Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very well done but main chracters a bit uninvolving
Igor and Coco follows the supposed affair between Coco Chanel and Igor Stravinsky, at a time when Coco was developing her Chanel no.5. The whole thing is very opulent, with a great use of light and shadow, with many moments with little light in them, along with great costuming and overall presentation. The problem is the main charcters are on the whole rather cold, so its...
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by Mr. Robert Marsland

versus
33 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars beautiful to look at, but, erm...
Yes yes this is really lovely to look at, which is fair enough given Chanel and her sense of style, and the fact that Stravinsky who, to be extremely generous was rather plain, is played by a gorgeous hunk of an actor. It all passes before your eyes with great solemnity and exquisite taste... and yet you're left thinking "what actually happened?" -he edits "Rite of...
Published on 4 Jan 2011 by Paul Taylor


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One of the worst films I have seen in a long time, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
You may be shocked that I have given this film one star. Ok, the cinematography, the costumes, the misé-en-scene are all excellent. But is a handsome gloss enough to excuse the bladder-skite that this film truly is? Would a beautifully photographed cow-pat be something that you would want to return to again and again?

The main problem with this film is that the portrayal of Stravinsky. I'll not worry myself about the unlikelihood of his affair with Chanel, since he did actually fall in love (with Vera de Bosset) whilst married in a manner similar to that which is portrayed in this miserable little film. I have not spent the required amount of time investigating the sordid details of his extra-marital relations with de Bosset, although he married her later in life. What I do know is that Stravinky's religious convictions were no small matter. One only has to listen to him speaking in the documentary "Once at a border" and listen to the passion with which he says "I believe in the LORD!" A superficial reading of his biography creates a confusion: how can such a religious man have betrayed his first wife in such a manner? Perhaps the true situation was a lot more subtle...

Anyway, let's not get into that. What is also a matter of easily verified fact is that basic nature of Stravinsky's personality, which is completely ignored in this film. He was a verbose speaker and was extremely charming and energetic. He was filled with the joy of life. What he have in this film is a kind of dour thicko who cannot utter more than a few words at a time. Basically, he spends his time wondering around Chanel's house in morose silence. This silence is supposed to represent his inner turmoil, but it doesn't. At a dinner party he is asked whether he believes in fate or coincidence and he is unable to offer any answer whatsoever. I cannot even judge the acting in this film because the actors are in general given very little to do. The filmmaker clearly thinks that having characters stand around saying very little is dramatic. It is not. Barry Lyndon by Stanley Kubrick is often described as having a similar quality, but in actual fact there is plenty of spoken word in that film. In this film there is effectively no substantial dialogue.

Here is the real killer: in a film about Stravinsky there is VERY little of his music employed - just Rite of Spring and Symphonies of Wind Instruments (only a brief usage of this). After a fairly lukewarm reenactment of the famous premiere of the former piece (a recent British film did this immeasurably better), the film moves forward to 1920, when Stravinsky had already left behind his Russian works and was moving into the more vapid neoclassical period (interestingly coinciding with his real-life affair). At this point he was beginning work on Pulcinella. But in this film he is apparently still writing Rite of Spring! He is even seen writing its manuscript and Chanel looks at the final page where he has written "Finis." It is clearly the final bars of the Rite. This makes no sense whatsoever. He did revise the piece somewhat, but in the 40s and 60s. So what he have here is a nonsense.

The musical nonsense gets even worse. The filmmakers have decided that Stravinsky did not write music good enough for their film, despite the fact that Petrouchka and Rite of Spring are cultural treasures of similar importance to the pyramids at Giza, and instead hired a well-known, but semitalented composer, to fill in Stravinsky's perceived gaps! So now we have a film about one of the greatest composers, accompanied by music which sounds like one of Keith Jarrett's improvisations - during the passages when he gets bored and runs out of ideas.

I felt quite depressed after watching this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 7 July 2014
By 
Katalin (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
No sound
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully sensual and captivating, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this film.
Mads, as always, is amazing as ever! I have yet to see him in a film that lets him down.
Highly recommend anyone seeing this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Coco After Thoughts, 22 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
This film continues from where Coco Before Chanel left of, unfortunately this is more arty farty, and apart from Cocos making of her no 5 perfume and igors struggles, this is boring and bland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Looks terrible on bluray, 23 Aug 2011
I have over 1250 blurays and this is by far the worst looking transfer I've ever seen on the bluray format. Someone else suggested it may have been intentionally shot very dark but the US Sony Pictures Classics release proves this theory to be wrong. All details in shadows is completely lost- the picture is just too dark and don't think by turning up the brightness on the tv the problem will be fixed- it won't. I sat thru the first 20 minutes and thats about all I could take...I could barely see what was going on. Someone at Soda Pictures who released this bluray completely screwed this bluray up. Avoid at all costs...you'll regret buying this. Nuff' said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great film, but the picture is so dark you can't see what's happening, 29 Nov 2010
By 
I. D. Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The reviews of the American Blu-Ray are so enthusiastic that I can't help thinking someone screwed up the transfer to Blu-Ray this side of the pond. The American Blu-Ray is from Sony, where the UK is from "Soda Pictures Ltd". The Blu-Ray is almost unwatchable because it's so dark. "Crushed blacks" doesn't even begin to describe it. The only way I could see the picture was to turn the brightness setting up to a ridiculously high level. I can't believe this is the way the film was meant to be seen. I have over 1000 Blu-Rays and the picture quality on this stitle is one of the worst - not because of the usual grain, overuse of DNR or anything else but just because most of the time large areas of the screen are just a solid jet black color.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Coco and Igor just absolute bliss, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
I was lucky enough to see this film earlier this year, it is absolutely fabulous. If you love France, this is the film for you. The cameraman is incredible, whizzing you in and out of scenes in a most delightfull manner making you feel as though you really are in Paris. The actors are superb. I just loved every minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Technical faults on dvd?, 19 Nov 2011
By 
G. M. Phillips "goldhart" (In a deep dark cave) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
My first observation is that there are trailers that are unskippable. Is it any wonder people look for pirate copies of films when you are rewarded when buying something by having adverts inflicted on you?

Secondly, I could not watch this film it was too dark to see anything. This is either a technical flaw in the DVD's mastering, or the film really is like that. I racked up brightness and contrast but it it's no good and when the film is one that relies on subtitles then it's a hopeless case. The audio too has been wrongly mixed. Sound effects are loud, dialogue is soft. I would think it a fault in my DVD player, but no, it's the DVD. I only lasted ten minutes but what I saw of the dialogue seemed ludicrous, one person called the other "Vaslav Nijinsky" in conversation, presumably so the audience would know who he was.

Don't bother - seek out the recreation of the full Sacre Nijinsky ballet. No stars.. Oh has to be one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful film, 30 Nov 2010
This review is from: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
Such a beautiful looking film! I preferred it to Coco Before Chanel, which covers most of her early life. Here we see her at work a lot more - the set and clothing designs are stunning. The actress playing Coco is a former Chanel model and far less annoying than Audrey Tautou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A huge disappointment., 6 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009) (DVD)
So dark we could hardly see what was going on in most scenes. A huge disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Coco Chanel & Igor Stravinsky [DVD] (2009)
£6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews