Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This package not the value it once was - but still fantastic music
I bought this boxed set when it first came out and, at the time, it represented astonishing value - 40 for every album plus a couple of extra tracks.

The problem now is that, at the time of writing, you can buy all the albums separately for less - in fact for almost the same money you can have the all the early albmuns plus Two Against Nature and Everything...
Published on 4 July 2009 by Kamakiriad

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the remastered original albums
Many of my other reviews will bear witness to the fact that I'm normally a great fan of boxed sets as a way of getting an entire sequence of albums in context, even at the cost of illegible original sleeve notes, no extras. etc. (This generalisation only applies of course if the quality of the music warrants this completism rather than buying a Greatest Hits, but with the...
Published 20 months ago by Martin Fielding


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This package not the value it once was - but still fantastic music, 4 July 2009
By 
I bought this boxed set when it first came out and, at the time, it represented astonishing value - 40 for every album plus a couple of extra tracks.

The problem now is that, at the time of writing, you can buy all the albums separately for less - in fact for almost the same money you can have the all the early albmuns plus Two Against Nature and Everything Must Go - the two post reformation albums -or even a couple of Fagen's solo albums (The Nightfly is a must!).

The only essential that you would be missing doing it that way would be the track 'FM' (the other extra tracks in the boxed set are not worth worrying about).

I encourage everyone to get into Steely Dan, but you should be aware that this package doesn't stand out as it used to.

UPDATE: the current pric eis around 30.00 - don't hesitate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can buy a thrill, 9 Sep 2004
If you like SD, and have not bought the remastered original CDs, this is for you. The remastering offers superb sound, and the pleasure of listening to the whole collection back to back is thrilling.
If you do not know SD, then here's the opportunity you've been looking for to improve the quality of your daily existance - yep, they"re that good.
Merky and obtuse (as you'd expect) sleeve notes and a a sturdy box accompany the excellent tunes.
The real deal on Steely Dan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You Can Buy A Thrill., 14 Dec 2004
By 
pablo "scoon2" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Steely Dan fans will no doubt have these classic recordings from the Dan's heyday. To the unitiated, everything is here. from the beautiful meandering of Do It Again to the sublims jazz of Aja.You will spot the album-fillers as not every track they have done is wonderful but this is a highly reccomended collection. Loses one star for only having one extra (The demo of Everyones Gone To the Movies). More could have been included given the size of the album. Throw out those gold teeth !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From A Fan of the Dan, 12 Jun 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This 4 CD collection contains some of the finest jazz inflenced pop/rock music produced during the past 35 years. Music of genius that's still light years away in quality, wit and intellegence from most of the dismal offerings produced by today's over-hyped talentless wonders. Buy this set to rediscover your faith in music and the potential creativity of the human race.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A collection of jewels!, 15 Jun 2004
By 
Mohammad A. Rahman (Wolverhampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is truly a rarity - a collection where every single track is a 5 star classic. This is Steely Dan's entire 70s output and a brilliant place to start. Then get the more recent releases and the Becker and Fagan solo albums - honestly, they have never released anything that is worth less than 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential listening, 30 Oct 1999
By 
I've been listening to popular music for thirty years but always come back to Steely Dan. The Dan's music is complicated but the way they made their records was simple: it had to be the best. With this album you not only get fifty tracks of the finest music ever recorded but you will be treated to a who's who of the best session men who ever walked into a studio. And if you have an expensive hi-fi system play Steely Dan and you'll realise that production standards have fallen disgracefully. This boxed set should come with a money back guarantee. Every home should have one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You really cant live without it, 28 Oct 1999
By A Customer
One of lifes great mysteries is why Steely Dan never really made it big. Listening to this record(s) will make you go around and preach the "Danities" music for the rest of the world. Buying just one of their records seems useless since you eventually will buy all their records - included in this box - for a much higher price. Steely Dan have better melodies than the Beatles, they have cooler arrangements than Miles Davis and are moore cynical than Dave Letterman ever has been.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unfaultable, if that is a word., 2 Oct 2003
I originally got into Steely Dan through Donald Fagen - by chance, I heard 'New Frontier' (Which I loved), and decided to explore the rest of his music. To cut a long story short, I ended up with my Dad's 'Citizen Steely Dan' boxed set, and gave it a listen.
As far as I can tell, the audio quality is 'fine'. I'm no expert, but I certainly have no complaints, and have noticed no problems
More importantly is the boxed set - very high quality; the booklet that accompanies is both interesting, and perfect for the new 'Danite', as the long time fan. It is well presented; very professionally, good build quality. If you are looking for a definitive collection of Steely Dan, this is by far the best choice on the market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the remastered original albums, 9 Nov 2012
By 
Martin Fielding (Findon, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Many of my other reviews will bear witness to the fact that I'm normally a great fan of boxed sets as a way of getting an entire sequence of albums in context, even at the cost of illegible original sleeve notes, no extras. etc. (This generalisation only applies of course if the quality of the music warrants this completism rather than buying a Greatest Hits, but with the Dan this is a given.) This box set sort of does this by keeping all the tracks from the first seven albums in their original order - but by compressing them onto 4 discs and putting extras (albeit worthwhile, eg the excellent FM) in here and there, you lose some of that feel in this case. Now this doesn't matter one jot if you are simply going to load this onto your MP3 player but I can't help feeling that something is lost in this format which was confirmed when I bought the 1999 MCA remastered edition of my favourite original album "Aja" which not only has the album in the format that it was intended to be heard, in sparkling clarity, but also has really funny "new" sleeve notes by Becker and Fagen alongside reprints of the original (famously pretentious) sleeve notes. So unless the price of this set comes down considerably (over 30 at the time of writing), buying the original CDs will cost you only a few quid extra and my advice is to opt for the integrity of the original CDs if you can afford it and pick up the extras elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Bloody Good!, 30 Sep 2007
By 
P. J. Aspel "The Sophisticate" (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I absolutely adore this band! Their sunny, summer sound just lifts me up every time, especially first thing with a nice cuppa! Anyway, it works whatever mood you're in. I especially love "Gaucho" because it doesn't sound dissimilar to Early Elton John(who I admire greatly)and "Aja" because I am a huge jazz fan.

Buy, borrow or steal a copy of this now, its class!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Citizen 1972-1980
Citizen 1972-1980 by Steely Dan
Buy MP3 Album14.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews