Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality!
This is a top class feeder at a very good price. It's quite heavy, which prevents it blowing around in all but the strongest winds, allowing birds to feed easily. It's great for the Goldfinches, which is the only reason I bought it.

I'm extremely pleased with my purchase-great quality, great delivery and a very reasonable price. if you are looking of a Nyger...
Published 16 months ago by Kevin Smith

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Design
I bought this feeder to replace a cheap but very effective plastic feeder which has served me well for a considerable time.
This feeder although well made has three design faults. Firstly the holes are a fraction too small, secondly when it is full of seed the holes cannot easily be seen. The third fault is that rain runs down the feeder and is drawn into the holes...
Published 6 months ago by Wise Owl


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality!, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
This is a top class feeder at a very good price. It's quite heavy, which prevents it blowing around in all but the strongest winds, allowing birds to feed easily. It's great for the Goldfinches, which is the only reason I bought it.

I'm extremely pleased with my purchase-great quality, great delivery and a very reasonable price. if you are looking of a Nyger seed feeder, look no further!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor Design, 29 Jan 2014
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
I bought this feeder to replace a cheap but very effective plastic feeder which has served me well for a considerable time.
This feeder although well made has three design faults. Firstly the holes are a fraction too small, secondly when it is full of seed the holes cannot easily be seen. The third fault is that rain runs down the feeder and is drawn into the holes where it clogs up the seeds so that the seed cannot be accessed by the birds.
The feeder which I had previously had small raised green plastic rings around the holes which eliminated the problems being experienced with the new feeder.
To get over the problems I have enlarged the holes and made tiny styrene deflectors which I have glued above each hole so all now works well. This should not be necessary on a feeder costing this amount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good buy!, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Seems to do the job. I did think initially the holes were far too small but obviously the birds seem to manage ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Expensive but probably worth it., 27 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
The birds took a while to get used to the change of container and I ended up having to enlarge the feeding holes to 5mm. This is something the makers need to get sorted as I am not the first that had to do this. However they are sturdily made and I would have preferred to write a comment after they had been in use for at least a year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice product delivered quickly, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
It's robust and looks good but think the feeding holes could be a little bigger.
Had to take a small file to them before the finches were feeding properly
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks OK but not as photo on Amazon, 25 Jan 2014
By 
Keefer (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Arrived promptly in good condition. Seems sturdy enough, but I can see how others may have had problems with the lid. Fortunately my lid make a good positive click when fixing (by rotating). The feeder is also fairly easy to disassemble for cleaning, and sensibly the base goes right up to the lowest feeder hole. (I'm amazed at manufacturers who have the base below the perch, creating a dead zone for seed to moulder in).

Unfortunately the feeding holes in the supplied feeder are large and round, NOT thin slots as illustrated on Amazon. As I specifically wanted slots to reduce spillage, and spent quite a long time searching for a feeder with slots, I'm not very happy with this. However, I can't be ar*ed to send it back so I will try to adapt the holes somehow.

26.01,14 The feeder is now in use (ready for the garden birdcount) and the goldfinches have already adapted to it. To be honest, there is, so far, no more waste than with our other nijer feeder, so I have upped the rating from 2* to 3*.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Niger seed feeder, 25 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
This niger seed feeder does the job -it's a bird feeder! Not quite sure what else I'm supposed to say!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Goldfinches like it, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Took a few weeks but the Goldfinches are now using it so therefore it works! Enjoyable to see them getting ready for winter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Well constructed feeder but holes are too small!, 22 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
I have another niger seed feeder which has a slightly larger teardrop shaped holes through which the gold finches feed quite readily.
This ones holes are quite frankly too small.
I will modify this feeder with larger drilled holes to convert it into a hulled sunflower feeder as the existing sunflower seed feeders are encouraging wasteful feeding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 26 Jun 2013
By 
A. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardman Large Steel Nyger Seed Feeder - Black (Garden & Outdoors)
Holds a lot of Niger seed, which doesn't get wet and is inaccessible to other garden birds apart from finches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews