Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, THESE Are The Voyages...
Just a brief note about the book, my terminology may not be correct, but there are a number of copies of the third print of this book which have been subject to a printing error which means a few pages are blank. The second print does not have these errors.

I've given this novel, the first Enterprise relaunch novel, five stars for a number of reasons...
Published on 15 July 2010 by Rory Q

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the story but the language was clichéd in parts
I loved the TV series, and I was rather sad when they bungled into a Season 4 into I-woke-up-and-it-was-all-a-holladeck-program ending. This was my first, and only foray into paid-fanfiction/extended-universe and yes, to my detriment, it was the anonymity of the kindle that bought me here. The problem I had was that it wasn't as enjoyable as some of the fan-authored works...
Published 11 months ago by Sarah-Emily


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No, THESE Are The Voyages..., 15 July 2010
By 
Rory Q (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a brief note about the book, my terminology may not be correct, but there are a number of copies of the third print of this book which have been subject to a printing error which means a few pages are blank. The second print does not have these errors.

I've given this novel, the first Enterprise relaunch novel, five stars for a number of reasons. Firstly, and most importantly, its raison d'etre is to re-do properly that whole sticky mess of Enterprise's final episode. It does this by telling the story in a similar way to the episode - as a simulation of what occurred from a future perspective - but places little focus on this aspect, instead using it as the jumping off point to pretty much contradict These Are The Voyages and make that episode easier to take (as now we're told the chain of events were fabricated by Starfleet). It also sets up a few things we were looking forward to in the series, such as the eventual formation of the Federation and the Romulan War; which had been hotly debated as to whether Enterprise would or should incorporate this story if the show had it got another season or three.

To fully enjoy this novel and its various references, I went back and watched a good deal of season 4 of Enterprise again so it was fresh in my memory. While not necessary, I would definitely recommend that to get the most out of the story, you should be familiar with Babel One/United/The Aenar, Demons/Terra Prime and These Are The Voyages... (trust me, it's worth it in the long run!).

What this novel excels at is getting the characters right, a task that the authors proved they could handle with Last Full Measure, which is important considering our heroes are now entirely in the hands of the authors. I also particularly enjoyed the scenes that were lifted directly from TATV, but ever so slightly different to fit in with what actually happened, and still manages to keep it believable and logical. The book, although not focusing on any one character in particular, does plant the seeds to see some advancement of the lesser used characters, such as Hoshi, Reed and Mayweather, and gives a welcome amount of time in the spotlight to Shran and even Admiral Valdore, as well as hinting that there are at least two races trying to breach warp seven. Picking up from the threads it laid down in Last Full Measure, it starts to send the over-arcing story of the relaunch on its way towards the Romulan War as well as wrapping up or expanding some lingering plot points of season 4.

One part of the book I liked in particular was a scene between Jake and Nog, which involved them basically tearing These Are The Voyages to shreds with its various inaccuracies and nonsensical setup. Just why exactly had no-one been promoted after 10 years' service? And how DID that ship capable of only warp two catch up to Enterprise, which was racing away at warp five?!

I have only two minor complaints of the book, which don't detract from the book in any major way, but I feel are worth mentioning. One is there was no mention of Commander Kelby in this book; who you would assume would be back in contention for position of Chief Engineer. And the second is even after the amount of rabid foaming the fans did over Riker ending the holodeck programme before we heard Archer's speech, pretty much the same thing happened here. A rather emotional scene takes place instead, so I suppose I'll let it slide!

In conclusion, this book is excellent and is worthy of carrying on the Enterprise name. The pace and feel of the story are reminiscent of the structure season 4 took, so it's not hard to feel like this is a novelisation of a similar arc had the show continued. My congratulations to the authors, and I look forward to diving straight into Kobayashi Maru!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good That Men Do (Star Trek: Enterprise), 13 Aug 2010
When i bought the book i wasn't sure about it ut now that i have read the book it has made some things clear. i always wondered after watching the episode (These are the voyages) why Trip had to die. i really enjoyed reading about the Romulan threat and how Trip and T'Pol sort of grow closer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Romulans are going to attack Coridan.", 3 Sep 2008
By 
TK-1308 - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Pocket Books continue their series of novels based on Star Trek Enterprise with The Good That Men Do by Michael A. Martin and Andy Mangels. Any fan of the show was undoubtedly disgusted with the treatment that the series received and the absolutely crass way they ended it with the now infamous `These Are The Voyages...' but this book not only continues the story but also gives a beautifully backhanded slap to Rick Berman and the network executives who cancelled the series when it was doing so well.
The story takes place in two time frames. The first is from the perspective of and older Jake Sisko and Nog. The latter discovers some newly declassified files which seem to be incongruous with historical entries and, knowing that Jake loves a good mystery, the two friends look at the holoprogram and data of the true events at the end of the NX-01's mission.
The bulk of the book is set in early 2155 (just after the episode Terra Prime) and the looming possibility of an Earth / Romulan war comes ever closer as Starfleet Intelligence receive data that the Romulans are developing a new warp 7 drive system.
When Orions raid Andoria for more Aenar, Shran enlists the help of Archer to track down the Aenar, including Jhamel (seen in the mid forth season trilogy), before they are sold. Shran believes that they will be sold to the Romulans to pilot more of their telepresence drone ships.
With the Coalition Compact, the forerunner to the UFP, member signing only three weeks away, Starfleet orders the Enterprise back to Earth for the ceremony, despite the situation. Archer is torn between duty and loyalty and only Trip's idea of using Malcolm's contact in `The Bureau' (Section 31) to assist them leads into a dark and shadowy conspiracy that was hidden by Starfleet for over 300 years.
This novel is a perfect example of Star Trek fiction at its best. The writers take you back into the Enterprise universe and weave a story that is just so cleverly thought out and makes some great links to other events in the Star Trek chronology - it leaves you wanting more. This story could easily have been covered as two trilogies in the show and would've paved the way for an excellent 5th season.
The use of characters is flawless and the expanding cast of aliens like Shran, Jhamel and Valdore make it seem more real. The story covers many locations which give you a real sense of the Enterprise era universe.
So, for any Enterprise or Star Trek fan who was sad to see the show go, read this book and enjoy the adventure and know that this saga can rightfully say that "These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise....."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a great book, 6 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star Trek: Enterprise: The Good That Men Do (Kindle Edition)
For all the Star Trek-Enterprise fans, including myself, that over the years since the disgraceful ending of the series for no good reason by the television networks comes a book written so well by the authors that I felt as if I was actually watching an episode.
Every character comes to life and is true to their depiction on television. At last, a believable ending to the Enterprise saga worthy of being an episode in its own right. This book really needs to be filmed as the true ending. It would please the fans immeasurably and give closure for an excellent television series that ended on a bum note, for want of a better expression.
This book stands alone in its own right and although there are follow up books that continue with the Romulan war and further adventures of Captain Archer and his crew I feel that a true ending has occurred here and the follow on books are a new chapter to the Star Trek saga. I look forward to reading them too.
To get a real feel of this book I believe it useful to watch the last few episodes of Star Trek-Enterprise again before reading. It all then makes sense.
My congratulations to the authors of this book for some excellent writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Completes the end of the series, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Nancy Keranen (Puebla, Puebla Mexico) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star Trek: Enterprise: The Good That Men Do (Kindle Edition)
The best thing about this book is that it finalizes the rather unsatisfactory ending to the Enterprise series. There are a lot of references / links to the final season which i think were helpful since i hadn't watched Ent for a year or so. The characters were very true to the series characters. The plot was believable. It was overall very good entertainment. I'd recommend it especially if you're an Enterprise fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The First Relaunch Novel Of Star Trek Enterprise., 14 April 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "A Likely Lad" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has the destinction of being the first of the relaunch novels of Star Trek Enterprise. The idea behind this stems from the fans general dissatisfaction with the final episode on TV, which effectively was a Next Generation episode that relegated the Enterprise crew members to being holodeck characters in a program being run by Commander Riker.

The major bone of contention was the death of Commander Tucker, which served no purpose whatsoever and seemed to have been put there just to beef the episode up a bit.

This novel sets the groundwork for a 'conspiracy-type' coverup that states that Tucker's death was faked in order for him to engage in clandestine operations against the Romulans.

Pocket Books are very good at providing continuations to all the Star Trek series, books such as Star Trek Titan for instance continue the adventures of Captain Riker, Star Trek Vanguard is a series of novels set during Captain Kirk's time, the Deep Space Nine 'season 8' books are some of the very best stories ever published under the Star Trek imprint.

These relaunch or continuation novels are much more interesting than the standard novels that take place within the narrative of the various series, the writers are given freedom to develop their own characters and can take liberties with the regular characters because there are no further episodes to contradict what has seen print. A novel taking place within a series must always press the reset button and leave the situation as it was at the start of the book. In these continuation books Captain Picard or any other major character could theoretically be killed off and that is the pulling power of these novels, the fact that anything can happen and it is not played safe.

I don't want to go into plot details of this book for fear of spoilers, but it is a very fine and intelligent read and sets up the future of Star Trek Enterprise stories which should go some way to answering some of the questions that fans have about Star Trek before Kirk's time, such as the Earth/Romulan war, the founding of the Federation etc etc, all the events what would have been covered by the TV show had those idiots at Paramount Pictures not cancelled it, this is effectively season 5 of Enterprise.

The novel also has the selling point of being written by two of the very best authors of recent Star Trek novels and is a worthy continuation to Enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a must for star trek enterprise fans, 16 Mar 2014
By 
Mr. M. F. TAYLOR "Mark Taylor" (Brixham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star Trek: Enterprise: The Good That Men Do (Kindle Edition)
this book ties-up the lose ends far better than the last TV episode "These are the voyages". It's made me want read more about commander tucker's adventures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed the story but the language was clichéd in parts, 13 Aug 2013
By 
Sarah-Emily (Aberdeen, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Star Trek: Enterprise: The Good That Men Do (Kindle Edition)
I loved the TV series, and I was rather sad when they bungled into a Season 4 into I-woke-up-and-it-was-all-a-holladeck-program ending. This was my first, and only foray into paid-fanfiction/extended-universe and yes, to my detriment, it was the anonymity of the kindle that bought me here. The problem I had was that it wasn't as enjoyable as some of the fan-authored works that are available for free. Not that it was bad, it is worth a solid three-stars, but I was expecting a lot from it.

The story centres around my biggest teenage-crush Charles Tucker III and my favourite Star Trek Morally Ambiguous Spy-organisation Section 31. I loved the combination, and I enjoyed the plot. The new characters were interesting enough and there were a good series of plot-swerves, daring-dos, and hare-whisker escapes.

However, if someone feels like they are making a deal with the devil that badly then they should probably be on Supernatural not Enterprise. Over-used, oft repeated, clichés and some da-dum *exposition* moments brought it down. I had fun and maybe you will too. After-all the source material [in novel format] wouldn't exactly going to win the booker prize.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice to have a beginning, 6 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Previous Enterprise books show where Trip ended up but not how. This fills in the blanks & provides context to things we've already read!! More please, especially on Section 31
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Men could have done better!!!, 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a huge fan of Enterprise (and now that we only have Star Trek repeats on TV) I bought this book as I really wanted Enterprise to continue. I felt it missed its stride midway but was really back on form when it was pulled. I was a little disappointed with this book for many reasons; I found the story around Trip totally unconvincing (much as I would have liked him to live) and can't believe T'Pol was kept out of the loop for so long. Nonetheless, it wasn't such a bad read and I am now about to start the follow up. Please, please, just bring the TV show back!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews