Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admirably comprehensive and undeniably useful
... but with a few bugs and minor irritations.

As a user of Office 2000, who recently decided to bite the bullet (point?) at long last and upgrade to the latest version, I found this training package genuinely useful.

I was initially a little dismayed at our host - the very American (but perfectly eloquent and understandable) Erin Olsen advising that...
Published on 26 Nov. 2010 by Cartimand

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not really my cup of tea
I have spent many years working with MS Office in its various versions, but my organisation is still using the 2003 version. For that reason I didn't upgrade at home with the 2007 release, but did end up with the 2010 version last year.

Not being very methodical by nature, I continued to face the frustration of using the ribbon and sometimes struggling to do...
Published on 28 Mar. 2011 by Don Panik


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but not really my cup of tea, 28 Mar. 2011
By 
Don Panik (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I have spent many years working with MS Office in its various versions, but my organisation is still using the 2003 version. For that reason I didn't upgrade at home with the 2007 release, but did end up with the 2010 version last year.

Not being very methodical by nature, I continued to face the frustration of using the ribbon and sometimes struggling to do things that I have previously taken for granted. This package is not strictly designed for my situation - being more focused on the update from 2007 - 2010, but with the second disc I was able to get the basics of the 2007 upgrade covered.

This package whilst not expensive compared to a training event, is still a major outlay for the home user. I judge it on that basis and find it rather wanting. It is not that there is anything particularly wrong with it, but it left me feeling that I would be happier with a well illustrated book. Still I have picked up quite a bit of knowledge as a result of using this package, although occasionally do still feel like I am fighting the software. I can't strongly recommend - unless this really is your preferred may of learning, in which case it is just about fit for purpose.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Admirably comprehensive and undeniably useful, 26 Nov. 2010
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
... but with a few bugs and minor irritations.

As a user of Office 2000, who recently decided to bite the bullet (point?) at long last and upgrade to the latest version, I found this training package genuinely useful.

I was initially a little dismayed at our host - the very American (but perfectly eloquent and understandable) Erin Olsen advising that the primary training is limited to the changes introduced between Office 2007 and 2010. Thankfully though, the second disk gives you a thorough grounding in the (in)famous ribbon or "fluent innerface" as Ms Olsen would have it. This was invaluable to me and has genuinely improved my productivity in Word and Excel. The lessons are quite well structured and pretty easy to navigate. I had Word 2010 open alongside Total Training and, at various points, tried out the features as they were being explained. In this manner, I've customised the ribbon interface to better suit my needs, have dramatically improved the appearance of many of my documents and can do exactly what I want to do in Office more rapidly than before.
I still have several lessons to go, which I hope will turn me into a genuine Office 2010 power user!

The programme does suffer from the occasional crash and, irritatingly, can only be run in full-screen mode in XP (I'm on Vista), but I can live with that. Furthermore, there is a disclaimer that the training was based on an early beta version of Office 2010 and so you may spot a few minor discrepancies here and there. Finally, the name of the fictitious campaign used as the training document may well raise a giggle amongst UK users; I mean Yugotit sounds like some eastern European late-night porn channel doesn't it ... oh hang on - it's meant to be you-got-it eh? Errm ... just forget I wrote that!

Minor quibbles aside, all in all, this is a very useful package, which delivers on its promises and which I was delighted to receive through the ever excellent Vine programme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars For a very specific audience, 11 Oct. 2012
By 
A. Skudder (Crawley, West Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This course is aimed at a very specific audience - people who are familiar with Office 2007 who are upgrading to 2010 and want to know what is different between the two versions. If you are upgrading from Office 2000 or 2003 then it won't tell you about features that were introduced in the major revision of 2007. It will also not help much if you are not familiar with Office at all as it assumes you already know how to use the applications.

What it does do, it does fairly well. I'm actually more familiar with Office 2000 and have only used 2007 a little, but it did show me lots of things I hadn't yet discovered on my own.

There are actually two discs. Disc one is the one listed in the details, which covers the new features by application (about 7 hours of material) and disc two (about 7 and a half hours) goes into a bit more depth on the features that are common to all the parts of the suite. The trouble is that some of that is already covered on disc one so there is some repetition.

I had a little trouble with the initial install because of verions of Quicktime. The install process said I didn't have the right version and should install it from the disc, and then when it tried to do that the Quicktime wouldn't install because I already had a more recent version. Somehow that sorted itself.

The whole course is presented by one person who pops up at the start of each chapter to introduce it and then narrates, in a slightly folksy way, a series of recorded screen displays. This was OK, but the whole thing runs in a window rather than full screen. It is readable, but annoying that it is not using the whole screen.

All the sample and demonstration files used in the lessons are on the discs and are installed so you can play with them yourself.

By the end of it I felt that I had picked up quite a few things. I'm pretty sure I would have discovered tham all myself eventually, but in some cases I may not have found them for years - I've been using Office 2000 for more than 10 years and still keep finding new things. I do wonder if this is over-priced considering the limited scope - but then again with over 14 hours of training it does only work out at about six pounds an hour, which isn't too bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Sandford "Sandy" (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
As the product description states, this package is for those who have experience of Office 2007 (and I guess other previous versions). If that is all you require then this is OK. But if you want to learn more about what this suite of software can do for you it certainly is not 'Total' training, although it is a 'cost-effective' alternative.
With these points in mind the individual course elements are well covered in an easy to comprehend style, although as others have noted a 'UK' concentric accent/person would be nice. Whilst Erin Olsen is obviously well versed in her subject matter, her tonal quality leaves much to be desired, rather like one of my old school teachers. droning on and nobody really taking in the detail!
On a more positive note, the package runs on both Windows and MAc OSX, and being able to split the screen between training and application is great. I have used the software on both platforms without any gliches as mentioned elsewhere.
One final point, when browsing the Amazon product details, the 'product features and details' for this package and this one Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 (PC/Mac)are at the time of writing identical. In reality this set has a second disk that takes the initial training a step further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful, 10 Dec. 2010
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I don't use Microsoft Office professionally but I do still use it for something or other most days and having recently upgraded to 2010 (big jump from 2000!) I thought this would be a handy little training guide; and it definitely is. I do agree with another reviewer that the presenter has a pretty grating voice, but even so, working through the various functions of the software while playing through the training tutorials is extremely helpful.

My own reservation would have been that it seems quite pricey, but as I read on a review for another Total Training package, considering what it would cost you to get taught this stuff on a course it's not actually such a bad deal and all in the comfort of your own home, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Only for those who used the previous 2007 version, 24 May 2012
By 
Russtafarian (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
If you're still using the Office 2003 release, then stay away, It only really features the updates from the 2007 release.
Do yourself a favour and a buy a book, or search online for free! Or if you must spend money for video - use Lynda.com! This is too pricey for the average Office user.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good product for home learning, 14 May 2012
By 
George Rodger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Looks pricey at first, but is pretty exhaustive in what it covers - remember the second disk though!

I found it well put together, and easy to use and work through - perhaps it's a personal taste thing, but I like the flexibility of home 'studying'. Obviously I got this through Vine, but I would still think it worth the rrp.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frustratingly annoying to watch and quite limited content, 29 Nov. 2010
By 
B Smith (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Although I've been impressed with the high quality of Total Training products in the past, I can't help but feel that their quality is starting to slip and the training is just not up to par when you compare it to some of their competitors. The presenter Erin Olsen has an exceptionally annoying voice and everything about the training DVD is targeted at a heavy American audience from the voiceover to the examples of work used. It can make it really frustrating for someone not used to such a strong American accent to watch.

I also found that there was limited content on the disc as it only covers NEW FEATURES of Office 2010, this doesn't help you how to understand how to do common, but yet still essential, techniques that existed before Office 2010.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Total Training for Microsoft Office 2010 Getting up to Speed New Features (PC/Mac)
£70.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews