Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, captivating, and utterly beautiful.
In May this year I worked out that I must now have listened to this album over 10,000 times since I first heard it in 1989. And yet the gently persistent windchimes that introduce this album still make my hair stand on end and as they crash into the wall of sound that is Plainsong, I feel the same thrill I did the first time around. Here at last was the piece of...
Published on 31 Aug 2000

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The sound has been damaged, not improved
It always grates on me when all a person has to do is see the word "remastered" and they immediately spew out the blind praise that it "sounds amazing". In most cases, that's a very incorrect statement. The two recent Duran Duran reissues are some of the worst I've heard, (and notice the difference between reviews of those CD's on Amazon's UK site compared to here)...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Scott Davies


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless, captivating, and utterly beautiful., 31 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
In May this year I worked out that I must now have listened to this album over 10,000 times since I first heard it in 1989. And yet the gently persistent windchimes that introduce this album still make my hair stand on end and as they crash into the wall of sound that is Plainsong, I feel the same thrill I did the first time around. Here at last was the piece of music I'd been waiting for! Plainsong manages to be both huge and overwhelming, whilst having the effect of that one person whispering in your ear while you sleep. This deeply personal and emotional album progresses through Pictures of You - the simplest of patterns but sooo effective, Love Song - a wedding present between bride and groom, and the relief and regret of Last Dance. Lighter moments such as Lullaby and Fascination Street lift the mood without breaking the atmosphere, before falling into the dreamlike Prayers for Rain and Same Deep Water as You.
This work demonstrates an intelligence and sincerity rarely found in most commercial releases, and the layered, almost orchestral sound holds your attention ceaselessly. A classical influence can be heard although The Cure's trademark and individual 'sound' is present throughout. The structures and patterns within the songs are never too little or too much, but sound completely natural and 'right'. I have found that the more I Iisten to this album the more things I hear, and if I could only listen to one CD for the rest of my life it would be this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure's Zenith, 25 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Looking back at this album ten years on, it is in my opinion the Cure's finest moment. Never again did they scale the hights of beauty and sorrow so masterfully over the course of a whole album. Subsequent albums had their moments (eg. Trust on the Wish album), but none could match the sustained feeling of this masterpiece. From the opening crash of the incredibly breathtaking 'Plainsong' to the final funereal notes of 'Untitled', the only discordant note is the single 'Lullaby' which I tend to skip anyway. This is an album to be listened to right through, dim the lights, open a bottle of wine and succumb to some of the most beautiful melodies ever recorded by a 'pop' band. Buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magical Work...., 2 May 2002
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
From the first wind-chimed seconds of Plainsong, a sense of intense beauty is established. By the time the first minute is up, Robert Smith and co. will have completely swallowed you up with exquisite organ and skeletal guitar lines. Quite how an album of such beauty could have been created from such devastatingly sad lyrics will always remain a mystery, but it is definitely to the listeners benefit. The best songs are the afore-mentioned opener, the mesmerising Closedown, and the desperate ode to lost love The Same Deep Water As You. Should you decide to buy this album it may well become a much relied on part of your life. It is an excellent record to listen to in winter, where the atmospherics on record generally suit the atmospherics outside your window. With superb artwork too, this is a near flawless album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Albums..., 22 Feb 2012
Disintegration rightfully takes its place as one of the very finest albums ever made. Robert Smith has poured his heart and deepest thoughts into this classic disc and it shows. The dreamy, trippy chiming intro to "Plainsong" has been many an opener for a Cure concert and unfolds in a glorious, sweeping epic track (albeit with very few lyrics) which sets that seal for an immortal album. The charming "Lovesong", a dedication to Robert's wife, shows where his heart is, and is accompanied by paranoic nightmarish visions about spiders, paralysis and coldness in the catchy but creepy "Lullaby". The beautiful but tragic "The Same Deep Water As You" shows a majestic poetry that few artists can match.

This album really needs no vast wordage. The proof of the album is in the listening. Even if you aren't a Cure fan, this is a very interestingly dark, deep work with haunting, despairing and also uplifting themes running wild in its content. To anyone who honestly hasn't heard this before, take some time out and listen to this one deeply with no distractions. It shows just how brilliant The Cure really are. Is it worth it? Every single penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE "must have" album of alternative rock., 2 July 2002
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
This album was described by a character on anarchic cartoon show South Park as being "the greatest album ever made". Well I happen to think that The Cure's Wish and Bloodflowers are equally as good, so that must mean this is one of the three greatest albums ever made.
The sleeve of this album tells you to "Play This Music Loud" and it's recommended, if only for the shock you get when the windchimes of opening track Plainsong fade and the song kicks in proper !
Despite The Cure's reputation, there are no "heavy" rock songs on here (apart from one song mentioned later), so the shock of Plainsong's introduction is based on it's power rather than the volume of the instruments.
The song is driven heavily by a synth section, which includes the main riff and a "bass" synth part played by bassist Simon Gallup (there is no bass guitar on this song). Like almost every song on Disintegration, Plainsong plays once through the whole of the main section and plays once through the whole of the "change" before going back to the main part where the lyrics begin. This is an excellent opportunity to hear The Cure in an instrumental fashion, and it's testament to the quality of all of the songs present that it's actually really really enjoyable to listen to the songs playing for a good 3 minutes before a single word leaves Robert Smith's mouth.
Pictures Of You is the first of 4 really long songs coming in at 7:27. This, like several of the songs, takes several minutes to build up, with additional guitar or keyboard parts coming in at the end of every few bars until finally going back to the start again. Again as stated, this is enjoyable and actually very trance like. The nice thing about this song is that the bassline changes completely into something else when the vocals begin, while managing to stay in the same key. A nice trick, made all the nicer as it changes again for the end section of the song.
Closedown sees a return to the thunderous tom-tom style of drumming that covers the earlier Pornography album, although this song is all grown up and mature - a far cry from the substance-fuelled psychoticness of Pornography.
Lovesong (a No. 2 hit in the US and most played song on US radio in 1989) and following song Last Dance keep up a feel of maturity, covering the same topic of relationships as the opening two songs. Lovesong has a bit of an "adult rock" feel to it, although the irony is that it actually blows away all that sort of stuff !!! Last Dance for all of it's mature lyrical content has a very gothic feel to it, with it's spooky keyboard line and moody guitar effects.
Lullaby up's the goth quota immensely ! A weird accoustic guitar riff, spiky plucked violins and scary keyboards, topped with haunted-house lyrics about a spider ! Don't play this to your 6 year old before putting him/her to bed ! On second thoughts do, your kid may grow up as weird as their Cure loving parents !!
Fascination Street is the one rock song on here, again very much in the goth style although without the bats and blood nonsense that 99% of goth bands waffle on about. The bassline is the greatest in the world and that's all I need to say.
Prayers For Rain and The Same Deep Water As You go back to Closedown and Last Dance territory all having the same guitar and keyboard sounds. If you're not used to The Cure it might not sound very good to hear that the same sounds are being used throughout an album. With The Cure, and this album in particular, it is very important that a certain mood and theme is achieved and the best way to do this is by having a particular sound running throughout. Believe me it works and sounds great. Each song is so different from the last in terms of structure and what each song actually does but the similar sounds keeps your emotive state at the same level, so that by the end of the album you can truly state that you have just had an awesome listening experience over the last hour.
Title track Disintegration is the fastest song on the album and is placed perfectly towards the end of the album, helping to build toward a nice crescendo. "Looping" the same part throughout songs is the order of the day on this album (I don't mean electronic or sequenced "looping") and Disintegration's repeating phrase is a nagging bass guitar line which commands the whole of the song. Again, moving keyboards come in at key moments building the emotion, the subject matter of this song being about leaving your partner (what lovely topics he chooses!!)
Homesick sees a piano and guitar playing in tandem, often crossing over into the same notes making them almost sound as one. This keeps up the same mood of the album, but it's actually got quite a late-night piano-bar feel to it, the piano and Smith's voice getting quite funky at moments, almost threatening to break out of the confines of the album.
Finally Homesick sees a bit of a happy ending for the album, at least in terms of the music - as the lyrics stick to the same gloomy territory (which is a good thing). A nice accordion plays on this track and there's some quite jangly guitar on there. Even the way the gloomy lyrics are sung is quite happy. It leaves the album feeling complete and goes out on a high note after the trauma of the last hour.
If you are into alternative rock music, this is the absolute essential must have album and is rated as an influence by the majority of alternative music acts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A+!, 27 Feb 2011
By 
J. Oon "Mode Fan" (Petaling Jaya, Malaysia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Rated as one of the best albums ever by the kids from Southpark!
dark and moody, one album that has stood the test of time.
the remastering has moved it up a notch to an all time classic.
Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful gem......, 28 May 2010
I've never bought a Cure album before (apart from the greatest hits collection) & was curious to know what a complete body of work by the band would be like.
I ordered this after reading the excellent reviews (well, most of them are excellent!) & I was not disappointed. What a great intro for me to get into The Cure's back catalogue - this album is great! Stand out tracks for me already are Prayers for Rain, The Same Deep Water as You & Disintegration - fabulous!
I will be checking out further releases now to increase my Cure collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Cure Album Ever, 1 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Disintegration is by far the best Cure album. The first three songs, Plainsong, Pictures Of You and Closedown, are so emotional I can't listen to them without crying. Lovesong is a really gorgeous song written by Robert Smith as a wedding present for his wife. Last Dance is very mysterious, as is Lullaby. Fascination Street is one of the darker songs on the album, and Prayers For Rain and The Same Deep Water As You both have a sort of quiet and subtle desperation, whereas Disintegration is a much more obvious, tearing desperation. Homesick and Untitled are quite gentle songs that round off the album perfectly. If you are a Cure fan and you don't have this, what are you doing without it?! I'd recommend it to any Cure fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Beautiful Piece of Work, 2 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
DISINTEGRATION is a unique recording - brooding yet beautiful, mournful yet joyous, challenging yet accessible. It is unapologetically a pop album, but one full of richly layered soundscapes and sweeping, orchestral beauty. This is a haunting, whimsical, deeply romantic record. The sound is dominated by jangly, aquatic guitars, rolling percussion and lush grand piano arrangements, topped by the plaintive, aching vocals of frontman Robert Smith, who sounds perpetually on the verge of tears. Highlights include the gorgeous, celebratory "Love Song" (a US No. 4 hit), the thunderous title track and, my personal favourite, "The Same Deep Water As You" -nine minutes of lonesome, drifting melancholia that grows ever more rapturous and divine as it unfolds. Besides my objective admiration for this brilliant album, I must confess that DISINTEGRATION also holds especially poignant personal associations and sentimental value for me, having soundtracked the most intense and intimate love affair of my life to date. But I couldn't have asked for a more beautiful soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best cure Album by a country mile!, 2 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
In the late 70s/early 80s I had been into Joy Division et al in a big way and subsequently found The Cure to be a perfect augmentation to my playlist. Faith and Pornography were my faves; Kiss Me and Head were great LPs too but, when Disintegration came out I was knocked sideways!

There's no need to add anything to the many positive reviews already posted here, except to say this album is quite simply the best thing they have ever done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews