Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars thats a good deal, 2 Jun 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones (Paperback)
ah! remember this show?this book is a real labour of love and has been written with the greatest respect for all involved.the authors have gone to great lengths to find out everything and i do mean everything about this show.like the previous reviewer i wasn't really expecting much more than a cut and paste job but this really is top class.the detail is amazing.it brought back to me how much i used to love this show and the subsequent shock felt at the death of pete duel.ben murphy and roger davis are extensively interviewed throughout as is roy huggins the shows producer.one of the interviews with ben sounds hilarious as he was doing his exercises on the floor while the girls tried to take notes.there is an episode guide with fully detailed plot outlines,cast and bloopers.wonderful memories rekindled along with some sad ones.now when are universal going to release the whole series on dvd?an entertaining enjoyable informative and very entertaining read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alias Smith and Jones - the book, 6 May 2006
By 
steveacoustic (Norwich, Norfolk, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones (Paperback)
This is a brilliant book - far better than I thought it would be. It really is a very intelligent, thoughtful, informative, entertaining and well-written book about a much-loved and much-missed TV series. And it's much more than an episode-by-episode synopsis. It's an involving explanation of how TV series emerge from the drawing board to the studio and the network and all the politics involved. It deals very sensitively with the shock of Pete Duel's death and the subsequent fall-out for the cast and crew. The writers have gone to a great deal of effort to interview actors and production staff to get a balanced perspective on a landmark TV show. And given that the book is American in origin, as of course is Alias Smith and Jones itself, the writers make mention of the series' phenomenal popularity over here in the UK. An absorbing read, highly recommended to all AS&J fans but also to the general reader with an interest in classic TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Nov 2011
By 
G. R. Defiore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones (Paperback)
I recently purchased this book to accompany the Series 1 set of DVDs which were released in the UK. I have to say it is an excellent book, the research that has gone into it, episode by episode gives me new insight to a programme that I saw from the beginning in the 70's when I was 15, also interesting are the interviews and the bloopers (which I had never noticed before!)as well as some photos that I had never seen, I am nearly at the end of the dvds and am eagerly awaiting the release in the UK of Series 2 and 3, I really hope that the dvds get released over in the UK as they have in the US, until then I can only flick through the remaining sections of the this book and read about the rest of the episodes. Well done ladies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real nostalgia, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones: The Story of Two Pretty Good Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Loved this show when it aired, Great to watch Pete Duel in action again,Shame i cant buy the rest of the series as they all seem to be the wrong region.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones: The Story of Two Pretty Good Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
A marvelous book for Smith and Jones fans. The amount of detail not only about the series itself, but the background is amazing. I bought the Kindle edition for £2.10, and the photographs alone are worth far more than that. Like other reviewers I was not sure what to expect, but I cannot recommend this book too highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 18 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones (Paperback)
The book is well written and extremely well researched , most absorbing and an absolute must for fans of this fantastic show . Well worth the money .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5 star (if you are a fan), 15 Oct 2012
By 
Bob W (Pickering, North Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones: The Story of Two Pretty Good Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Can't get enough AS&J. This is of course terrific, we all know them even if they are nearly forgotten. After this then via Amazon i bout the 2nd and 3rd series from some place in California and they work just fine on our DVD blu ray thing even though the pictures are not full screen (the edges left and right edges are have about 2 inches of black on a 46" screen). If you are a fan but it, otherwise the Harry Briscoe will be looking for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant and very informative book, 8 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones: The Story of Two Pretty Good Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant and very informative book. Loved the episode descriptions with Pete Duel in them but unfortunately never watched all the Roger Davis episodes so got abit lost, but overall a brilliant book. Would recommend to any AS&J fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones: The Story of Two Pretty Good Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Great book for any Alias Smith and Jones fans. Extremely comprehensive with interviews and behind the scenes stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remembering Pete Duel, 10 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alias Smith & Jones: The Story of Two Pretty Good Bad Men (Kindle Edition)
Took me right back to my childhood reminiscing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews