Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Closet
If you only buy one DVD of a British film buy Skeletons.

Skeletons is a darkly comic debut from Nick Whitfield with lineage through Ealing and European schools of film making.

The central characters Davis and Bennett are agents of Veridical and visit people's homes to metaphorically clean out skeletons from their closets; hidden and often dirty...
Published on 1 Sep 2010 by MR C J FOUNTAIN

versus
11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A superb film but a HORRIBLY inept transfer to DVD.
This is the worst transfer from a film or recent video source that I've ever seen. It's quite literally VHS quality in places.
The film itself (by which I mean 'Skeletons') is superb but massively let down by the morons who put it on DVD where most people will see it!
At times it looks like it was recorded using a mobile phone, in fact my phone does far better...
Published on 24 Oct 2010 by P. White


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Out of the Closet, 1 Sep 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
If you only buy one DVD of a British film buy Skeletons.

Skeletons is a darkly comic debut from Nick Whitfield with lineage through Ealing and European schools of film making.

The central characters Davis and Bennett are agents of Veridical and visit people's homes to metaphorically clean out skeletons from their closets; hidden and often dirty secrets which people are too weak to disclose themselves, and indeed the services offered by Veridical are perceived by the clients as a form of fanciful post-modernist therapy, and they do not truly believe that Davis and Bennett can discover their secrets.

The duo is played with both Pinter-esque menace and Sam Beckett comedy by Andrew Buckley and Ed Gaughan.

The film is a dark comedy with early laugh-out-loud scenes, but ultimately delivers a compelling message about loss and memory.

Unmistakeably English in its charming eccentricity, there are traces of great European films such as Delicatessen in its construction.

Skeletons is a gem of English independent cinema that fully deserves its accolades, and the award of the Michael Powell award for Best New British Feature Film at the Edinburgh Film Festival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A British classic in the making, 16 Sep 2010
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
You couldn't be blamed for missing this at the cinema, because this one's had a hard time getting space. It's a tragic world we live in where the Resident Evils and the Grown Ups get screens, but something that's homegrown, would have a wide appeal and is funny, touching, thought provoking and not a little bit eccentric has to consign itself to a couple of showings a week at selected arthouses.

Now you have no excuse for not picking up the DVD. Andrew Buckley and Ed Gaughan are a very engaging lead duo, and as they navigate you through their off-kilter world, you will find yourself being quickly and completely drawn in. Jason Isaacs lends a name and a moustache to the cast, but everyone here is excellent, and writer / director excels on both counts and is one to watch for the future. Any attempt to describe the exact tone is doomed to failure, because without fear of hyperbole this one is genuinely unique and has to be seen to be fully appreciated.

If you've heard Jason Isaacs on the Kermode / Mayo 5 live podcasts, and wondered about that film that Isaacs keeps mentioning whenever he's on, then you owe it to yourself to check it out. We need more films like this to be made and shown in Britain, so do yourself a favour, and give Skeletons a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical, 4 Mar 2013
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this unusual and entrancing film set in houses in the British countryside. It has really great locations and some really good actors, it is well filmed and has some highly memorable accents. The film is about two men who work for a company specialising in exorcising memories. The job is dangerous and stressful and both the men are on the edge. The film sees a lot of people who are stuck being able to move on by the end, which I though was lovely. Some of the shots and elements are wildly eccentric and quite brilliant, a breath of fresh air. This is a film about memories, friendship, relationships, the danger in looking back, trust and even, wonderfully and quite magically, references to Bulgaria (has to be seen to be believed).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected and Touching, 10 Nov 2010
By 
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
This is a small budget but affecting movie that shows what can be done with some talent and imagination. The story is truly original and the telling of it is marvellous, pacey and amusing with moments of real tenderness and humour throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Don't get Trapped in the Closet, 25 Sep 2012
By 
J Brackell (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
It's strange how certain things stick in your mind, and my first exposure to this film came from a review on a website where there was a picture of the two leads, wearing suits and holding briefcases, as they walked along train tracks (something that happens a lot in the film) and it seemed so odd that it stuck in my memory and intrigued me enough to read about the film, which sounded like it had a nice blend of indie film mixed with the paranormal. Eventually I was reminded of the film again, and I quickly added it to my LoveFilm queue.

Skeletons won't be too everyone's taste. It doesn't explain itself fully and a lot of the storyline is dependant on the audience filling in the blanks and drawing their own conclusions. The basic premise is that the two leads work for an unusual agency, who visit people's homes and perform a pseudo-exorcism on the 'skeletons' in the closet, entering their memories to discover their secrets, then report back to the people. This is predominately used for couples to discover whether their spouse has any secrets, but eventually the two leads are given a different case to work - a missing persons case.

I really enjoyed this film, especially due to the complex nature of the plot and I can see the similarities to 'Inception', which focuses on dreams whereas this movie focuses on memories. I would like to have seen more adventures of this odd-couple pairing and particularly enjoyed the relationship between the two workers. It has a definite British feel and showcases a lot of the countryside with some long-shots of the duo walking towards their locations via the railroads.

Not all the questions are answered and the rules of their world aren't fully explained, but it doesn't need to be. The film works as a narrative within itself, but I would happily see further installments that expand the story and explain some of the finer details behind the agency and the methods used by the two protagonists to explore people's memories.

Great Film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique, witty and superb!, 15 Sep 2010
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
This movie is beautiful. It is dark, but funny, with a wonderful sense of tangential humour; the opening exchanges about Rasputin are akin to Python, Withnail and (as previously mentioned) Beckett. It also has heart and depth, with an emotional core that drives the narrative of the bungling protagonists through to their very satisfying resolutions. It also provides something of an existential essay on the human need for truth and closure.

It is beautifully shot, with wonderful cold, wintery tones that are a real testament to what can be done on a digital format. The performances are brilliant and the mysterious plot unravels superbly, without any telegraphed twists and turns. It's as visually rich as a Gondry film, but without too much whimsy.

In short, it's a brilliant film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant and funny, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
I think this is one of the most original, charming and funniest films that I have ever had the pleasure to see. I am awaiting it to achieve cult status like Withnail and I
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hidden gem, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
A wonderful script with great actors. The odd ball character's regional accents and the backdrop of Derbyshire combine perfectly with this original plot. A must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Skeletons DVD, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this pilot episode on TV. I love supernatural topics, i found this had a really good story, the characters were totally brilliant it had a really good plot and i enjoyed it so much i had to have the DVD. It has a brilliant concept on the supernatural and mediumistic subject, it was interesting and funny. I would like to see more of this programme. I have watched the DVD twice and still love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A superb film but a HORRIBLY inept transfer to DVD., 24 Oct 2010
By 
P. White (Cambridge, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skeletons [DVD] (DVD)
This is the worst transfer from a film or recent video source that I've ever seen. It's quite literally VHS quality in places.
The film itself (by which I mean 'Skeletons') is superb but massively let down by the morons who put it on DVD where most people will see it!
At times it looks like it was recorded using a mobile phone, in fact my phone does far better than this travesty.
When 'Skeletons' was recommended to me I went looking for the inevitable Blu-Ray but to no avail. I was irked to have to make do with a DVD and astounded and saddened at the quality thereof.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skeletons [DVD]
Skeletons [DVD] by Jason Isaacs (DVD - 2010)
£7.70
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews