Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential For Fans Of The Genre
Such a well-written book, I read it in two sittings without even realising how quickly the pages were turning.

Dave Mustaine presents his take on his life and the events of a turbulent music career. The early days with Metallica are covered, but this time from Mustaine's mouth.

He's been driven for nearly two decades by wanting to beat Metallica,...
Published on 16 Sep 2010 by T. Owen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings
I'm a Metallica fan and a Megadeth fan, more so Metallica but I'm very open minded and read this book with no bias at all.

I really enjoyed reading about Dave's life however I find it quite incredible that he can still be so bitter about his departure from Metallica after all of these years. If Dave's recollection of events is accurate and true then I think...
Published 15 months ago by Minimoo


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing touching biography into the life of one of the most mis-understood metal warriors!, 18 Oct 2010
This book is touching, inspiring and humorous life into the one and only Dave Mustaine. Reading this book makes you understand how mis-understood he is and his reason his mindset at various points in time, UN-biased opinion of a man we only can judge from the media, even those loyal to this man will be surprised at who he really is.

Brilliant Read for any metal fan and and aspiring musician from an intelligent individual and a true survivor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Business is Good., 5 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Kindle Edition)
I've followed this guy since the early days of Metallica, he's not the the best singer in the world, but his music and lyrics are top notch, as for the book, it's the usual rock star I'm a drunk I'm a drug addict stuff, but it's still a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting. Worth a read if you are a fan ..., 12 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Kindle Edition)
Interesting. Worth a read if you are a fan of the whole 80s/90s thrash metal thing.

I just wish Dave understood that by leaving Metallica he gave us the gift of Megadeth - totally worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read, 10 Oct 2014
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Kindle Edition)
A very thorough insight into the life and mind of a heavy metal legend. Very entertaining read, and a definite must-buy if you're a fan of Megadeth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mustaine is Superman., 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well,this book is very different than Motley's Crue "Dirt" or "Slash by Slash", Mustaine is almost flawless, always knew what to do, he is harder, faster, better and more talented, Metallica members are unmanly and untalented, James is a coward & the world has two kind of drinkers, the ones that becomes stupid and the ones that becomes aggressive and a bit unpredictable,(like some true men like him, the rest are gays) this is the only appointed "reason" for his very "unfair" and inexplicable dismissal while being taken to the bus station and left for a 4 days journey with no food and no water, of course, after breaking James's mouth and beating some others members of the entourage plus bedding Kirk Hammett semi serious girlfriend, they all betrayed him for no reason conveniently arranging the truth to his needs and decided to take him unapologetically to his misadventures.

Not a trace of a Middle aged man looking at his pass with honesty or repentant in any way or shape of anything whatsoever.

In this tenure for example he exaggerates the reach of his songs power into Metallica break trough ignoring that was the 2 songs of James the ones that became the most acclaimed in that first album, also ignoring the fact that Metallica became Metallica in the second album and has no opinion about Kirk contribution to Metallica for 30 years except for his "mimics" of Mustaine solos. Quite a huge pill to swallow & procedure to be repeated all book long.

Full time Junky, guitar player and 3 black belts owner (How this could be achieved simultaneously is a mystery), insights of other bands and the music industry are almost non-existent and when a footnote so to speak appears like Steve Harris reference is just to pinpoint how impressed he was with his playing capabilities. Only exception is for Alice Cooper, only one he have been straight and thankful, because of course, Alice knew how great he can be.

Throughout the whole book he recognizes one time somebody being better guitar player than him and this is the only good surprise as he handles merciless his Ego trip Biography in a book that could be titled "Mustaine is Superman", if Slash dedicated a couple of pages on his book to Mustaine and how cool was to Jam along with him for example Mustaine not even mentioned him on the book, this book is "Mustaine by Mustaine for Mustaine and in Mustaine world only" and have no time for anybody or anything else but himself where "Rock Star" is a Royal title that is pretty much similar of having "blue blood" so justifies anything and everything. Beating up all his musicians and with no consideration whatsoever of any contribution to his band where, of course, he is the one to make the big Money cause well, he is handsome, amazing player and blah, blah, blah.

But Mustaine does have an amazing intelligence and despite no details, convenient omissions and constant "arrangements of the truth" he goes with good rhythm not letting you to think too much about the constant missing evidence so you will read 75% of the book before getting seriously bored with the guy and his super powers.

I would understand those who concede a 4 stars review as he can be direct, charming and entertaining like that but I will take the 3 stars choice as his input is too often arranged as everybody else eclipsed, ignored, beaten or submitted to shame including the qualification of his own father as abusive for a one day episode, the book just brings you insight on his greatness and nothing else but his boring need to be the best and only one.

At the end he makes a huge favour to Metallica as is easy to understand why nobody would stand by him more than 1 hour, also is amazing to think the Metallica people have done concerts recently with him despite the shameful and biased treatment of their image in this book.

If you are looking for a honest biography, this book is not for you. If you are looking for some fun into an insincere Rock Star driven much more for his desire of being a public success rather than passion for music then you can have an amazing insight of a very superficial person, cause Mustaine in his personality let you know if you have a basic IQ why he didn't go further in life or music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 3 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a good book. The anecdotes would've fitted nicely into most other tales of rock `n' roll excess, like Slash (G n' R), The Dirt (Motley Crue) and Walk This Way (Aerosmith). This, however, is a drawback. You get the feeling you've read it all before. That's no fault of Dave's - he's just recounting his days of sex, drugs and rock `n' roll with Megadeth and they happen to be very similar tales to those already told by the aforementioned bands.

I'm no Megadeth fan; I could've counted the number of songs I knew of theirs on one hand before reading this book. I just knew of Dave's reputation as a bit of a nutcase and thought it'd make for an entertaining read, and that's exactly what it was. Mustaine comes across as a decent enough guy but with all the characteristics of most other heavy metal front men - arrogant, opinionated, aggressive, rude, reckless, immature.

I assume he's reasonably talented too...in his field of music. But, my God, having since ploughed through bits of Megadeth's output over the years I am of the realisation that the music's bad. Really bad. Megadeth? Megacrap more like. I generally think metal's pretty awful anyway. I just find the scene pretty fascinating, especially the boom back in the 80's.

On the whole though, it was a good read. I imagine this is essential reading for fans of the band. For someone like me, who thinks heavy metal's a load of old sh!te, but is fascinated by music in general, it's nothing more than a good yarn about some ginger topped hell raiser.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant!, 28 July 2014
By 
Mr. James S. Edmondson (u.k.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Kindle Edition)
the life and times so far of a former member of metallica. he then went on to form one of the big four in megadeth. brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars what a great read, 26 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mustaine: A Life in Metal (Kindle Edition)
I love Megadeth it's took me a while to get into them. Wow 17 times in rehab that's a longtime fantastic book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How I found religion., 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was excited to read this book by Dave about Dave. Sadly he has left out all the good stuff. He refuses to talk about sacking any band members and how and why he has written any of the songs that he has.
Anyone who has listened to metal throughout the years will have a certain amount of time for Dave, however him writting his own book seems to be a missed opportunity.
Rather than this being a book about a life in metal it's more of a 'my life was bad and then I found jesus' book.
I felt sorry that through buying his music throughout the years I had contributed to his life of misery and now through reading this book Dave has contributed to mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look! It's that dude who invented Metallica!, 28 Mar 2012
By 
Mr. SCM Bell "Black Cat Theory" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As you might expect there is a lot to recommend Mustaine's biography and a lot to compel you to keep turning the pages. If you like metal and you are even vaguely aware of the man, you'll smash this in a couple of days.

It is genuinely entertaining to read about his transformation from angry, resentful, agnostic teenager to angry, resentful Christian multi-millionaire rock star; although not always for the reasons that he himself probably hoped.

There is no doubt, this book is a tool for self-vindication only. The kind of ego-soothing self medication that only someone as rich and blatantly frustrated as the author can administer. Behind the entertaining anecdotes of his brief interaction with Mssrs. Hetfield and Ulrich and chaotic early years of Megadeth through their bloated, meandering mid-phase and beyond the content seems desperate to serve only two purposes:

Firstly, it is repeatedly rammed down your throat how hard Mustaine is. It's almost as if the book itself is meant to serve as some kind of veiled threat to the reader as to what will happen if you mess with him. Whatever; methinks you protest to much Sir and behind all the little jabs about how a young Hetfield chickened out and left him to kick ass, Dave Ellefson needing him to step in on his behalf and on and on, the biggest picture that comes to mind is how sad, weak and deflated he seemed in his appearance in Some Kind of Monster.

On that very subject: purpose number two of this book is to finally set the record straight on how Mustaine had a role of seminal importance in the formation and early days of Metallica. Well, as a long term fan of both bands, by his own hand, he has finally dispelled this myth. His tenure was indeed short, his influence over the rapidly developing Hetfield limited and his presence appeared to be little more than a rather nasty personnel problem in the fledgling days of Metallica Inc. You don't hear Metallica's first bass player crying do you?

In all this the saddest part for Mustaine is not the level of his delusion, it is the fact that here is a man who is an outstanding musician, riff-writer, guitarist and even leader, at the helm of one of the biggest metal bands of all time, with a fistful of killer albums to his credit but yet he doesn't care about that. All he cares about is getting you to admit that he was important in the history of Metallica. I think that ultimately, his achievements will simply be a background noise to his legacy as `that dude who kept trying to claim he invented Metallica'.

Now, I know I'm coming off as a Dave-Hater here. Well, I really am not. The guy has some big balls and it is nice to read him lambast the corruption and corporate controlled nature of the modern music biz. At one point he is honest enough to say the industry doesn't simply dissuade new acts from trying to break in; it physically tried to keep them out.

But ultimately, for all the good stuff in here, 80% of the entertainment value is reading about a guy with a massive chip on his shoulder embarrass himself. Lets face it, that's what got the book on the New York Times bestseller list.

Sorry mate, Metallica would have happened regardless. At least you did have a decent band of your own. Although, the name temporarily escapes me...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mustaine: A Life in Metal
Mustaine: A Life in Metal by Dave Mustaine
£4.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews