Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard hitting action and a quality production
Having enjoyed a return to form in the last few movies, I have been hoping that standards would not slip, and I have not been disappointed. This movie is another good outing for Seagal, who clearly relishes the role he plays, perhaps as there are moments when it is clear he is bringing some of his law enforcement presence and experience onto the screen.

The...
Published on 19 Oct 2010 by NotJustACook

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars RAPING WOMEN BEFORE OR AFTER THEY'RE DEAD
We watch Seagal films because the acting is bad, the dialouge is worse, and the plot twists have the complexity a granny knot. Seagal plays a special international DEA agent who seeks revenge for the death of his partner, something we don't know anything about as there is absolutely no character build-up or introduction, a characteristic of Seagal's fine precise writing...
Published 12 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars hard hitting action and a quality production, 19 Oct 2010
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Having enjoyed a return to form in the last few movies, I have been hoping that standards would not slip, and I have not been disappointed. This movie is another good outing for Seagal, who clearly relishes the role he plays, perhaps as there are moments when it is clear he is bringing some of his law enforcement presence and experience onto the screen.

The acting and action are at a good standard and most beneficial is a plot that moves at an acceptable pace and doesn't leave you scratching your head trying to keep up. Also, gone are the days of post production editing that leave the end product making little to no sense, and requiring voice overs from somebody who is obviously not Seagal. Lets hope those days are gone forever.

And lets face it, Seagal films are judged on the fight scenes as much as anything else. This film does not disappoint. There is even a scene in a restaurant which has no merit to the plot, and is clearly put in just to allow Seagal to beat two baddies senseless; we love it!! One is of course propelled through a large glass shelving unit that has no place in a restaurant. Bravo!! Most enjoyable is the fact that the direction of the fight scenes is much better; it is Seagal and not a stunt double (in the most part, obviously there have to be some exceptions). Best of all, it is classic Seagal; fast powerful and effective aiakido inspired close hand fighting, which is technically superb as well as great entertainment. And yes, there are hot girls a plenty.

Yes I am biased as a lifelong fan, but I would be quick to say if it was rubbish. This is a must for any Seagal fan, and anybody who enjoys a violent action film will enjoy this.

Watch out for some great one liners from Seagal too :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Seagal Is Born To Raise Hell, He Is a Good Guy:, 3 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
[03 June 2012, I like Seagal have got lot of is Film's I Like Him at all Times.]

I agree with Retalato from Norway, that (quote) this might be the greatest movie of all time. There is just not a single more perfect movie in existence as of today, "Born to raise hell" is a cinematic achievement of astronomically epic proportions.

This gritty, modern classic is most definitely a truly worthy winner of just about every Academy award this year, "Best animated movie" possibly being the sole exception.
Steven Seagal, toughest guy since Bruce Lee's DNA was spliced with that of Mike Tyson, characterizes the deeply tormented soul of Interpol-veteran Bobby with a sheer brilliance that makes de Niro in Taxi Driver look like Forest Whitaker in Battlefield Earth. Seagal portrays the inner demons his characters are struggling with in such a subtle and ingenious way that it baffles the mind how such a performance could go unnoticed.

With absolute classic gold dialogue like: "You're not supposed to hit a guy when im holding him" "You know, trust is not one of my more spectacular attributes" "You should be chasing terrorists over in Afghanistan, not here." "Already done that, now im over here having fun" "You see why I hate eating out?" Also, the Russian guy: "Midgets are a little short. Money should never be" The only remaining question is, will the Academy be able to ignore this accomplishment and pinnacle of human evolution? In good conscience, how could they? Will they take the easy route as usual, and go along with some unwarranted hype? This is a movie for the ages, and in the year 2050 we will look back at this revolutionary film in the same way we today look back at Citizen Kane - and that's a certainty (unquote).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seagals best film for ages., 15 July 2012
By 
T. A. J. Leahy "tommygun" (croydon.surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
born to raise hell is seagals best film since the early 90s.its got everything violence/sex/gore.written by seagal he obviously used some of his lawman experiences in the story to great effect.there are some very well choreographed and violent hand to hand fight scenes which looks like seagal did himself.film goes along at a cracking pace and director lauro chartrand does a good job.the only bad point i can say about this film is something i dont quite understand.why does seagal use body and walking doubles.its clear to see all the time as the double is slim and the hair style is different.for example for every scene there are 2 camera angle shots one of seagal with camera in front and then the camera shot from behind you can clearly see its not seagal.also the long camera shots he uses a body double.the only thing i can think off is to get the film finished quicker or he is filming another scene for the film but it is very irritating to watch.overall hes best film for years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better and Better, 19 Jan 2012
By 
P. Lockwood (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As a Seagal fan, I must admit I do find some of his more recent work tired and boring. I recently watched Driven to Kill and enjoyed it and Kill Switch which I thought was amazing. In this film, we see a return to the norm of Seagal back in Europe fighting drug lords and gangsters. The plot is simple and the fight scenes are very well done.

A note to Blu Ray buyers. The picture quality is a framed 1080p transfer which will fit 16:9 tvs perfectly. It is clear and well worth the upgrade from DVD. The sound is good but not as vibrant as Kill Switch [Blu-ray].

Well worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Born to Rise Hell, 31 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
A good Seagal film, filled with action and the usual seagal humour. I was happy to buy this dvd and it did not dissapoint!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brill movie recommend it, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Looooveee it. Segal in yet another kickass movie. Brilliant action packed bone snappin movie :-) o yeah! If you like these types of movies then ur love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Steven Seagal film, 22 Feb 2014
By 
Mrs. Judith Brady "book worm" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
Another to add to the collection of both DVD and Videos we have of his we shall soon have a complete collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Born to raise hell is a great for me whatever other are thinking for that my prefer movie by great actor, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
I like that movie because that by one of a great artist ,
The packaging was in good standing order received in time

also all the movies of Steven Seagal i love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars a poor seagal thiller, 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
hell bent on revenge no just the usual gun battle film, seagal is an interrpol agent ,the mission drug rings and countrie problems in the typical no good film. I hate it , stunt doubles and voice doubles and the fights acceeptable but not a hardore movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars RAPING WOMEN BEFORE OR AFTER THEY'RE DEAD, 8 July 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Born To Raise Hell [DVD] (DVD)
We watch Seagal films because the acting is bad, the dialouge is worse, and the plot twists have the complexity a granny knot. Seagal plays a special international DEA agent who seeks revenge for the death of his partner, something we don't know anything about as there is absolutely no character build-up or introduction, a characteristic of Seagal's fine precise writing ability.

Seagal is in Bucharest, Romania according to the writing on the screen. They also use the same font to run their credits (Highlight, right click, font, click, then change). The Russian mafia is manufacturing and fronting drugs to the Romanians, who in turn use beautiful women to mule these drugs all over Europe. Apparently their airport security is like ours and only pat down old people. Seagal has a new partner who he verbally abuses. The Romanian mafia also does home break-ins where they rob people and then rape and kill women, not necessarily in that order. (The Russian mafia is civilized and don't approve of that behavior.)

Special effects include speeding up the scene, slowing down the scene, shooting a still, and making everything blurry. While other movies do this also, this film tended to overdue the effect to the point of being annoying. The music got a little hard-core as the film flirted with a few grindhouse techniques. It was almost as if someone described what a grindhouse movie was to Seagal, and he decided to make one having never seen one.

Seagal utilizes a stooly who looks like a cross between Joe Pesci and Vlad the Impaler. In the movie and IMDB Seagal's name is Bobby Samuels. My DVD box says he is Samuel Axel.

Seagal has a girlfriend in this movie, who he lectures as if she is four years old. They have a weird love/sex scene where she gets naked and he keeps his clothes on...which may be a good thing.

Nudity, sex?, rape, f-bomb and some dry humor lines from Seagal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Born To Raise Hell [DVD]
Born To Raise Hell [DVD] by Steven Seagal (DVD - 2010)
7.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews