Customer Reviews


89 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Northern soul movie ever
In a field of one that's a rather back-handed compliment but it does sum up my feelings quite well.

Firstly, it's a fast and colourful, funny, evocative and atmospheric portrayal of the youthful Northern soul movement. This instantly makes it much better than watching footage of middle-aged ex-Wiganites dancing at revival events on YouTube. Top marks also to...
Published on 5 Mar 2011 by Simon

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Northern Soul Mmmmm
Typical story line & not as i remember it, after 35 years on the Northern scene. Music not the best, but then that is a matter of opinion. Worth a watch, if just for the original clips that have been used to enhance the realty of the era & scene
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by celticsoul


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Northern soul movie ever, 5 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
In a field of one that's a rather back-handed compliment but it does sum up my feelings quite well.

Firstly, it's a fast and colourful, funny, evocative and atmospheric portrayal of the youthful Northern soul movement. This instantly makes it much better than watching footage of middle-aged ex-Wiganites dancing at revival events on YouTube. Top marks also to Martin Compston and the lovely Felicity Jones for getting those moves down so well.

Secondly, the music is very well chosen - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the soundtrack CD - and I would award more top marks for a pretty authentic recreation the fashions and feel of 1970s Britain.

Unfortunately the lack of a compelling story, coupled with some unfortunate and rather unlikely scenes (such as a 'dance-off' between the two love rivals) somewhat undermines the good work.

The best thing I can say is that, after 80 minutes, you will be smiling and in no doubt whatsoever that the film was made with nothing but genuine affection and good intentions. As a Northern soul fan, that's good enough for me.

N.B. The DVD contains some nice extras for fellow Northern soul fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a brilliant script, but gives a good feel for the music, dancing, and the 70s itself., 17 Jan 2011
By 
S. Campbell "EU Citizen and proud" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
I pre-ordered this back in October ready for its release in January. Just watched it today and thought it was a good film. Fair do's, as other people have said the script and plot-line is nothing original, but at the same time I felt the director Shimmy has made a good job of giving you a feel for the time. For any youngster today would know nothing of cassette players, birmingham/oxford bags, spooner shoes, vests, record shops on corner streets etc. As for the music, it's tremendous! In my opinion you get a real feel for the time with the dance scenes (dance off excluded!). They've done a brilliant job of blending old documentary footage (most of which you can see on youtube) with the film footage and passing it off as the same, which I thought worked very well (compared to others that have tried the same).

As for the comment by the person who wanted a storyline more for his age group (now being in his 50s or whatever) I think you've got to appreciate that this film is not just for people like him that want to reminisce, but also for those who haven't got a clue about this genre and how much it meant to people at that time, like the teenagers of today, hence the 'coming of age' storyline.

At the end of the day, it opened my eyes to what it may have been like at the time (I was only 10 in 1974) and having loved the music since I first heard it, it makes me wish even more that I had been apart of it as it was happening. Enjoy the music, and try if you dare to stop your feet from tapping or from wanting to dance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulboy's about right, 15 Jan 2011
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
Very enjoyable story about what happened to a lot of northern soul people,a bit dissapointing that no mention was made to the Golden torch in tunstall as the film is based in Stoke. The music is excellent and the Dancing is as good as you could get from people who havn't made northen soul a way life. The dance off probably adds a bit of interest but i never saw one at the wheel, torch, or wigan. Watch the film and enjoy the journey from lostboy to soulboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric but flawed, 10 Jan 2011
By 
Nige (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
Overall, this is a very atmospheric film and in my opinion captures the time and the Northern Soul scene very well.
Hoever, the storyline is a little weak and disjointed, making the film episodic rather than a smooth narrative flow.

The performances by most of the leads are good, and the actors have a good go at the Stoke accent but understandably slip quite a bit towards Manchester/Liverpool (to be fair, I'm from Stoke and I'm often taken for a Scouser by southerners!).

On a technical side, the 5.1 soundtrack promised on the DVD was appalling (ie: not properly coded 5.1). The stereo version was much better, especially with a bit of ProLogic II upmixing.

A flawed film, yes, but still the best (only) "Northern Soul" film out there.

With a bigger budget, this could have been absolutely brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soulboy, 5 Jan 2011
By 
Mr. R. Domar (Wolves) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
The plot is about a young man and his pursuit of a young lady. In his obsession he gets sidetracked when he discovers the underground soul music scene that consists of all night music sessions featuring obscure dance music and 100s of people, mostly working class youth in the north of England, enjoying themselves. He gets into the scene quickly with the record collecting, drug taking and learning to dance with the help coming from another girl. This sets up a bit of a love triangle.
The actors do a good job and the film moves along nicely altho at only 80 minutes it's a bit short.
In the past we've seen Northern Soul featured in Blue Juice with about 5 minutes worth. (1975). We've heard Northern Soul in the background in The All Together. (2006), 9 tunes. Finally we get a film about the scene and hear some music too. We see people dancing and enjoying themselves. The filmakers have tried to capture the period and the early days of Wigan Casino and for the most part have done a pretty good job. The clothes look authentic as do the bags and badges. Remember they are attempting to show life in the mid 70s which is 35 years ago give or take.
Some will pick holes in it with the odd errors, although the actual opening hours were between 2-8am, and not 2-6am as stated elsewhere, but quite frankly they do not detract from an overall vibrant film. It's nostalgia for those who went. For everyone else it's a part of English History with a "coming of age" storyline.
Extras on the dvd last about 20 minutes with 4 featurettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spin, Get High and the Dying Fly., 15 Jan 2012
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
Soulboy is directed by Shimmy Marcus and written by Jeff Williams. It stars Martin Compston, Felicity Jones, Alfie Allen, Nichola Burley, Pat Shortt and Craig Parkinson. Music is by Len Arran and photography by Vladimir Trivic.

1974, Stoke-On-Trent, and Joe McCain (Compston) is tiring of his humdrum, repetitive life. Then one day, prompted by his work colleague Brendan (Shortt), Joe finds the gumption to seek a date with pretty hairdresser Jane Rogers (Burley). She opens up a new world to him, a burgeoning music scene in the North of England known as Northern Soul, the epicentre of which is the Casino Club in Wigan. But as Joe begins to find his identity in a blast of all night dancing and friendship, drugs, violence and matters of the heart begin to hover over him like dark clouds waiting to unload.

Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy.

It's best just to say it straight off, this is hardly a film to do Northern Soul justice. The movement itself is forming the backdrop to a very basic, run-of-the-mill, coming of age romantic tale. Which is sad, that the plot is so weak and poorly written, because the music, dancing and period awareness is joyous. But at least its heart is in the right place, as it's always charming and quite often funny before things get serious in the final third; even if a dance off sequence in said final third is unintentionally daft. From the 70s vibe of Stoke-On-Trent, with the terrace houses and the potteries buildings, to the recreation of Wigan's famous Casino Club (it sadly burnt down in 1981), Marcus and his team really have an eye for period milieu (impressive given Marcus is a born and bred Dubliner). Shaggy hair cuts, platform shoes, tank-tops and Brut 33 aftershave, all keep us firmly in the time of setting, while vintage vehicles, although in short supply because of the small budget, also give the film that vital 70s edge.

Tainted Love.

Performances are mixed, but lead lad Compston (Red Road) does a grand job of conveying a 17 year old guy in limbo. With a killer smile and a good helping of dexterity for the dance sequences, he's engaging and provides a characterisation that's easy to get on side with and follow through to the end. Burley (Donkey Punch) is under written in what is meant to be one of the main parts, but this does allow the lovely Felicity Jones (Cemetery Junction) to shine through and bounce of off Compston's energy to great effect. Parkinson (Control) is badly miscast as dance floor bully Alan, while a fledgling romance between Jo Hartley (This is England) and Pat Shortt (Garage) doesn't offer much to the plot, which is a shame since both are more than capable actors. Vladimir Trivic's photography leans more to grime than glitz, which actually serves the film well, sort of paying homage to the working class roots of the main players. The sound track, picked by the likes of Paul Weller, is excellent.

It's not all it can be, mainly because plotting and writing is too weak. But it has great moments of levity and vitality (watching those kids dance is a real treat), to ensure it's enjoyable and never dull. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Took me back to the late 70's, 4 Jun 2011
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
This film was true to life I enjoyed it immensely lots of good tunes and all the dance moves were fab
My only criticism would be that perhaps on the credits rolling with all the names etc that they could play the 3 before 8
Dean Parrish Tobi Legend and Jimmy Ratcliffe

thanks for making this film :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Soul Accent, 26 Jan 2011
By 
M. E. Ash (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
Really surprised how enjoyable this film was. Okay the plot's a bit thin but it's got likable characters played by good actors and lot's of great music - even the Stoke accents aren't bad! All in all it does a good job of recreating 1974 and made me wish I was a bit older back in the day. 9/10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Theres a lot to like !, 5 Jan 2011
By 
fivestarfrankie (chippenham, wiltshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
The period is well evoked and a lot of the sript hits the mark. Like the hero I got into Northern because I fancied a girl way out of my league who went to the Torch and then Wigan. Everyone I know (including me) was a bit of a div the first few times I went but as in the film you either got deeply into the scene or as a tourist you went a couple of times and that was it. Believe me if everyone I've met who claimed to be a Wigan regular had been more than twice then the capacity must have been over 100,000. I'm sure there must have been violence between rival drug dealers but I never saw it and I never saw a fight at any Northern Soul venue back in the day - if you stamped on someones foot they would apologise for being in the way ! The dance off scene was complete and utter crap and the whole scene earlier where Alan warns Joe off his girl (Jane) was hard to believe. The Mod "Ace Face" concept was still going in 74 and a top face would hold on to his girlfriend by being simply very very cool.Quite a good sountrack (except that bloody scooterist favourite "The Snake") and a cracking cover of Magic Carpet Ride. All in all in spite of it's faults a damn good Indy film, well written with some good acting especially from the likeable Compston and Jones and a decent contribution on the subject - better in many ways than Quadrophenia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go For It!!, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: SoulBoy [DVD] (DVD)
After A Long Wait, I Saw This Film In The Cinema. Thoroughly Enjoyed It.
It Is Not A Documentry About Wigan Casino But A Ficticious Story About A Couple Of Lad's Who Discover "The World Of Northern Soul" And Loosley Matches The Experiences, All Of Us Wigan Faithful Soulies Went Through.
The Music Is Fantastic (check out the soundtrack cd)
Will It Win Any Oscars ?? No But Still Very Enjoyable To Those Who Still Live The Life And Keep The Faith
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SoulBoy [DVD]
SoulBoy [DVD] by Shimmy Marcus (DVD - 2011)
£6.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews