Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I initially thought....
We have several birdseed feeders in the garden and have regular visits from most of the tits ( great , blue , longtailed)and finches( green and bull) and the odd woodpecker. I had noted goldfinches on a neighbours teazels so I bought some nyjer seed but found them way too small for conventional feeders and do not work if simply mixed with conventional seed mixes...
Published on 9 Jun. 2012 by Doccox

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not brilliant
As a Goldfinch feeder it's OK but not as good as the one it replaced, my previous one had more little holes with a perch half way up giving Goldfinches more choice (Goldfinches seem the most fussy of common garden birds). Feeder is just OK for the money but next time I would try to find something a bit better.
Published 15 months ago by Sailorjohn


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than I initially thought...., 9 Jun. 2012
By 
Doccox "ian_cox9" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
We have several birdseed feeders in the garden and have regular visits from most of the tits ( great , blue , longtailed)and finches( green and bull) and the odd woodpecker. I had noted goldfinches on a neighbours teazels so I bought some nyjer seed but found them way too small for conventional feeders and do not work if simply mixed with conventional seed mixes.

Quick search found the solution . The Gardman feeder arrived promptly from Amazon . Initial impressions however were that it is very "plasticky" and lightweight.

However the goldfinches ( a pair) have been on it daily for the last week since they discovered it ( ca 2days) - even in recent ( as or 8/6/2012) the gale force winds which were making the feeders swing out horizontally.

Evidently they prefer the narrow seed aperture which also (mostly) stops the any seed spilling out .
The unit loads and seals easily ( it appears to be remarkably waterproof) and its small size seems to make is squirrel proof ( they fall off).

Definitley recommended! ( Good price too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 1 Jan. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
Cheap (cheep?) and cheerful, but it has worked! Had a goldfinch within a few days and the chaffinches have started to use it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nyger feeder that works!, 13 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
Once the Goldfinches discovered it they have been back every day. We have three that visit regularly. A major plus is that the holes are big enough for the birds to get the seeds but not so big the seed falls out easily. It is easy to fill. I was a bit worried that plastic would break easily but it is proving robust so far and is much better quality than other feeders I have bought. It is a great delight to have Goldfinches in the garden now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK but not brilliant, 4 April 2014
By 
Sailorjohn (Milton Keynes UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
As a Goldfinch feeder it's OK but not as good as the one it replaced, my previous one had more little holes with a perch half way up giving Goldfinches more choice (Goldfinches seem the most fussy of common garden birds). Feeder is just OK for the money but next time I would try to find something a bit better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good value, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
Very good product. This is the second one I have bought; one of the perches broke off on the first. If Gardman could make it a bit stronger it would be perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to refill, robust and the birds love it, 29 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a really good, inexpensive nyger seed feeder. I can now sit in my dining room watching streams of gold finches all day long
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Our goldfinches have ignored it., 9 Sept. 2014
By 
Prof TBun (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
I have no idea why, but our goldfinches have ignored this feeder all year. By contrast they have been more than happy to eat shelled sunflower seeds from different feeders.

I have used a similar style feeder for nyger seed in previous years and the goldfinches have been happy with it, so I don;t think it would be fair to give less than half marks for this one. I would stress though that shelled sunflower seeds are popular with all birds, which does give this kind of niche feeder more limitted value, than first appears.

Also note that if you haven't seen or heard goldfinches near your garden, that you are highly unlikely to attract them by putting food out. Goldfinches chatter delightfully whilst flying erratically in pairs, which is often the easiest way to know that they are about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
Brilliant.. within 48 hours we had Goldfinches munching away at the Nyger seed. Every morning, mid day and evening... beautiful. Who tells the birds it is there? Good product, easy to fill, well made. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Product good, delivery average., 12 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a good value basic feeder, bought as an identical replacement for one which survived for about thirteen months before being damaged in the recent gales, and one which appears popular with Goldfinches in particular. Unfortunately it took six days to arrive, not good by today's standards and wasn't very well packaged. Also surprised to receive enclosed documentation suggesting they only wanted 5 star feedback. I'm sure we all feel like that but feedback is just what it says and I wish some of these companies would realise that good feedback can't be bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great birdfeeder, 17 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder (Garden & Outdoors)
a really good feeder lovely to see more finches in the garden i would definitely purchase again if ever need to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gardman Flip Top Nyger Seed Feeder
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews