Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exact Opposite of Junior
This is a 180° turn for Norwegian electronica-duo Röyksopp from their last studio album. Unlike the high-charged, extroverted Junior, the appropriately-titled Senior is a slow, intimate record. You could call it a return to Röyksopp's style with Melody A.M., except a more introvertive, developed aspect of it. None of the tracks have lyrics or indeed much singing...
Published 24 months ago by Atli Hafsteinsson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok if you are in the mood for it
Senior is an almost entirely intrumental album. You have to be in the mood to listen to it, in which case it does seem to tell a story without words. It is not particularly long, and the last 12 minutes are used up in a track called A Long Long Way, which just sounds odd and becomes a collection of really strange sounds at the end - a horse, someone moaning and...
Published on 16 May 2011 by Charles Gosling


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Exact Opposite of Junior, 21 Aug 2012
By 
Atli Hafsteinsson (Reykjavík, Iceland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
This is a 180° turn for Norwegian electronica-duo Röyksopp from their last studio album. Unlike the high-charged, extroverted Junior, the appropriately-titled Senior is a slow, intimate record. You could call it a return to Röyksopp's style with Melody A.M., except a more introvertive, developed aspect of it. None of the tracks have lyrics or indeed much singing at all, but the melodies are exquisite; dreamy, dark and secret. It's Röyksopp's most private, introspective record. The album sleeve, inky blackness with the hint of something in the shadows, describes it well. This is an album of secrets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Senior Moment, 19 Sep 2010
By 
Andromeda Descendent (Tarn Vedra) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
When Junior came out, there were some Röyksopp fans of old who complained vociferously that this wasn't the laid back trippy sound of Melody A.M. they expected from the duo and had been waiting for since The Understanding. I loved their third album and still listen to the tracks and the official and unofficial remixes often, as indeed I do with their other two albums. There are some fans like me, who have loved every album so far, and others who only really liked one or two and complain that the others are not exactly the same as them. I like it best when bands move on, as sticking to one sound for too long can ruin their credibility and freshness.

So now we have Senior, which I wouldn't be surprised if many Röyksopp fans had believed was going to be Melody A.M. 2.0. It's not that much like it, which is a relief to be honest - Melody A.M. was a record of its time, and I'm glad they haven't exploited it by mining that sound to recycle it - instead they have made a very introspective and often experimental album that lives up to their promise of a record that works best when you listen to it as a whole.

Unlike Junior it is an instrumental album, though there are occasionally some faint and indistinct vocals floating around in the background, and occasionally voices come out into the foreground to jolt you out of whatever trance the record may have put you in. Fall asleep with this record on and near the end you will be woken into an anxious state by some weird and disturbing noises.

If you're in two minds about getting this album, listen to Tricky Two, The Drug and Forsaken Cowboy. The other tracks are great too, but these three will sell it to you. Tricky Two, as you could probably guess, takes the main hook and some other elements from its hyperactive `younger' sibling Tricky Tricky and mixes it all into an ever building powerhouse of a track that somehow manages to keep a laid back feel throughout. To describe the other tracks - the ones you don't already know some element of - would run the risk of not doing them justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 19 Aug 2013
By 
S. Pope "TeamBPR" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (MP3 Download)
Typical Royksopp, good mix of stuff and some really nice sounds. Chilled out yet still upbeat, good one for the MP3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Respect your elders..., 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
Well, where do I begin...this album is just like a fine wine (cheesy to say, but ever so true)! As the title suggests "Senior" demands a certain type of respect, as with age comes knowledge and a wisdom that can only be gained by experience! The album itself commands attention, seduces and soothes the senses, whilst tempting one to delve into a psychological state and traverse a journey of memories past and present. It's laid back rhythmic nature encompasses the emotions and shakes of the shackles of the harsh reality of life's encounters...a truly relaxing and chilled out album!!! A must have for any enthusiast of quality laid back tunes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good value, good seller, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
I've got four Royksopp albums now, just bought 'Junior' too. I'm never disappointed by Royksopp. All my used cd's have been in great condition, some from this seller. Would recommend seller and this album to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maturing music, 6 July 2011
By 
John M. Kennett (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
I've been hooked on Royksopp since a lucky channel-hop moment where I caught "Poor Leno" on MTV. I had to investigate this tune, and went on to fall in love with the output from this team.

And I've continued to derive great musical pleasure from "Senior". Its pace ebbs and flows, from the dreamy "Senior Living" to the mellow "The Drug" to jumpy "Tricky Two" - all of which smack of Royksopp. If you appreciated previous material, you'll appreciate "Senior" as a maturing of their style and music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Almost as good as Melody A.m, 24 Jan 2011
By 
bcebce (Ankara,TURKEY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
this album might be what some of röyksopp's fans have been waiting since their debut album melody a.m. the band has expressed their feelings by saying thay this is something that their new listeners might find a little hard to accept but once you get into it, you'll probably have it on the loop for quite a time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Return To Form, 28 Dec 2010
By 
C. M. Weeks "chris-weeks" (Maidenhead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Senior (MP3 Download)
I've followed Royksopp since the start and, to be honest, none of their subsequent recoording had equalled their debut Melody A.M. for quality and accessibility. This comes very close.

Don't be put off by comments that this is the more grown up and serious counterpart of last year's 'Junior'. This is full of insistently hummable melodies, and is reliant on proper song-writing rather than over production and big beats.

If you're only going to download one track, download The Alcoholic, but Tricky Two and Forgotten Cowboy are two other stand-outs in a very strong collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Senior [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Very good album, but the LP I received was not sealed and had a minor scratch on it. Fortunately, the LP works anyway.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New album, new awesomeness!, 10 Oct 2010
By 
Luis Monteiro - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Senior (Audio CD)
After a new perspective on electronic music with Junior, Senior arrives with much more relaxed, but still very good tunes. You gotta love this guys!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Senior [VINYL]
Senior [VINYL] by Royksopp (Vinyl - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews