Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exact Opposite of Junior
This is a 180° turn for Norwegian electronica-duo Röyksopp from their last studio album. Unlike the high-charged, extroverted Junior, the appropriately-titled Senior is a slow, intimate record. You could call it a return to Röyksopp's style with Melody A.M., except a more introvertive, developed aspect of it. None of the tracks have lyrics or indeed much singing...
Published on 21 Aug. 2012 by Atli Hafsteinsson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
Never the same as AM - bring back the old royksopp
Published 3 months ago by Luigi


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exact Opposite of Junior, 21 Aug. 2012
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
This is a 180° turn for Norwegian electronica-duo Röyksopp from their last studio album. Unlike the high-charged, extroverted Junior, the appropriately-titled Senior is a slow, intimate record. You could call it a return to Röyksopp's style with Melody A.M., except a more introvertive, developed aspect of it. None of the tracks have lyrics or indeed much singing at all, but the melodies are exquisite; dreamy, dark and secret. It's Röyksopp's most private, introspective record. The album sleeve, inky blackness with the hint of something in the shadows, describes it well. This is an album of secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Respect your elders..., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
Well, where do I begin...this album is just like a fine wine (cheesy to say, but ever so true)! As the title suggests "Senior" demands a certain type of respect, as with age comes knowledge and a wisdom that can only be gained by experience! The album itself commands attention, seduces and soothes the senses, whilst tempting one to delve into a psychological state and traverse a journey of memories past and present. It's laid back rhythmic nature encompasses the emotions and shakes of the shackles of the harsh reality of life's encounters...a truly relaxing and chilled out album!!! A must have for any enthusiast of quality laid back tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return To Form, 28 Dec. 2010
By 
C. M. Weeks "chris-weeks" (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (MP3 Download)
I've followed Royksopp since the start and, to be honest, none of their subsequent recoording had equalled their debut Melody A.M. for quality and accessibility. This comes very close.

Don't be put off by comments that this is the more grown up and serious counterpart of last year's 'Junior'. This is full of insistently hummable melodies, and is reliant on proper song-writing rather than over production and big beats.

If you're only going to download one track, download The Alcoholic, but Tricky Two and Forgotten Cowboy are two other stand-outs in a very strong collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Senior Moment, 19 Sept. 2010
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
When Junior came out, there were some Röyksopp fans of old who complained vociferously that this wasn't the laid back trippy sound of Melody A.M. they expected from the duo and had been waiting for since The Understanding. I loved their third album and still listen to the tracks and the official and unofficial remixes often, as indeed I do with their other two albums. There are some fans like me, who have loved every album so far, and others who only really liked one or two and complain that the others are not exactly the same as them. I like it best when bands move on, as sticking to one sound for too long can ruin their credibility and freshness.

So now we have Senior, which I wouldn't be surprised if many Röyksopp fans had believed was going to be Melody A.M. 2.0. It's not that much like it, which is a relief to be honest - Melody A.M. was a record of its time, and I'm glad they haven't exploited it by mining that sound to recycle it - instead they have made a very introspective and often experimental album that lives up to their promise of a record that works best when you listen to it as a whole.

Unlike Junior it is an instrumental album, though there are occasionally some faint and indistinct vocals floating around in the background, and occasionally voices come out into the foreground to jolt you out of whatever trance the record may have put you in. Fall asleep with this record on and near the end you will be woken into an anxious state by some weird and disturbing noises.

If you're in two minds about getting this album, listen to Tricky Two, The Drug and Forsaken Cowboy. The other tracks are great too, but these three will sell it to you. Tricky Two, as you could probably guess, takes the main hook and some other elements from its hyperactive `younger' sibling Tricky Tricky and mixes it all into an ever building powerhouse of a track that somehow manages to keep a laid back feel throughout. To describe the other tracks - the ones you don't already know some element of - would run the risk of not doing them justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Back to their roots, 12 Feb. 2015
By 
Justin D. Rumsby "JustinR" (Ipswich, Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
Now! It seems to me Royksopp went back to their original style of Melody A.M. when the sequel to Junior was made. Again, this is another brilliant piece of work, artistry in this case. It reminds me of Melody A.M. to an extent yet obviously more upto date. Tracks like "forbidden cowboy" are superb. Tricky Two (follow fro Tricky Tricky) is a lot better and makes cool dance record for the clubs without sounding particularly commercial. This is a nice ambient and, erm... obviously grown up feel to it. Must be something to do with the title of this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maturing music, 6 July 2011
By 
John M. Kennett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
I've been hooked on Royksopp since a lucky channel-hop moment where I caught "Poor Leno" on MTV. I had to investigate this tune, and went on to fall in love with the output from this team.

And I've continued to derive great musical pleasure from "Senior". Its pace ebbs and flows, from the dreamy "Senior Living" to the mellow "The Drug" to jumpy "Tricky Two" - all of which smack of Royksopp. If you appreciated previous material, you'll appreciate "Senior" as a maturing of their style and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as Melody A.m, 24 Jan. 2011
By 
bcebce (Ankara,TURKEY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
this album might be what some of röyksopp's fans have been waiting since their debut album melody a.m. the band has expressed their feelings by saying thay this is something that their new listeners might find a little hard to accept but once you get into it, you'll probably have it on the loop for quite a time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Builds on previous albums, 9 Oct. 2010
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
I think the previous reviews have summed up this album pretty accurately, however, I am a little more simple in my review in that I just love this album (although I would not personally put it in the same stable as Jean Michel Jarre!). When I listened to the snapshots on Amazon and Play before buying the album I was not convinced that I would like it (but listening on my laptop speakers of a 10 second snap is not really a representative). Owning all previous Royksopp albums on their merit and still enjoying them I owed the duo the benefit of the doubt. They did not let me down. This is a darker album than junior in terms of its setting, no real vocals (which is not a problem for me, their previous albums have covered that) and a little more melancholy - but maybe that's a wrong doing, its just deeper I suppose compared to Junior. I have played it pretty much since receiving it and it just does it for me. I was worried that they would try and be too off spec, be a little too experimental with this album, and do something a little to weird, and I felt initially in one or two tracks that they nearly took that route, but they didn't (Air are similar, in that they can still keep it fresh every album). Yes, I am rambling along, which is no benefit for those debating whether they should they buy or not!! If your a fan, you will be very happy up there!. If you are not a fan, buy it, and enjoy a very good electro instrumental album that will provide you with repeat value over and over again (btw - louder = deeper works for me). Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Audio Experiments, 13 Sept. 2010
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
Having been listening to Royksopp Senior for the last week mostly on repeat the album is finally released a long time after the thunderous Junior. Recorded at the same time as Junior the second album in the pair - Senior - which Royksopp would like you to see as the other side to their personality. Whilst Junior is full of energy; Senior is much more relaxed and apart from some brief electronic voices mostly vocal free. Overall it sounding halfway between Vangelis and Jean Michel Jarre - it has the variety of instruments of Jarre but without the energy of his more epic sounds.

At the end of the day or night Senior is very calming and sonically very interesting and in a room with the lights off sounds great coming from your hi-fi; its also great when listening to a book as you can stop listening to it and still have it in the background.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
S. Pope "TeamBPR" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (MP3 Download)
Typical Royksopp, good mix of stuff and some really nice sounds. Chilled out yet still upbeat, good one for the MP3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Senior [VINYL]
Senior [VINYL] by Royksopp (Vinyl - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews