Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

1.9 out of 5 stars24
1.9 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£5.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2006
I bought this album believing it to be a budget compilation of Badfinger's hits. Had I have read the reviewers comments below beforehand, I would have left it well alone!
This album is a complete rip-off. It is NOT the original recordings, but re-recordings done in the 80's that are appalling compared to the originals.
Avoid this altogether. Instead get the 'Very Best of Badfinger' compilation, released by Apple in 2000, which contains the original and best versions of these songs.
22 comments|63 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2004
The reason the other reviewer of this album finds the drums "too forward in the mix" and "almost an 80s sound" is that he has been deceived into buying an album that is not exactly by Badfinger. This Hallmark collection (and several other cut-price 'best of' CDs) was recorded by just one member of Badfinger -- Joey Molland -- assisted by unknown and unnamed session musicians, sometime in the 1980s or 1990s. It attempts earnestly to duplicate the arrangements, playing and vocals of the original Badfinger tracks but was done on the cheap and, inevitably, there is a certain uniformity and soullessness about the results. It's by no means a bad album and can be interesting for comparison with the originals, but should not be confused with them. Joey Molland's Badfinger still tours today and, by all accounts, is an enjoyable nostalgia experience. More honesty about what his 'Badfinger' albums consist of wouldn't go amiss, though.
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2007
This is certainly not Badfinger. Joey Molland gives versions of the hits and a few of his own Badfinger songs. None of these versions come anywhere near the originals in quality. It's really hard to say anything positive about these recordings.

Buy the original albums instead!!
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2007
Funny that the cover highlights the band's true superstar, Pete Ham (RIP). Take away the Ham & Evans songs and you get half of a B-side single...

The guy who recorded this has admitted that he got paid handsomely for this. Kinda like a street walker on the corner.

A good example of what the weak link in the band does when he's the sole survivor, riding the coattails of the dead.

Do not buy. At any cost!
11 comment|36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2008
This album claims to be Badfinger but is actually Joey Molland's Badfinger. On no part of the packaging does it include the phrase tracks re-recorded by one or more members of the original group. The cover picture includes Pete Ham and Tom Evans who have no input into this CD and as such this is a gross misrepresentation. I intend to get my money back and have reported this to trading standards.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
Yeah great!So who's fooling who?Purchased this Cd cos'it was going cheap.Did'nt have anything by Badfinger in my music collection,so i thought this was a real bargain.More fool me.Only did i realise after i had bought it that it was'nt the original recordings.Yet another one of those cheap nasty bargain basement labels re-recorded by one or more of the original artists.What a con.This one will be going into my local charity shop dustbin.The moral of the story is,if it sounds too good to be true then it probably is.Buyer beware!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2011
In complete agreement with other reviewers on this one. I bought this from a high street store and actually took it back, its that bad. What makes it worse is that there is nothing on the cover to warn you that its very inferior re-recordings of the songs that sound nothing like the originals. It deserves no stars at all really. Avoid it at all costs!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2010
As other reviews have pointed out, this is not a compilation of Badfinger originals, so why for the love of Pete Ham are Amazon using this album as a track sampler? Surely it would be better to use THE VERY BEST OF BADFINGER which does contain the originals. Nevertheless, a tragic, but magnificent British band.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
I like others on here bought this Cd believing it was a value for money best of. This is not what it is. It is a recording done in the early 80,s and is terrible. spend your money on a true Badfinger cd and enjoy the songs as they were meant to be enjoyed.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2011
Avoid Avoid Avoid. Joey Molland re-recorded this album after thr tragic deaths of two of the main participants (Pete Ham and Tom Evans). The cover does not state this and the photo of the original group from the seventies is misleading at best. Get the original Apple Cds and leave this well alone. As for you Joey How Do you Sleep at Night?
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)