Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Prime Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now


Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2008
I have read these stories to clients throughout my professional career, in particular to clients who have PMS. Having read many books on those who have a troubled relationship with themselves and others this offers such a creative interesting approach.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2007
I bought this book after being recommended it in therapy for anorexia and it is brilliant. Each chapter is about something different ie assertiveness,time of the month,recovery etc but its all written with little folktale stories with hidden meanings and then psychology in between to help you understand the story and figure out why you have the relationship with food that you do and ways in which to overcome it. It is written in a way that can help overeaters,anorexics,bullimics etc everyone really as they are all just behaviours and it al comes down to almost the same problem.

Really has helped me see things in a different light and try to move foward in my recovery well worth reading.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2014
This book is wonderful. I was as a dramatherapist with young people and adults with eating issues, and this book has become a guide for myself and for their journeys through the wilderness of an eating issue. It really is brilliant!

Although, I'd to add, I have just ordered a new copy for the hospital I work at, and I'm dissapointed that I have recieved a copy that is titled "Eating n the light of the moon: how women can let go of compulsive eating through metaphor and storytelling" rather than the advertised title. As a therapist the title version I now have feels less open and approachable. But otherwise, the contents are still a book full of treasures!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
I have never before read a book where I have cried and had 'lightbulb moments' throughout. The metaphors are heartfelt and so totally spot on.

If you are ready to learn why you really make the food choices you do then get this book. It will absolutely change your life.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2014
Such an original and meaningful approach to eating disorders - finally!! Someone who realises that eating/not eating is just the symptom of underlying unease with all kinds of things. If only the NHS would take this approach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2013
I recommend this to anyone looking for more insight about their relationship with food and their body. I've read it a few times and dipped in and out many times. The stories have stayed in my head. It's an enjoyable read and a unique approach. I enjoyed the personal stories of people who were dealing with their eating disorders. I felt understood by the writer and trusted her understanding of the people she wrote about. I also felt inspired by the women who's stories are told in the book and inspired by the myths and legends in the book too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2015
What an inspiring and thought provoking book... full of stories but also practical support and suggestions for those who want to clear their unhealthy relationships with food, eating, weight, fat!! Fab!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2015
Very informative
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2014
Excellent mix of storytelling and psychological content. Very helpful for professionals and anything in a self improvement journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2016
Excellent book with an innovative approach.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)