Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Town Called Panic
A delightfully bizarre claymation film in which you follow the escalating madness of the adventures of Cowboy, Indien and Cheval. I can't see the information on the page, but the version I saw at the cinema was French with English subtitles. It received a definite thumbs-up from a group of 20+ year old students - young children however might find the loose plot confusing...
Published on 7 Nov. 2010 by Kate

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Bonkers!
This is a strange and compelling piece of work. If anything "different" interests you, then try this film; it is beyond surreal!!!
Published on 14 Jan. 2013 by M. Retzlaff


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Town Called Panic, 7 Nov. 2010
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
A delightfully bizarre claymation film in which you follow the escalating madness of the adventures of Cowboy, Indien and Cheval. I can't see the information on the page, but the version I saw at the cinema was French with English subtitles. It received a definite thumbs-up from a group of 20+ year old students - young children however might find the loose plot confusing. Try the trailer for an idea of what you can expect: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Zut alors!, 6 Sept. 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
I have a huge soft spot for stop-motion, I also love surrealist cinema and bonkers characters - so A Town Called Panic has been on my 'to watch' list for a while...

Starting in a rather unconventional house, home to a cowboy, a native Indian and a horse; life is never quite the same after a bodged online shopping order results in the delivery of 50,000,000 bricks - 499,999,950 more than was required to build a barbecue. The three housemates embark on a bizarre adventure which would make Jules Verne proud. From music lessons, to gigantic robotic penguins - A Town Called Panic is even more surreal than it sounds.

The characters are all small plastic toys, don't expect fluid claymation-style animation here, it's jerky and stilted - but that's all part of the charm and it has a superb hand-made quality to it. Just because it looks a bit amateur at times doesn't mean that this looks sub-standard, the backgrounds, towns and vehicles all look incredible and a fantastical level of creativity brings it all to life. This is based on a TV series and that sometimes seems obvious, instead of a single fluid story this does appear a little episodic - with sections merging into each other rather than an overall tale. The film lacks cohesion but because of the constant madness on-screen it never feels flat - just a bit odd!

This DVD looks surprisingly better than I ever expected, the colours are among the most vibrant I've ever seen on screen and as the film progresses through different settings, the contrast between 'sets' mean that this never loses any of its visual energy. Those unfamiliar with stop-motion film (shame on you!) may find this to be a bit crude to start with, but as your eye adjusts to the unique style you start to appreciate the more artistic elements and recognise the incredible level of detail. The film is French and the English subtitles are easy to read, the often frantic pace is easy to follow. My children also love this film, they are too young to take in all of the subtitles but the sheer madness on screen entrances them. I expected a good 'making of' documentary but the extras on the disk are a bit disappointing, however the 'La Fabrique de Panique' is a nearly hour-long documentary about the history of directors Stéphane Aubier and Vincent Patar, it shows much of their early work as and follows their collaborative careers through to to completion of A Town Called Panic.

In a nutshell: Surrender to whimsy and lose yourself in the imaginations of two creative filmakers. As this is such a fractured film you can watch it stints, not all brains can take this in one go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Goons in Clay., 1 Oct. 2012
By 
Bob Salter "Captain Spindrift" (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone who reads my reviews, and don't put your hands up all at once, you will realise that I do have a small bias to the western. Well this one has a cowboy, an Indian and a cheval, so might just creep in under the radar for that genre, with a healthy stretch of the imagination. This claymation is not your average "Wallace and Gromit", type affair which I happen to admire greatly. No, this is something deliciously bizarre and zany. Think more the goons in clay type humour. Michael Bentine would have loved this wacky stuff. Don't worry about a plot, as the writers seem to have made it up on an empty fag packet as they went along. It all starts with a horse, a cowboy and an Indian living in the same farmhouse like they do. Indian orders some bricks to build a BBQ for horses birthday. A nice if somewhat unusual choice of present. But alas the order gets horribly mixed up and matters escalate from there to include some Jules Verne type undersea adventures. Curiouser and curiouser. I don't laugh out loud an awful lot, and I was in a right grump when I watched it, for reasons that discretion will not permit me to share. But laugh I did, often and loudly. Thankfully my wife was not around to tell me to shut up. This amusing little romp is original and genuinely hysterically funny. The humour is certainly of a more adult nature. The disco being a highlight! It is all in French which adds to the quirkiness if anything. Destined to be a classic if it isn't already. It seems to be acquiring a healthy cult following ! Count me in pardner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plasticene People and Kaleidoscope Eyes, 12 Feb. 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
Junior 2 age 3.25 chose the film and dutifully we returned home to watch it. 1960's Magic Roundabout surrealism in one long speed rush. The claymation figures hilariously portray small town life in some surreal backwater. Zany and manic this is an ideal film for kidadults and children to become locked together in some other notion of time space and motion.

The film flips flops between a surreal land, a world in another dimension dropping down into an underwater sea adventure with enough adult humour to keep the belly laughs flip flopping until the twitches of embarrasment, of those around become noticeable.

A story based on the bonds between three friends; a indian, cowboy and a horse who live on one bi building opposite Steven, his wife and his various animals. Steven is the archetypal bully, the macho man. Meanwhile the cowboy and indian decide to build a barbercue ensuring then the story then unfolds, or perhaps drops upon them.

The friends enter strange lands, where underneath the bonkersville start stop, a sneaking attack on the alleged superiority of science is launched.

A THC hoot from beginning to end. Junior 2 age 10 drifted off after 20 minutes to do his homework, but later came back and watched it twice through. The story works for very young children and given time, very old ones. The french is basic GCSE and I could understand it, but if you get lost the subtitles clarify. However you need the sound up to get the full "effect."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Odd, inventive, surreal and often charming and funny,, 7 July 2011
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
This is intentionally low tech animation of a high order.

A series of absurd, barely connected story-lines shapes this visit to a
high energy stop-motion animation world, where the characters all move
around just fine, thank you, regardless of the fact that they mostly
have plastic bases to which their feet are welded. There's something of
old, silent film slapstick here, along with a Monty Python sense of the
humor of weirdness.

On the other hand, I found it a bit hit and miss. There were certainly
many sections that I found entertaining and wonderful, but there were
some lulls as well. Some who are familiar with the film's origins (a
series of 5-10 minute shorts made for Belgian TV) felt it played better
in smaller doses, and I can see that.

But still, this is a very inventive, fun, one-of-a-kind film, and
that's always to be embraced and applauded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Nov. 2010
By 
marcoscu "marcoscu" (Chorley,UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
This hilarious animated movie is of course in French but does have subtitles on the DVD. The origins are, I think, in a Belgian TV series in similar vein and by the same production house and from which this is a spin off.

The plot is a bit complicated if not confusing, but this matters little in the rapid fire action that takes place. This does mean it may be a bit much for younger children unless their French is better than mine (not difficult). But really this is not a movie for kids although there is nothing in it that is unsuitable. It is however a movie for those who enjoy the current Cravendale milk TV adverts which are made in exactly the style of Writer-directors Stéphane Aubier and Vincent Patar.

This is a great film and you should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bizarre but very funny :-D, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this on TV by chance one evening and knew that my brother would enjoy it so got it for him as a gift. It's a mad-cap adventure of little figurines (in the style of the old "Cravendale" milk advertisements)!

No spoilers- it's just plain bizarre and very funny. Little kids would enjoy it too (I'm not sure why it's a PG)! The only problem is that they'd have limited understanding of the story if they're unable to read -and don't speak French! The whole film is in French with English subtitles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and Original, 10 Nov. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film in French with English subtitles in the cinema - brilliant, not only because it's different but because it doesn't take itself too seriously. Great stuff, though perhaps a little too out there for under 8's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hillarious!, 6 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is absolutely fantastic! It's more funny than it looks like! I can watch it again and again! French with english subtitles: Great to practice french, but you may need some help with french slang, and great for english beginners too. Recommended for a good laugh! Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Madness!, 24 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Town Called Panic [DVD] (DVD)
This is brilliant! A manically, fast moving animated story about Cowboy, Indian and Horse. I originally caught the end of this on TV and couldn't wait to see the whole thing. It didn't disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Town Called Panic [DVD]
A Town Called Panic [DVD] by Vincent Patar (DVD - 2010)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews