Customer Reviews


103 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (30)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What the hell's going on...
When I heard that this was going to be yet another 'found-footage' movie, I was a little wary at first of even watching this. But, I have to say it certainly delivers, & is an ingenuous twist on the 'exorcist' theme that is well worth watching.

The plot is set up at the beginning with the central character of Rev Marcus - a former evangelical minister who is...
Published 18 months ago by Steve Cann

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay Oodles.
After deciding that I'd get a ton of new horror flicks for my much neglected DVD I purchased the Last Exorcism. It's had some beatings in the reviews but I found it to be not that bad.
Yep, it's a mocumentary and I'm all for those, though the formula certainly isn't ground breaking. The acting is well done and I thought the casting was very good indeed.
I...
Published on 8 Nov 2011 by Jaroson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't pay Oodles., 8 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
After deciding that I'd get a ton of new horror flicks for my much neglected DVD I purchased the Last Exorcism. It's had some beatings in the reviews but I found it to be not that bad.
Yep, it's a mocumentary and I'm all for those, though the formula certainly isn't ground breaking. The acting is well done and I thought the casting was very good indeed.
I agree with others who say that the final scene is a little over the top and a reach of the imagination but as long as you don't shell out a great deal of money on this film then it can be an interesting diversion for an evening. It has the added benefit of being the only horror flick in five years of actually making me jump. It was only once, but it was there. Having seen the film I would recommend it with the proviso of 'Don't pay oodles' for it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What the hell's going on..., 23 Jun 2013
By 
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
When I heard that this was going to be yet another 'found-footage' movie, I was a little wary at first of even watching this. But, I have to say it certainly delivers, & is an ingenuous twist on the 'exorcist' theme that is well worth watching.

The plot is set up at the beginning with the central character of Rev Marcus - a former evangelical minister who is almost now a born-again atheist. He has routinely performed 'exorcisms' throughout his career on the more unfortunate of his superstitious faithful, but at the same time never believed himself that what he was doing was anything other than an elaborate charade.

Now living a more honest life away from religion, he decides one final time to carry out an exorcism - & to film the event for posterity. This takes him away from his home in Baton Rouge into more rural Louisiana, & the remote farm of fundamentalist Christian Louis Sweetzer - whose repressed & seemingly innocent daughter is apparently possessed by a demon....

The plot builds nicely, & there are all the expected 'jumps' & shaky camera footage you would expect. The story is well played out, &, despite its far-fetched theme, always seems believable. Ashley Bell is excellent as the possessed Nell Sweetzer, combining a fresh-faced, wide-eyed innocence with the underlying schizophrenic menace that her 'possession' demands.
Unusually for a film such as this too, a little incidental music punctuates the action at certain points, but doesn't impinge on the realism.
Patrick Fabian is great too as the Rev, forever wearing his suit & appearing to be in control, until circumstances start to unravel around him...

I've no idea why this film has received such negative reviews from some quarters - if you want big-budget horror or torture-porn, then this probably isn't for you. But if you enjoyed Rec, Blair Witch Project, Paranormal Activity & the like, then you will certainly enjoy this.
Quite a twist at the end too that is well-worth the wait & quite unexpected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
It had twists not expected,
It was well filmed, if you like films of this kind, it's definitely worth a look.
Never failed to keep you on the edge of your seat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Faithless, 22 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING. MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!

Evangelical minister Cotton Marcus(Patrick Fabian) maybe having a bit of trouble with his faith, but he's not letting his congregation know. He blinds them with sleight of hand tricks, basks in the glory of his fathers reputation and continues to perform financially luctrative exorcisms in order to pay for his young sons' medical treatment.
He has had, however, a crisis of conscience, and decides to expose the exorcisms the church provides for what they are, a confidence trick. Accompanied by a documentary crew, Marcus travels to meet one such desperate family, where teenager Nell Sweetzer(Ashley Bell) is supposedly possessed by a demon. Marcus performs his usual tricks and tells Nell's father that she is now okay. Nell, however, is far from free of the malignant entities that have possessed her, and the Sweetzer farm holds many horrifying secrets for Marcus and his team...
This excellent film isn't just another found footage/mocumentary horror film. It has a lot more going for it.
Central to the films success is the wonderful performance by Patrick Fabian as Marcus, in what could be a very unsympathetic role. It is to Fabians immense credit that Marcus comes across as such a likeable character, despite his many flaws. There are also top-notch performances from Ashley Bell as Nell Sweetzer, and Louis Herthum as her father Louis.
The main criticism I have read about the film is regarding the ending. I have seen it described as 'tacked on' and many have suggested it ruins what was up to that point an excellent film. I personally love the ending. If you rewatch the film, little clues are scattered throughout the running time pointing towards the films terrifying denouement. When I watched the downbeat ending, I was taken back to great moments of 70's horror such as 'Race With The Devil' and more recent examples such as 'House Of The Devil'. The pace of the ending might be slightly out of sync with the rest of the story, but it is the making of 'The Last Exorcism'.
There is redemption of sorts for Cotton Marcus and all of the plot strands come together very nicely.
Up until the ending, the film is measured and relies on atmosphere and a subtle building of tension.
My only gripe was the inclusion of some music during the course of the film. This slightly spoils the mocumentary feel. Apart from that, I cannot find any fault with this film, with its carefully judged performances, great storyline and memorable closing scenes. I would highly recommend it to all fans of good horror films out there, as I worry that all the negative reviews might put some potential customers off.
There are also a wealth of extras on this excellent release. 5 out of 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "..WELL MADE FILM..", 18 Feb 2013
By 
S. Drury "SDX-800" (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Exorcism - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) (Blu-ray)
I was not expecting much after such negative reviews but this really isn't such a bad film, the story keeps you interested and is paced out well with a build up to the actual exorcism but its worth the watch, there is not much in the way of scares as such its more of a character building film and is well acted, there are a few freaky scenes like when she's cracking her bones and bending over backwards!! I would say its worth checking out for a cheap price I got it for a bargain £4 on bluray and it was well worth it, there are tons of features too and some good commentaries one of them by Eli Roth and he does go into some depth on things!! Certainly is no exorcist but is still fun and original. Look out for part 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Most haunted, 31 July 2011
By 
Mr. R. Mcleod (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
When the missus hired this movie I must admit to being a bit sceptical. I.e not another possessed demonic movie, think "The exorcism of Emily Rose", "The haunting in Conneticut", "The Exorcist" and "Constantine". Then I realised it was produced by Eli Roth, i.e the director of Hostel and Cabin Fever of which I was an avid fan.

I can understand this movie being misunderstood. The whole documentary shooting style is not new but with the success of Blair Witch and Paranormal Activity I can understand the budget process of making these movies with massive profit returns at the box office.

All I can say is give it a chance, this movie is a slow burner. The Preacher lead is very well acted as are the supporting actors especially the demon possessed victim. Her girl next door, niave and bubbly demeanor makes it's all the harder to watch when things start going 'pear shaped'.

The backdrop of the filming in the 'deep south' is well shot with the delapidated buildings and the poverty. Although this is probably a bad comparison reminded me of both 8 Mile shot in Detroit or Winters Bone released last year.

**spoiler alert** The scene with the 1st exorcism is hilarious as it shows all the tricks of the trade of the preacher. I just wonder what the Catholic Church would make of this. This might not have the well know cast of 'An American Haunting" but it's the most REAL demonic possession movie i've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why people hate this, 29 July 2011
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
People have said that The Last Exorcism is awful. The critics beg to differ. I was intrigued by the positive reviews (it has 73%, high for a modern horror film, while only 32% of audiences liked it). There is obviously divided opinion between the groups. However, I wanted to see for myself if it is as good as the critics say, because I do respect the views of those who said 'The Last Exorcism' was a good film.

The film's plot revolves around a pastor who in the past performed 'fake exorcisms' on people, ultimately conning them and showing to people that when it comes to religion, people will believe anything. He wants to show on camera how people can be fooled. They pick a random family who is in need of an exorcism and goes to their farmland. He meets the apparently possessed girl Nell, her brother and her father, Louis. Louis tells him that random farm animals have been killed recently, and he suspects it is to do with a demon inside of Nell. He records the later exorcism, showing beforehand how it is all a set-up and made to look as though something is actually happening. He convinces Louis that she is cured, but little does he know what is really happening...

The first half of the film is a slow, very detailed kind of narrative to the plot. We see the backstory to these fake exorcisms and we get an idea about what's been happening under their roof and what they've done to try and resolve the situation. It's recorded in a low budget, documentary style set-up, to give it a more realistic feel (i.e. a mockumentary). As the film progresses, things start to get weirder, and Rev Marcus is called back again to try to help after she attacks her brother. There are moments when the film gets literally dark and you can't see anything. It is deadly silent. For some reason, the producers decide to add incidental music whenever something creepy happens. While I was a little annoyed by this, it didn't detract the film other than make it less realistic.

Marcus and his camera crew witness themselves that there is something deeply disturbing about Nell. She has drawings of them - decapitation, one of them chopped up by an axe, another burned by flames. While they are sleeping over to look after her she grabs their camera and records herself murdering a cat, then almost murdering one of the camera crew. And that's just the start of it. There is another subplot going on that leads to her father wanting to murder her daughter, but Marcus tries to talk Louis out of it, insisting that she is in need of psychological help rather than an exorcism. He performs another exorcism in order to save Nell.

The next scene is quite horrific and shocking. The demon inside Nell has taken hold of her fully during her second exorcism. After a series of events where the demon tells them of a boy who impregnated her, Marcus concludes that she is pretending to be possessed after she says something that a young girl wouldn't truly know (to do with sex). Marcus and the crew leave, and then find the boy who the demon was talking about. They learn that this information is false, and so go back to their house.

The final act of the film is a confusing but greatly hysterical turn of events. In a way it's scary because when you don't fully understand what is happening you feel vulnerable. That is what I felt when watching the surprise twist of the film. You never would have expected it. It's kind of like they just added it on at the last minute, because it is TOTALLY different from the rest of the movie, in terms of atmosphere, but the fact that it is abrupt and unexpected makes the ending so unique. It is one of those endings where you thought just previously that it was going to finish, but it completely turns over heads. In my opinion it is in a good way, but I can see why people would hate the ending. It's the kind of ending that I think is suited for this kind of film, despite having a random quality to it. It wasn't totally unpredictable though, if you kept a close eye on the details beforehand.

Yes, this film was scary and I felt on edge and tense throughout a good 2/3rds throughout (the other third was the beginning when the details of the film were explained). So I do recommend you watch it, if you think psychological horror is the most effective and creepy horror genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ermm - what was that?, 20 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. C. T. ROBERTS "Christopher T Roberts" (Prestatyn, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
Wasn't sure if I should give this 2 or 4 stars so settled for 3. I really enjoyed this. In my opinion Patrick Fabian was great. The whole thing was belivable, funny and creepy. Well written, well acted, well reasearched ...... and then. The last 10 mins or so. As Ce-Lo Green might say what the Forget was that? The end was just stupid. It didn't seem to make sense and it was like a new and less talented director and writer had taken over. It was hard to see what was going on and characters started acting in ways that went against what you had learnt about them with no real explanation. It really spolit the film for me which was great and that I was really enjoying. Can't slag it off that much because there is lotts about it I enjoyed. I just felt really let down by the end. What can I say? Maybe watch it but switch it off before the end and make your own ending up in your head? Can't be more silly than what they actualy wrote / filmed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars im stuck,in a lie, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
don't believe the cover,there is none of that in a confusing start in the usa a [pastor preaching the word of god (a little too overboard for me).goes to a small farm where the father claims his daughter is possesded and so the pastor does an excorcism.but the next day the 16 year old girl starts killing animals again and being chained to her bed,so as the strange happenings get worst at first the pastor leaves ,arriving back at the farm in the dark to see the father tied up,his daughter giving birth to a demon that is thrown on the bonfire and where the pastor and his two film crew are murdered,there is no climbing up walls and stuff,its up tp you to buy on this one folks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Exorcism, 27 Sep 2011
This review is from: The Last Exorcism [DVD] (DVD)
If your idea of a horror film is - six teenagers go off to a haunted house for a raunchy weekend with enough booze and drugs to sink the Arc Royal, flashing tits and bums and shouting "Oh my God" until a drooling piece of moulded rubber appears sporting fangs and spoils it for them, this isnt the film for you.
Alternatively, if your idea of a horror film is some weak, conveyor belt vehicle for a wannabe starlet, complete with gratuitous bad language and stunning if only special effects coupled with the contents of the local abattoir skip scattered liberally everywhere - again, this film isn't for you.
If on the other hand, you like solid characters, a damn good, plausible story line with atmosphere and building tension, coupled with an unpredictable yet climactic ending - this could well be the film for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Exorcism - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD)
The Last Exorcism - Double Play (Blu-ray + DVD) by Daniel Stamm (Blu-ray - 2010)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews