Customer Reviews


109 Reviews
5 star:
 (89)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Cure's Zenith
Looking back at this album ten years on, it is in my opinion the Cure's finest moment. Never again did they scale the hights of beauty and sorrow so masterfully over the course of a whole album. Subsequent albums had their moments (eg. Trust on the Wish album), but none could match the sustained feeling of this masterpiece. From the opening crash of the incredibly...
Published on 25 Nov. 2000

versus
19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The sound has been damaged, not improved
It always grates on me when all a person has to do is see the word "remastered" and they immediately spew out the blind praise that it "sounds amazing". In most cases, that's a very incorrect statement. The two recent Duran Duran reissues are some of the worst I've heard, (and notice the difference between reviews of those CD's on Amazon's UK site compared to here)...
Published on 14 July 2010 by Scott Davies


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars need to have this to appreciate how truly brilliant they are, 14 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration [Remastered] (Audio CD)
Top five Cure album, need to have this to appreciate how truly brilliant they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's the late 80s, and it's my gloomy student flat all over again. Magnificent., 27 Jan. 2015
By 
Uncle Arooga (St Leonards-On-Sea) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
It's the late 80s, and it's my gloomy student flat all over again. Magnificent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration [Remastered] (Audio CD)
excellent !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars it must be my age!, 30 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Sorry to be so out of step with the majority of reviews for this album but as someone who's been listening to them from pretty much the start i just don't get it with this album. Its fine, its ok but it IS NOT great. I agree with one of the other reviewrs on here who suspects the positive reviews come mainly from people who got into the cure with this album. At the time the cure had reached super stadium size along with Depeche Mode and so they were at a commercial peak but they were not at a creative one! The songs all sound like they were worked out in the rehersal room with most of them made up of a repetitive riff with a keyboard melody line over the top. I think it appeals to the doom merchants as you can imagine being a spotty student listening to it in your darkened bedroom etc. Its not a bad album and there are some good moments, mainly towards the end of the album but seriously none of the songs would make it into my top 10 cure tracks. The songs individually are just not that strong-they're ok. The new release is a nice package and its worth buying especially if you like Faith, Pornography and the later Bloodflowers but i think all 3 of those albums are stronger song by song than Disintegration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars touches you, 25 Feb. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
depends when you grew up but this album is in my all time top ten. listen too it and i hope you can understand what i mean
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Cure album, 25 Oct. 2012
This is the best of the Cure's albums and one of the best albums ever. Beautiful melancholy. The Same Deep Water As You as one of the most moving songs of all time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration [Remastered] (Audio CD)
Great album, great songs all good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 31 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration [Remastered] (Audio CD)
One of the greatest Cure Albums
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST HAVE CLASSIC...THE GREATEST ALBUM IN THE WORLD, etc.., 8 Sept. 2003
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
This is the Cure at their monumental peak. Released in 1989 it further proved the Cure were an international success story on many levels. The Cure wrote the soundtrack for at least two generations and are still as influenial today as on the day this classic album was released. Other recommendations are 1982's Pornography, 1987's Kiss Me Kiss Me Kiss Me, 1981's Faith, 1980's Seventeen Seconds, 85's Head On The Door, I could go on. Disintegration is a must have classic. Look out for the re-master series of all their studio albums released in 2004.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Disintegration (Audio CD)
Best delivery. Best prices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Disintegration [Remastered]
Disintegration [Remastered] by The Cure (Audio CD - 2010)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews