Customer Reviews


490 Reviews
5 star:
 (155)
4 star:
 (102)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (123)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


465 of 477 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reduced functions, but fantastic SatNav
TomTom have been market leaders in simplicity and accuracy of navigation for many years now, and I have been a loyal follower having used several models. The new 1000 / 1005 series (1005 simply has a bigger screen), is another step forward in the device - slim, attractive and so easy to use. However, there have been a number of criticisms of these models as TomTom seem to...
Published on 6 Nov 2010 by A. Kirk

versus
521 of 532 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Flawed Sofware
I deliberated for a long time before taking the plunge. The decision was between this TomTom and the traffic version of the Garmin Nuvi. I decided on the TomTom, as magazine reviews said that the TomTom had a more comprehensive live traffic reporting service. Apparently the Garmin's traffic covers motorways and major roads only and as the traffic facility was the major...
Published on 7 Feb 2011 by K. Brookes


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

521 of 532 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but Flawed Sofware, 7 Feb 2011
By 
K. Brookes (East Grinstead, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: TomTom GO LIVE 1000 4.3" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
I deliberated for a long time before taking the plunge. The decision was between this TomTom and the traffic version of the Garmin Nuvi. I decided on the TomTom, as magazine reviews said that the TomTom had a more comprehensive live traffic reporting service. Apparently the Garmin's traffic covers motorways and major roads only and as the traffic facility was the major reason for upgrading from my existing original TomTom satnav, TomTom it was.

Out of the box, the bigger and clearer screen is a great improvement over my original TomTom.

However, setting up the device started to show why this model has been heavily criticised elsewhere. I put in my address to define Home to the device. Apparently number 3 in my street does not exist, neither does number 1 or 5. This is strange since my earlier TomTom recognised my address correctly. Never mind, I will use the facility to put my current location as my Home address. Problem solved.

I next put in my eldest daughter's address as a favourite. Neither the post code nor the street was recognised by the device. I was not entirely surprised by this, as this post code and address has only been in existence for 18 months, because it is a new housing development. So much for TomTom's claim that the maps and data are up to date.

My step-mother's address was also a problem. The post code was there but her road was not. This is no newly built estate, but one that has been in existence for 35 years. Not impressed TomTom.

I have used the device for about 6 weeks and am generally happy with the basic functionality. The lane guidance on motorways is a good feature, as is the integrated Bluetooth facility for hands free mobile phones. It connected easily to my Blackberry and my wife's Nokia. The clarity of the connection is good, although the volume could be louder for my taste. I have not used the numerous other features of the satnav and probably never will.

The traffic facility is nicely executed with a clear warnings of a delay on your chosen route. It then gives you a choice of changing to a quicker route or staying on the same one. If the delay does not affect the fastest route you are told clearly. All this is good.

My experience of the traffic facility has me slightly worried, however. On the 5 or 6 occasions that a warning has been given, I have stuck to the original route. On every occasion, as I have approached the traffic delay, the warning disappears and the road is indeed clear of any hold ups. Either I am very lucky, or these delay warnings are significantly out of date. I guess only TomTom knows the answer to that.

Another glitch I have noticed is that when turning onto a motorway or a major road, the message to travel towards xxx is often wrong (but not always). For example, "Take the motorway towards Gatwick" really should be "Take the motorway heading away from Gatwick".

My earlier TomTom did not have the IQ routes facility, but the new device does, and does indeed chose different routes based on the time of day. All well and good. But I have my doubts about its choice of routing. On one route that I travel regularly, it suggested going further towards Croydon rather than my usual route of staying on the M25 and taking the next exit. My experience of 20 years commuting to Croydon told me that would be a bad idea, even at 7.30 am. I ignored the suggestion and travelled cleanly without any hold ups to my destination. Hmmm. I am confident my route was quicker. My old TomTom agrees with me.

Perhaps I am being too picky but I have lost a lot of confidence in its ability to find the fastest route. If you have no idea of where you are, then TomTom will get you there, but not necessarily on the fastest route.

Sorry to finish on another moan, but the PC software MyTomTom for managing the device is just awful. Again this did not surprise me, as the same was true 4 years ago when I got my first TomTom. I have spent 30 years in IT and reckon I know my way around a PC, but this software had me baffled. I eventually got it installed and updated to the latest version, but it was a long fight. The efforts were pointless, of course, because the software tells you that your device is all up-to-date and no updates are available. This is a clever piece of software because it tells you that your device is up to date before the device is even connected. Magic.

All in all, a good product trying to get out of the shoddy software that supports it. Pull your socks up TomTom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


465 of 477 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reduced functions, but fantastic SatNav, 6 Nov 2010
By 
A. Kirk (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
TomTom have been market leaders in simplicity and accuracy of navigation for many years now, and I have been a loyal follower having used several models. The new 1000 / 1005 series (1005 simply has a bigger screen), is another step forward in the device - slim, attractive and so easy to use. However, there have been a number of criticisms of these models as TomTom seem to be reducing functionality rather than increasing it - so, for example, you won't yet find the ability to add your own POIs, btu the company says that is coming.

What you have here though is a continued refinement of the core functionality of the device - the ability to go from A to B simply, easily, with the minimal hassle and without getting lost, ending up in a dead end, or the wrong side of the country! The TomTom 1005 does that superbly. The box arrived just before I had to make a trip to Shropshire, via the M5 / M6 junction, the satnav was out of the box, in the car, fired up and ready to go within minutes - it is very intuitive. It comes with a year of 'live' services free (payment after that) and they are very good - accurately predicting each set of road works / traffic jams.

The new mount is also very good - drop the satnav on it and magnets pull it into place - when you are ready to go, just pull it off...

So, yes, there is some reduction in what it can do - if you want your satnav to act as a multi-functional, do everything in the car type of device, then perhaps one of the slightly older models will be more suitable, or await a later stage in the life of this model, however if you want the latest iteration and just need to get from A to B then it is very good - 4 stars only because it seems strange for devices to go backwards in functionality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 132 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointed with the Go Live 1000, 13 May 2011
I bought this Tomtom and for a week it work great. Then I did the updates on it and lost all the speed camera data.
Spoke to Tomtom support and they were aware of the problem, but as to date have no fix for it. My advice is if you buy any of the Tomtom Live series, is not to do any updates till the software problems have been resolved. Its now been a month and I'm still waiting for a software fix. Its worth reading the Tomtom forum if you're thinking of buying one,that will help you reach a decision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


146 of 156 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Another nail, 15 Nov 2010
Still requires updates to produce functionality available on 910

However, the interface has improved a bit. And the traffic is better displayed. I would not have upgraded if my previous TomTom 910 hadn't died.

New browser based access from PC is far worse than the old TomTom Home. In fact it is non existent.

To my surprise there are several features that do not work yet on the Go Live 1000

When you finally get it to work the browser proudly tells you
! MyTomTom is the easiest way to keep your TomTom device up to date. MyTomTom offers you:
! * Latest Map Guarantee: if a newer map becomes available for your device within 90 days of first use, you can download a free map here.
! * Free software updates: you know you have the best navigation possible
!Coming soon:
! * Map Update Service, Speed camera locations, Funny voices, Personalised POI's, Map Share changes and much more.
! New content and capabilities are being added all the time - Visit MyTomTom often, so you can see the latest. When you register, we will keep you updated on any new upgrades and how they help you.

Note the coming soon! I have been waiting months.

Another location says
!Updating fixed speed cameras is currently not possible in MyTomTom for the following navigation devices:
! GO LIVE 1000, GO 1000, Via 110, Via 120, Via 125
! We are working hard to offer this as soon as possible.

!Downloading and installing maps
!Buying new maps is currently not possible for the following navigation devices:
!GO LIVE 1000, GO 1000, Via 110, Via 120, Via 125
!We are working hard to offer this as soon as possible.

I think this is miss-selling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very unreliable unit, 20 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: TomTom GO LIVE 1000 4.3" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps (Electronics)
I've now had one of these for 18 months and it's the 3rd Tom Tom Satnav I have owned. It is awful.......

Aside from the mandatory software update (when it just stopped working one day mid-journey), after a years worth of light use the battery started to fail to the point where it would only survive a few seconds away from external power.

A new battery was fitted at not inconsiderable expense and just a few months later this started to fade as well. It seems the unit just kills batteries.

Connection to Live services has now also become erratic and the if you reset the unit to try and reconnect it's a lottery as to if it will turn on again.

An utter disaster and even worse than the unit it replaced.

Incidentally, my original Tom Tom from 2005 still works faultlessly. No new battery, nothing.

Perhaps it's just my unit? Well no, my Father got one at the same time and his has totally bricked itself. Won't turn on, computer won't recognise it, it has completely failed.

Utter rubbish. I don't know what Tom Tom are playing at but this kind of money for a device that fails just outside its warranty period is disgusting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good machine but BEWARE, 7 Mar 2013
By 
D. Buttery "starman" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've had a few Tom Tom's over the year and this one is in some ways a backward step (many functions that make Tom Toms fun, Voices, Map Share user POI's) are missing at this stage, but are apparently in the pipeline.
The POI's inbuilt seem better than my old 750, likewise the mount is fine in the car (make sure you use the cable and plug that comes with the device, as mine won't charge when using a different USB plug).

The way the new 'my Tom Tom' works is all data is held online and sent to your unit via the web, this is good in the sense that you can swap maps (but does take ages to do so) rather than have them all on your device.

BUT BEWARE THE BIGGEST FAULT IS: IF you have Bullguard or other "very good Anti Virus software" quote Tom Tom technical support, when you connect the device to your PC, it will remove existing map files ready to update, but then you AV software will prevent any updates happening as the "look like Viruses" again quote TT technical support. The only way I could update the maps, was to use a PC with NO AV software on it! Also the magnetic attachment is very easy to disconnect by touching the device when not in the car cradle.

Personally I await upgrade to the level of previous funcionality, and a sort out of how maps update as it's stupid to write files that look like viruses, without a workround.

I like the unit, but would suggest anyone who needs a new device waits before buying this, which at £300 is expensive for what in all but name is a BETA test machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


84 of 91 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What are tom-tom up to?, 4 Feb 2011
By 
Cat (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I bought this as a replacement for my GO720 which was a great sat nav. I like the new mount and the touch screen but..... nothing else! I can't add my own poi, which was a great bonus with the 720, neither can I upload any updates. So is this a plan for built in obsolescence? When you need a new map or to update features you have to spend another £200? I'm really cross that I wasted my money on this - promises on the Tomtom website for many months now saying that they are working hard to fix things just don't ring true - didn't they actually test whether the 1000 worked before selling them? What were they playing at? I've been a loyal Tomtom customer for many years but unless they fix this really fast they have lost a customer!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Would avoid in future, 30 Jan 2012
By 
I also own a GO940 that had to be returned for repair as the SIM was faulty. The unit had to be returned to the Netherlands. As my experience with the software reliability had been far from stable I decided to buy the new 1005.

first impression was that there had been some immediate cost cutting with the removal of the cradle for connection to my PC. In addition there is only one cable for both car and pc and a rather clumsy solution whereby you have to push the connector through the in car cradle to connect to the unit.

The screen is much improved in terms of visibility and touch screen.

TomTom Home software used for donwloading updates has now been replaced with MyTomTom software. If you have two units this does not make for a happy coexistence with logging in. Each unit must also have a seperate account so do not try and associate two units with the same account. Easy done as the messages are at best ambiguous.Plenty of tickets to resolve!

The 1005 no longer has MP3 player, FM Transmitter which I had found useful. You cannot (at the moment) backup and restore which you can on models using the old TomTom Home so any issues requires that you lose all your personal info.

The Trip Advisor is a very small plus although I didnt use that much.

The bluetooth is terrible with constant disconnects and crashing the unit and I am not alone in suffering lots of issues despite my phone being on the accepted list. Again worked fine with my 940.

The software is unreliable and interface although average has not been improved.

The support is (and always has been) very poor indeed.

In short this unit is the product of a cost cutting effort. I have read TomTom are now getting out of this market to focus Car manufacturer fitted units and Smart phone apps.

I have now returned for a refund as am getting nowhere with the bluetooth problem and I have notes other peoples frustration with the unit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slightly Cheesed Off, 24 Jan 2012
Great product until you decide to update the maps....there's not enough memory (you get 8GB) to hold all the larger updated map files. The response from tomtom support is to swap maps in and out from my PC, this is what I wanted to avoid by buying this product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great bit of kit but you need to be aware, 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The 1005 world is first class but yet again TomTom shoot themselves in the foot through lack of memory capacity built into the device.

With all the world maps loaded the device is full so if a bigger map comes along then there is nowhere to put it.

Solution is to buy a 1005 with a micro sd slot and put a 16gb card in it. you can then load some maps on the card and it frees up valuable space on the device for bigger updates.

live services work ok and I like the auto download of safety cameras.

The 'My Tom Tom' application is useless and not a patch on 'Tom Tom Home'.
Should be updated to match the flexibility of TT Home.

TomTom GO LIVE 1005 5" Sat Nav with World Maps (66 Countries)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 249 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

TomTom GO LIVE 1000 4.3" Sat Nav with UK and Ireland Maps
Used & New from: £189.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews