture of charm, humour, magic and a beautiful story. The characters shine strongly in the animation. Woody, Buzz, Jessie, Mrs and Mrs Potatoes Head and others are memorable and sparkling characters. I admire the friendship between the characters and how reunited they stand n the face of difficult times. It is really touching and beautiful to admire.

The plot is well thought out, as it heads a new direction. Andy is a grown lad and embarks on a new life in college, but must leave behind the toys. The toys are understandably an important part of Andy's life. He has fond childhood memories of playing with the toys. Can the loveable toys cope with the new changes? By error, the toys end up somewhere else, as they still have a special place in the attic. It takes the toys on a new and thrilling adventure, as they acquaint with other characters, but are desperate to escape. The new characters show a different light as you about to discover. The adventure is filled with excitement and high emotions, but never distant away from the charm, beauty and magic that characterises the animation.

Toy Story 3 is a brilliant CGI animation. The partnership with Pixar proves to be a successful. The animation is first class, as the attention to details is amazing and it stages a new world to life. Most importantly, the storyline consist of substance and engaging characters. I love the animation and was totally absorbed in watching it yesterday. Well done to Disney for delivering a quality animation to enjoy. Family entertainment represents a core value of Disney and it shows strong evidence of this. I do not know whether a follow up is in the pipeline, but I am sure it will work well as it has the wow factor to interest different type of viewers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The perfect ending, and a classic saga, 22 Nov. 2010
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 (2-Disc Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
If we are considering the medium at first, which is of course a Blu-Ray for this product, then you absolutely won't be disappointed. Toy Story 3 is by far and away one of the best High Def films I've watched to date and undoubtedly the most beautiful looking of the Toy Story saga. This is likely to be expected since it is a modern production, but we should also consider that the original Toy Story (1995), whilst looking sharper than ever in High Def, also reveals the older technology that produced the film. Toy Story 3, however, almost looks good enough to touch.

One of the greater aspects visually is the use of colour, and its of course amazing to see how far Pixar have come in just 15 years. Every environment has its own specific colour timing; the grass and tree leaves pierce out of the TV, but most astonishing is the scene at the Waste Depot, where the small shards of metal seem to roll on endlessly as if each one was designed and rendered separately. Along with Disney's release of 'Fantasia' earlier this month, these two films would be the only demonstrations I would personally need for Blu-Ray technology. And thats without describing the lossless soundtrack that, as with every Pixar Blu-Ray, just fills the room with a wonderful dynamic range. During the 'Freak Out' scene where Ken models his clothing, the kick-drum sounded as if it was being hit in front of me.

I'm holding back from talking too much about the film itself, given it has been talked of so much already. All I will say on this matter is that it does indeed take a different direction to the previous two films, but does so in such a way that is more bold. Toy Story 3 features more moral values and heart than its former films, and thats what won me over as it being the best of the trio. From a technical stand point, it is an entirely clever film from start to finish and manages to touch the hearts of viewers from all ages. The ending alone forced me to hold back the tears through gritted teeth!

So, whats all this "Triple Play" and "Double Play" business? Its merely a confusing effort from Disney to encourage buyers to go for the Blu-Ray format. The "Double Play" edition of Toy Story 3 features 3 Discs;

- 1 Blu-Ray [Feature Film]
- 1 Blu-Ray [Bonus Content]
- 1 DVD [Feature Film]

Therefore, the product exists so you can watch the film in either Blu-Ray or DVD. If you've moved over to Blu-Ray, then the DVD is very handy for lending to friends or for back-up!

This product is "Triple Play", which means that you not only get the 3 discs mentioned previously, but you get a forth disc that has a "Digital Copy" of the film. This 'Digital Copy' is neither a DVD nor a Blu-Ray; it is designed to be placed into your PC/Mac and imported into iTunes, where after the film has been copied from the disc, can be played from your computers hard drive, or best of all (if you actually watch films on-the-go), on iPods, iPads, iPhones, any iDevice or mobile device that supports a media player.

The 'Digital Copy' is somewhat negotiable. For an extra two pounds and the fancier cover, I'm sure many will be tempted by this 'Triple Play' product because its the top of the line, but please think again. Will the 'Digital Copy' really come in handy for you? Because after all, every computer has a DVD drive, so for the sake of watching this film on a mobile device, the extra two quid can be argued.

My personal opinion? Both PC's and Mac have software readily available that enables one to copy a film directly from a DVD to a computer. And its free... So i'm arguing that the 'Digital Copy' is somewhat a waste of a disc.

In short, this has to be not just one of the films of the year, but also one of the Blu-Rays. The extra features are plentiful, the presentation is beautiful, and I couldn't be happier with the way the Toy Story saga has been wrapped up. Top marks to Pixar for continuing to make such wonderfully original films, but shame on Disney for taking most of the credit for these efforts when, quite frankly, their own films these days don't stand up anywhere near as tall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Toys are Back in Town, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I am a huge fan of the Toy Story series, I own all three and even have Woody, Buzz Slinky Dog and Bullseye dolls despite being 16 years old. After the third and final film of the series was released in the cinema, I organised a big group of my friends to accompany me to see it. The ages ranged from 3 to 52, and every single one of us loved it.

The film deals with a lot of deep issues and is definitely the darkest of all the series, but in my opinion it is the best. The graphics are utterly stunning, and if you were to compare the first Toy Story with Toy Story 3, you will see how far computer animation has come in the past 16 years. The story line has you glued to the cinema screen from the beginning, and never ceases to lose you throughout the 90 minutes.

Toy Story 3 brings back all the main characters from the first two films; Woody, Buzz, Jessie, Bullseye, Mr & Mrs Potato Head, Hamm, Slinkly Dog and my personal favourite, Rex. It also introduces new characters, such as Losto the Hugging Bear (Who smells of strawberries!) and Ken, whom is the funniest of all the characters.

In my opinion, this movie is the perfect film. As it appeals to any age group, makes you laugh and even if you have watched it a 100 times it still feels like its your first.

If you don't already own it, what are you waiting for? Click ADD TO BASKET now! (and don't forget to include Toy Story/Toy Story 2 [DVD].)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 7 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great film as I am sure most people are aware. The double play copy is great as it means we can watch the blu-ray at home and take the DVD copy for the screens in the car.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeps getting better, 27 Nov. 2010
Wow! I can honestly say that I have never come across a trilogy of films before where each installation improves on previous films. This is such an incredible film, of fantastic animation, and humour for children and adults alike. The story is great and has one of the most emotional endings to a film, especially considering it is a 'children's film'. Definately worth buying for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great purchase, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the first two films and have to say the third is by far my favourite. It's a great watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic end to a great trilogy, 10 May 2011
By 
Conrad Shields (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The tricky 3rd film. So many trilogies have fallen at the last hurdle.
Not so here, the ever dependable Pixar have created yet another masterpiece.
Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant film and the extras on the DVD are good, too!, 8 May 2011
By 
L. Bretherton "dempie" (Tiverton, Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Watched this with my husband and 20-year old son, both of whom were a bit gulpy at the end of the movie!

There are some very moving scenes, beautiful animation, hilarious moments, scary bits and creepy bits (The Big Baby Doll - spooky!). It will appeal to most ages, though perhaps not anyone under the age of 6!

A lovley end to the series, and a wonderful representation of what it's like when a child moves on to the next stage of their life.

Don't miss the extras on the DVD - there's a cute short film, Night and Day, some great interviews with Pixar staff and the actors (also shots of them recording their lines), and lots of interesting bits and pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: Toy Story 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I absolutely love this film.

I love the way they have tried really hard to make a film that stands up on its own merit and not rely heavily on jokes from the previous two (although of course there are the fabulous in-jokes that can't be beaten)

It is also quite dark in places, often a bit frightening and doesn't patronise its audience with soppy storylines and 2 dimensional character portrayals. It is a film that both adults and children will adore, and mostly for the same reasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darkside, Sunnyside, 13 Jan. 2011
By 
ratmonkey (Hardy Country) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Toy Story 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Not having seen the previous 2 instalments for many years I thought it might take me some time to slip back in to the Toy Story universe. It also was rather humbling to remember that this was THE first proper feature length Pixar, and fully animated CGI film - the franchise that started it all. And the difference between the first and 3rd films is noticeable. Obviously the 3rd is far more defined and much slicker, albeit bathed in a very 'old-skool' light that relates them.

The story itself is rather sad - Andy is all grown up and off to college and has to either get rid of the toys or send them to SunnySide Nursery. A normally mundane task is shown as great peril. The usual mishaps occur and instead of the attic, the toys are redesignated to the nursery. I won't spoil it as it is a lot of fun to watch but suffice to say, things are not as they seem. Some great new characters are created, like Lotso, the creepy Big Baby and the absolutely show-stealing Ken, excellently played by Michael Keaton.

The ending is sad but in a nice way but, as with most Pixar films, you won't want it to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 255 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Toy Story 3 (2-Disc Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews