Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Supreme
This album is superlative, I bought it to have playing in the background whilst working on my pc.It covers many of the jazz greats from the last 50 years, Basie, Brubeck ,Miles Davis, Ella,Dinah Washington, just to mention a few,I have many of the original albums these songs were taken from, and the remastering is excellent, and at this price is very good value for...
Published on 6 Jan. 2011 by Ashizuru

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 star not 5
This is a very reasonable price for a standard jazz compilation, with some nicely unusual items - I already had some but felt that it was still a very good value download. If you are the sort of person who perhaps is not familiar with the jazz canon but want a gentle introduction then this is for you but... it claims to be remastered and on a couple of the tracks whoever...
Published 15 months ago by Paulinderwick

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jazz Supreme, 6 Jan. 2011
By 
Ashizuru (Spalding Lincolnshire UK>) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
This album is superlative, I bought it to have playing in the background whilst working on my pc.It covers many of the jazz greats from the last 50 years, Basie, Brubeck ,Miles Davis, Ella,Dinah Washington, just to mention a few,I have many of the original albums these songs were taken from, and the remastering is excellent, and at this price is very good value for money.
I thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 40 Tracks of Pure Joy!, 11 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
This has to be one of the very best Jazz compilations of all time. If anybody likes Jazz, they cannot fail to enjoy the whole 40 tracks on this album. It kicks off with a fantastic version of 'Every day I Have the Blues' with Count Basie and Joe Williams, it has Hoagy Carmichael singing his own composition Georgia and I adore the the instrumentals from the likes of Jimmy Smith, Mancini and the classic Brubeck. The Sound quality is well above average and it seems it warrants the HD Re Mastered Tag, I bought this a week ago and have not stopped playing it. It is one of those rare Albums where I love every track. If anyone likes good music you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of Jazz, 19 Sept. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
Great album great collection.
Every track is a classic,I bought this as a download.
Just the sort of music to have on allday in the back ground.
A real must for Jazz fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3 star not 5, 25 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
This is a very reasonable price for a standard jazz compilation, with some nicely unusual items - I already had some but felt that it was still a very good value download. If you are the sort of person who perhaps is not familiar with the jazz canon but want a gentle introduction then this is for you but... it claims to be remastered and on a couple of the tracks whoever did the mastering has not done a very good job for my ears. Mastering is a process where the original audio files are prepared to be presented together, whether on a CD, a Vinyl album or, as here, as an MP3 download. It should raise every track to a similar relative volume so you don't have to continually adjust the volume but, most importantly, it addresses the dynamics of the soundfiles themselves and some of these - track 2 'Moanin' by Art Blakey is present on a number of compilations and from Blue Note, the original label, it sounds pristine, here it sounds - distorted and harsh. If you are listening as background maybe it doesn't matter much but if you want to listen on a decentish system you might feel a bit let down. I know its an MP3 and not a CD or Vinyl album but I have heard, and possess, many better MP3s than this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars proper music, 10 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
Great value, Quality and selection ,brilliant. nice to hear good music for a change. If you like big bands,
and proper singers ,this is a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Treat, 19 May 2014
By 
Mr. R. D. Watchus (Charente, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
For Jazz lovers as well as big band, you will like this reasonable priced session. A good variety of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally cool for a hot Summer!, 17 Jun. 2014
By 
Sally (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
What a great selection of tracks on this album. I have hundreds of Jazz albums but this selection is exactly what it says on the cover, a totally cool set of hot Jazz - don't hesitate - buy it - and it's such good value too. There are so many great names on here it's impossible to mention them all, but there is a nice balance of smoky lady singers with more up-tempo instrumentals. Perfect!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very good value, 2 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
I have a Sonos system so can stream music from my home server to speakers around the home. If you put a compilation like this on then you have an instant playlist full of great music that will last for half a day. Collections like this make great quality music available to everyone, there really is no reason to listen to rubbish is there?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Memories !, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
If you love Jazz (as it should be!) then this collection of Evergreens will give you loads of pleasure. All the Greats are here but sadly most are no longer with us ,but there music lives on . So with headphones on, sit back, relax, and enjoy a great and very affordable Jazz Collection. jduk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 1 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jazz On A Summers Day - HD Remastered 2010 (MP3 Download)
The original film is unforgetable and this CD whilst not music from the film is a worthy companion and being remastered adds to the pleasure covering a broad spctrum of jazz. It shows that if the music is good it is possible to enjoy a wide range of jazz music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Very Best of Chilled Jazz - Smooth Jazz Classics from Greatest Lounge Legends (Deluxe Dinner Party Edition)
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3)   
Buy new£6.49
Available for download now

Jazz 50 Greatest Hits - Original Sound
3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16)   
Buy new£3.49
Available for download now

Best of Jazz Saxophone - 50 Songs
3.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10)   
Buy new£3.49
Available for download now