Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A slight change of pace
I'm a huge fan of The Black Keys... I have all of their albums and singles and have seen them perform live 4 or 5 times. They play driving, gutteral, thumping, fuzzy rock and roll. Well, usually they do...

Sometimes they play dusty, bluesy rock and roll, and there is a lot of that to be found on 'Attack & Release'. With the exception of perhaps three tracks (of...
Published on 19 Mar 2008 by EternalBroadcaster

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit subdued
I like this album but for me it suffers in comparison with what's gone before. As another reviewer says, it does seem a little over-produced and I think it sounds quite mellow and restrained in places. I suppose they've done the raw-blues-retro thing before (brilliantly) but if you only buy one Black Keys album I think the best place to start is either Rubber Factory or...
Published on 26 Aug 2008 by eclectic warrior


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, great dvd!, 23 May 2010
By 
F. Bunnik - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
This is an absoluty bargain, the cd is excellent of course but for 1 GBP more then the single cd, you get a dvd with the complete Crystal Ballroom concert, 3 music videos, a making of one of these videos and a film about the album being made. Get thsi version while you can!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not the same - but different, 22 April 2008
By 
D. Clark "Music Devotee" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
I can't believe the reviews of this album from some existing black keys fans. Ok the production on this album is a step away from previous albums but is that a bad thing or is it not the band just growing and taking their music on to a new level? I agree that the attraction of their earlier albums is the rawness of the production but this doesn't exactly represent the band selling out and going for No 1 in the charts!!
If I can quote from history, I remember Led Zeppelin III being greeted with reviews of shock horror because it had acoustic tracks but what this album represented was zep moving on to a new level and from their they produced two of the all time best rock albums in IV and Physical Graffiti. Point being, The BKs could go on forever producing the same stuff but would not get much further forward and a band as good as this deserves to be exposed to as wide an audience as possible.
I think the album is good but maybe not as good as earlier outings and agree with W R Donnelly and Mark Davies that this is one of the few band's creating exciting and original music and this just represents them experimenting with new and different sounds. Who knows where the next album might take them.
I'm giving it 5 stars to try and take the ratings up but it's probably truly a 4 star album - for first timers try Magic Potion or the excellent Chulahoma.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superb..., 18 Mar 2008
I must admit, I was a bit, for want of a better word, dubious about The Black Keys teaming up with producer Dangermouse, on this, their 4th "proper album". No need to be. Although it was put together in a studio, as opposed to their basement, the Keys have managed to keep the trademark blues and riffs that I fell in love with the moment I first heard them. Nice one lads...you may even have made a sweeter song than The Lengths, in "Things aint like they used to be".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a bit subdued, 26 Aug 2008
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
I like this album but for me it suffers in comparison with what's gone before. As another reviewer says, it does seem a little over-produced and I think it sounds quite mellow and restrained in places. I suppose they've done the raw-blues-retro thing before (brilliantly) but if you only buy one Black Keys album I think the best place to start is either Rubber Factory or Thickfreakness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some fantastic stuff on this album..., 27 Nov 2008
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
This is my first Black Keys album. A purchase inspired by some very positive reviews coupled with a description of music which sounded very much like my cup of tea, I bought it and I wasn't disappointed. This is extremely good music. Although existing Black Keys fans seem to be divided about 'Attack And Release', I have no previous album with which to compare this to, so all I can do is take it at face value and talk about it as an individual piece of work rather than in the context of their other releases. That may be a good or bad thing. Still, I like what I hear and I hear elements of raucous White Stripes (back when they were at their best) with added blues-fueled soul and classic heavy rock sensibilities.

There are, without a doubt, some absolutely fantastic tracks on offer here. The raw 'I Got Mine' gets the head nodding and feet tapping. 'Strange Times' boast a classic, memorable riff coupled with a short, but classy chorus. The banjo-led swamp blues opening of 'Psychotic Girl' is both simultaneously creepy and enthralling. 'Same Old Thing' has a slight Jethro Tull feel to it - and, for the record, that's a good thing. 'Oceans and Streams' has an absolutely phenomenal powerful beat to it and a true raw appeal. The last track, 'Things Aint What They Used To Be', featuring 19-year old country singer Jessica Lea Mayfield on vocals, is perhaps the most conventional song on the album and yet really thrills, with the prominent organ and dreamy guitar solo.

'Lies' and 'Remember When (Side A)' are probably the only tracks on the album I don't care for too much and, while perhaps a little dull and derivative, they are the exceptions to the rule on what is a very enjoyable release. In fact, listening to this album makes me want to buy more Black Keys albums, so it can't be bad. Perhaps they have lost a few old fans with this album, but they've gained a new one in me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A change of direction...but in a good way!, 2 April 2008
By 
G. Horn "gazwozere" (Lancaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
I'm a huge Black Keys fan, as i'm sure most of the people reading this review will alredy be. They're a band with a massive underground following, who have never quite crossed-over into the mainstream... which is not necessarily a bad thing. If you have any doubts about the credentials of this band, go and see them live. They will blow you away.

Now: Attack and Release...
It's worth pointing out that this album was not originally intended as a Black Keys project. Basically, producer Danger Mouse (of Gnarls Barkley fame) enlisted the Black Keys as backing band for a project he was working on with legendary bluesman Ike Turner. Turner died before the album was completed, and so Dan and Pat took on this project as their own and released it as Attack and Release. The thing is, Danger Mouse (aka Brian Joseph Burton) originally enlisted the Black Keys because of the pared-down, analogue sound they were capable of producing, and this shows on Attack and Release. It's much closer in sound to their earlier work on The Big Come Up, very gritty, raw blues-rock. Dan's impossibly soulful voice really shines on this album, much much more so than on Rubber Factory and Magic Potion, where the instruments very much took centre stage. This doesn't mean that the instruments take a back seat on this album - Dan's guitar work is as masterful as ever, and Pat continues to show that he is one of the very best rock drummers out there today - it's just that they're perhaps turned down a notch or two and given a slightly more soulful twist. Burton's production too is quite noticeable, with the introduction of the odd banjo here and hammond organ there. It's a collabaration that works well. It shows what Black Keys fans have known for years, that they are capable of much more than just the guitar-and-drum blues rock with which they have made a name for themselves. This album, for me, is better than either of the last two releases, and rates right up there with The Big Come Up and Thickfreakness.

Buy it. You won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Something a bit different, 17 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
I like this album, it was recommended for the second track, which featured in a recent film!
Go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative Music, 9 Sep 2013
By 
Gjs Grant "jimsdub" (Aberdeen Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
Got hooked on these guys hearing them in a bar in France with great sound system and good ambiance to match.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
brilliant CD really like the Black Keys, starting to collect all of the cds, have recommend to lots of people
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cant get enough, 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Attack and Release (Audio CD)
This is slightly different to other albums. Still has distintive sound of Black Keys - unmistakable! So easy to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

attack & release LP
attack & release LP by The Black Keys (Vinyl)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews