Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the truly great popular music groups
To clarify: ALL 5 LPs included here are classic. NOT just "Riot". The others are NOT just classic singles + filler.
My personal favourite is "Life" but that's just me. The only problem with this release is you don't get "Everybody is a star" or "Thank you falettinme be mice elf again". If you can play vinyl, get the single. Then you...
Published 8 months ago by Richard

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skips a major song.
I don't know if it's the same for other copies but track 6- There's a Riot Goin' On, skips to the next song. Only 'til now after owning this box set for over a year did I realise that it was a real track. I originally thought that perhaps it wasn't a track but just a little creativity havng the band put a message in the album tracklist. haha. Thought I'd YouTube the song...
Published 8 months ago by willavagna


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the truly great popular music groups, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
To clarify: ALL 5 LPs included here are classic. NOT just "Riot". The others are NOT just classic singles + filler.
My personal favourite is "Life" but that's just me. The only problem with this release is you don't get "Everybody is a star" or "Thank you falettinme be mice elf again". If you can play vinyl, get the single. Then you have all you need.
5 truly great LPs by a truly great group who didn't so much tear up the rule book as take a huge dump on it.
Highest possible recommendation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life affirming, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
An other worldy melting pot of soul, funk, pop, rock, black and white. The man is a genius and his family are peerless. Superb bargain- five classic remastered albums with bonus tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars This man is super cool..., 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
A great way to get the man's best work for next to no money,packaging flimsy but not complaining,it's a bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars low cost, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
i agree this is the best way to sample music at low cost much cheaper than downloads!
muso snobs can always put them in plastic sleeves with fake obis and picture labels.
i have a big collection of these mini box sets and i get to listen to a lot of great music i would have never heard.
Original Album Classics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the man, 13 April 2013
By 
NorthernSoulBoy6 (England, Willenhall/Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
cant describe enough how good for value money this boxset is well worth the money and i would have paid alot more for it so bargain !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Skips a major song., 6 April 2014
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
I don't know if it's the same for other copies but track 6- There's a Riot Goin' On, skips to the next song. Only 'til now after owning this box set for over a year did I realise that it was a real track. I originally thought that perhaps it wasn't a track but just a little creativity havng the band put a message in the album tracklist. haha. Thought I'd YouTube the song to see if such thing existed...and yup. So it sucks but it seems as though this boxset is defected. Ask other reviewers if the same goes for their copies if you're curious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hugely enjoyable, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Original Album Classics (Audio CD)
OK first thing packaging isn't great but I wasn't buying it for that I was buying for the music.

Having first seen Sly & the Family Stone on the original Woodstock concert film many years ago, and then realising that I did possess a lot of their stuff scattered over several old compilations (tapes etc). I decided to get at least one CD for my slightly eclectic collection. Originally I was going to get the recently reissued and repackaged "There's a Riot Going On" album; but then decided to buy this boxset instead - slightly more money but 4 albums more music.

I haven't been disappointed.

The music is great and considering some is as old as me, has not dated at all (I wish I could say the same). From the title track of Dance to the Music to the later "Family Affair" (off of "...Riot...") the music sounds fresh and is great in the car on the way to work especially on a nice sunny morning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Original Album Classics
Original Album Classics by Sly & The Family Stone (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews