Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fight fest.
For those expecting well crafted story and logical plotting will sadly be disappointed, this film is as generic as story can get. at times the film can feel like it is two seperate films almost like it is ending during the first half of the feature only then is a new story thread is introduced out of the blue. the similarities to Jet Li's Fearless is obvious and there is...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by Simian

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Martial Arts
I must confess to being having been a bit disappointed by this one and don't really know how to categorise it. It seemed to be a cross between mythical/magic genre and a biographical one. Because it seemed to stray between fanciful and "reality" it just did not work for me. However I did enjoy the final fight at the end.
Published on 7 May 2012 by A. J. Montgomery


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fight fest., 24 Oct 2010
This review is from: True Legend [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
For those expecting well crafted story and logical plotting will sadly be disappointed, this film is as generic as story can get. at times the film can feel like it is two seperate films almost like it is ending during the first half of the feature only then is a new story thread is introduced out of the blue. the similarities to Jet Li's Fearless is obvious and there is no denying that here. there is little characterization and some questionable motivations as well as pointless cameos.

BUT no one goes to watch a Yuen Woo Ping for coherent story telling, it is the fight scenes that shines through out featuring the usual visual flair and creativity that Yuen is renowned for. the combination of wushu and break dancing is fun and inventive. Zhao Wen Zhou delivers in the martial arts department utilising some impressive combinations and fluidity that only a martial artist can pass off. the down side for some maybe the over reliance of wire work (in which there is a hefty amount used) but (for me personally) it enhanced the viewing pleasure. Now for the downers of the fight scenes; one particular fight scene was done in front of a green screen and the effects as good as they are can be a bit jarring, and not to say the least pointless. the other gripe is the lack development or focus on the drunken fist element that the title character is supposedly famous for.

the film is visually stunning using some beautiful back drops as well as fantastic cinematography to engage the audience in the time period.

to talk about any other elements is pointless because it is all about the fighting and for those who enjoyed Fearless or Crouching tiger hidden dragon will find some impressive choreography here.

recommended for martial arts fans only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Perfect..., 5 Feb 2011
By 
Joeycharmed "Joe" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Legend [DVD] (DVD)
First and foremost I'm sick of amazon not giving correct specifications on titles. This movie is not in English as listed But in Cantonese with non removable English Subtitles.
Nor is is this Movie in The Aspect Ratio that is stated. So there are the usual bars present at the Top and Bottom of the screen during the actual film.

This Movie was non the less Brilliant.
The story follows The folk Legend of Su-Can aka Beggar-su or Beggar-so but more popularly known as The Drunken Master. In a story-telling of how he may have become the man and legend we have all gotten to know about.
Not many facts are out there about Su-can's past real life. But This story-telling on the real legend himself is All VERY VERY Fitting!!

The film has a few surprises and twists. As well as some elements you may not have ever seen in a film before let alone a Kung Fu movie.

The Story is rather deep with very good acting but having to read the subtitles can sometimes spoil in you being distracted in how good the acting really is and the true emotions that some of the characters are going through.

The Fight scenes are Top Class showing plenty of diverse skills and use of weapons from those involved.

The main reason why this film loses a Star from me is purely because I felt that they sometimes over-used the wires and the whole Matrix effects. Which for me spoiled the authenticity of a brilliant film.

There is a saying that 1 in 4 kung fu/martial art films are only brilliant - And this is one of them! This is one of The Top ones! It's way up there in terms of being brilliant like Donnie Yen's IP MAN without a doubt!

So despite the odd one or two negatives - This Film has Romance, Heartbreak, emotion, betrayal and plenty of kung fu of course! And all told and shown within this Compelling take of one of China's Most well known folk kung fu masters in history.

True Legend also very re-watchable. where as many of todays kung fu films are not. Unlike back in the day of Sammo Hung and Jackie Chan's old school authentic flicks were always re-watchable for me.

One last positive about this Film was seeing decent Cameo roles from Bryan Leung and Michelle Yeoh...

TRUE LEGEND is a MUST SEE!!! for any enthusiasts of kung fu/action movies or of Chinese folk history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yuen Woo Ping a legend, 16 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. D. Oso "Xino" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Legend [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Yuen Woo Ping is back with his latest block buster martial arts movie True Legend.
For people who do not know the focus of this movie, it's based on the legendary (fictionalO_o!?) character Beggar Su, who can be seen in many various and iconic movies such as Drunk Master, Snake in the Eagle's Shadow etc. If you still do not know what character I am talking about, never mind because you only watch martial arts for the kick ass fun.

MOVIE:
The movie itself is really great and fully tells the story about Beggar Su, and how he created the martial arts Drunken Fist/Boxing. The movie is sort of broken in different section in the life of Beggar Su. First part in the movie is about Su fighting as a warrior for a prince, second part is living with his wife while he trained to better his fighting style, and third section is wandering with his son as a beggar.

There are variable connections as in relationship between the characters in the movie such as Brother love, betrayal, husband and wife love and father and son love. The story will not disappoint the audiences who seek to enjoy a good plot and action in this movie.

ACTION: 5/5
Wow! People who disregard wire works and visual effects in movies will be amazed by Yuen Woo Ping's work, everything used to make the fight scene worked so well and made the movie excellent and shinning. The sound effects used while Yun wielded his venom fist, objects breaking and use of weapon effects are all top notch. One particular thing I love about martial arts is when top people fight, they knock themselves against the wall or object that causes collision and devastation, it just makes the fight seem so surreal and epic!

The fight scene between Yun and Su, and Su vs Twin Irons were so badass! You will not be disappointed by the fight scenes, and the fight scenes are one of the best in this generations martial arts movies.

VIDEO: 3.5/5
I'm not fully disappointed by the HD quality version of this movie though I'm just slightly disappointed. The movie just lacked sharpness in the movie, such it does look great but only with the help of grains. When I watch a movie like Ong Bak 2 in HD, it just looks so good, sharp and detailed however compared to this movie's quality, it wasn't that great. In fact Ong Bak 3 looks better than this movie. I could say the quality is next to Matrix Reloaded. I may be giving it a 3.5 score however the picture/video quality is still great! At least it's better than movies like Ong Bak 1 or Tom Yum Goong quality.

AUDIO: 5/5
Great sound effects, it comes equip with dobly master HD Audio and PCM audio. Subtitles are hardcored and audio is only in mandarin. The original soundtrack is done by a Japan sound artist in which I've forgotten his name.

EXTRAS: 1/5
Piss poor!
Only comes with Making Of which is in sub HD, Music Video which is also in Sub Hd 572p as well and Trailer in HD.
I'm even more disappointed because it doesn't come with 3D feature like they advertised in the cinema poster and trailer so I don't see the point in getting this for BluRay.
It's like they would release a 3D version BluRay later or the producers haven't done the 3D version for BluRay.

OVERALL: 3.5/5

A worthy title to own if you are a martial artist fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD ESCAPISM, 28 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Legend (Amazon Instant Video)
ANOTHER GOOD EXAMPLE OF THE GENRE. I WAS ENTERTAINED. DID TAKE SOME TIME TO DOWNLOAD PROPERLY BUT THATS MY PROBLEM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars true legend, 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Legend [DVD] (DVD)
I'm going to go on record here and say that this may actually be the greatest martial arts movie of all time. Maybe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good story., 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: True Legend [DVD] (DVD)
I enjoyed this,it is difficult to ignore subtitles until you get really involved in the film.If you like martial art films worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New Legend, 14 Dec 2011
This review is from: True Legend [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Basically a concentrated dose of what Kung Fu movies are about: love, betrayal, revenge, redemption and a lot of kicking arse. True Legend doesn't set out to reinvent the genre, rather, the goal behind this production seems to be to update a generation's worth of what we've come to expect from such outings with modern production values and pacing.

True Legend delivers both familiar concepts and situations (drunken-master, eccentric long-bearded (and eye browed) old master, eastern-western conflict, mystical Kung Fu) and infuses new(ish) concepts into the mix to keep jaded viewers entertained. At times, it seems like too many elements have been mish-mashed together and there is no structure to the storyline, but this shifting of themes is also what keeps us on our toes, not playing out the traditional way that dozens of previous movies did. Honestly, there is probably nothing that hasn't been seen somewhere else before, but slick editing and fly-wire technology showcase the talent behind this production.

True Legend would be a good introduction Kung Fu movie for the modern viewer, allowing both appreciation for a mature genre of Asian cinema, and a awe at how far the genre has come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 16 Dec 2010
By 
E. Barrett - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: True Legend [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
If you've ever watched Drunken Master, get this movie.
If you ever played Virtua Fighter, get this movie - Shun Di origin.
The fights are incredible as you'd expect, but the movie itself is excellent. I saw it was directed by Yuen Wu Ping, presumed it would be good. It is great. Yes insane martial arts stuff, but great characterisation also. This is one of the best martial arts movies I've seen in a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth it!, 27 May 2011
This review is from: True Legend [DVD] (DVD)
It's about the legend of the drunken master. Strangely, it's divided into 2 parts on the same movie. The first half is about how he evolves as a kung fu master and his family life. Then it goes into how he became the drunken master in the second half.

Excellent action and story. I've seen alot of foreign martial arts movies and there are very few that really stand out. This is definately one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Legend Blu Ray, 26 Jan 2011
By 
steven (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: True Legend [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
what an amzing film the story is well written and the action is amazing i love films where they learn new fighting styles if you like donnie yen movies than you would love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

True Legend [Blu-ray]
True Legend [Blu-ray] by Woo-Ping Yuen (Blu-ray - 2010)
9.48
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews