Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars91
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£6.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2010
Saw this at FrightFest in August and just got my copy on DVD now, it's amazing, a great twist on Stephen King's superb Carrie [DVD] [1976], a less gross version of Mum And Dad [2008] [DVD] and a Movie about mad obsession in a similar vain to Misery (Special Edition) [1991] [DVD] I don't want to ruin the story too much. It's full of dark humour and gore, some superb acting from a cast with amazing potential. Xavier Samuel the lead guy is in the last Twilight instalment The Twilight Saga: Eclipse [DVD] playing Riley. The whole story evolves around prom night and just how far a loving father(too loving in my opinion) will go to keep his daughter happy. Seriously good, will be watching this one quite a few times!!

UPDATE 01/01/2011 - Watched the film again and loved it again, very well made and love the side story of the slightly oddly matched but well played couple who actually go to the real prom. Quite clever how the girl is linked to the main story, and a touching moment later on which links her in.

EXTRAS on the DVD - Even though they are a bit brief in places, but with interviews with all the major cast and director answering basic questions about their love of horror movies (or not) and involvement in this one. Some nice behind the scenes footage with some good insight into the making of the movie.

Overall still loving this film. If you find the review useful, give me the thumbs up please :) Thanks!
0Comment|43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2012
Every so often you see a movie that really defies attempts to classify or pigeonhole it. As near as I can manage it, The Loved Ones is the unholy offspring of a mating between Muriel's Wedding and The Texas Chainsaw Massacre; pastel-shaded bouncy Aussie comedy fun one minute, the next a sadistic little ball of incestuous hate and madness. I think it was love at first sight for me.

After a car accident takes teenaged Brent's father from him, the lad descends into an introverted world of pot and self-harm. The only real bright spots left in his world are his loveably-hopeless best mate Jamie and his supportive girlfriend Holly. The high school prom is approaching fast, and while our hero intends to go with his best girl, he gets a surprise offer from the meek and quiet Lola. He turns her down, but it soon becomes apparent that some girls take rejection very badly, and Brent's prom night rapidly descends into a nightmare of kidnapping, humiliation and mutilation at the hands of the not-so-meek-and-mild Lola and her doting Daddy, who loves his little girl a little bit too much...

The Loved Ones is nothing new, and in the current climate of braindead horror movies that seem to revel in inflicting torture and suffering on faceless young people for no other reason than to get a reaction out of a jaded young audience that have absorbed one too many shock website images, it would seem that a movie like this would have little to make it stand out from the crowd. However, the violence in The Loved Ones is all part of an ultra-black comedy, and as horrible as having a hole drilled in your skull might be, this movie succeeds in making it laugh-out-loud funny. Granted, if you're a bit squeamish, you might not see the funny side of it, but if you can get past that The Loved Ones is a movie that makes serial murder laugh material. The whole thing is contrasted by seperating prom night between Brent's ordeal, his girlfriend and mother trying to find out where he has vanished to, and Jamie having the best prom ever with the school's bad girl Mia, a clever pattern between tension, comedy, and a bleak blend of the two is maintained until the movie's climax.

Combined with some sinister low-key lighting and sets, and a dynamic and genuinely disturbing turn from Robin McLeavy as the gleefully unhinged Lola - at once girlish, cutesy and completely, utterly insane - The Loved Ones proves that for all its obvious slasher movie progenitors it can offer something different, entertaining, wince-inducing, unabashedly Aussie and very funny if you're a little bit twisted... you'd never think a pretty girl in a pink dress could give Leatherface a run for his money, but check this movie out and you might just think she can.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
This is another gem of the year for horror fans! A very strange story about a psycho girl who abducts her prom dates ever since an early age with the help of her deranged father, the movie is very dark and sinister and is brilliantly directed, there are some good gore moments and a few other deranged surprises thrown in the mix! Overall its a fresh, original and fantastic to watch little horror film that has a strong cast and has the power to be a cult classic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 October 2011
The Loved Ones is written and directed by Sean Byrne and stars Xavier Samuel, Robin McLeavy and John Brumpton. An Australian horror, the plot sees Brent Mitchell (Samuel) kill his father in a car accident. Stricken with grief he attempts to get on with his life aided by his girlfriend Holly (Victoria Thaine). But when the quietest girl in school, Lola Stone (McLeavy), asks him to the prom and he says no, he finds that he is suddenly the prom king star of a very different sort of party....

Kinda sick, kinda twisted, but an utterly compelling Aussie blood letting exercise that transcends torture porn whilst revelling in a sick sense of humour. With wry observations on teen angst and meditations on grief, loneliness, alienation and forbidden desires, Sean Byrne's film isn't out to solely shock the audience. With an evidently small budget to work from, Byrne has kept things tight and minimalist, this aids the film considerably, adding a sort of realism to the characters before it goes into overdrive as Brent (Samuel superb) finds that politely turning down Lola's (McLeavy a wonderfully monstrous creation) request has opened up (literally) a new world of pain. There's a misstep of a subplot involving another fumbling Goth couple actually going to the real prom, it serves no purpose other than to up the horny angst quota, but this is mostly slick/sick stuff. Backed by a kicking soundtrack, that's headed by the reoccurring Kasey Chambers hit single "Not Pretty Enough", itself creepy personified, The Loved Ones is highly recommended to horror fans who like a bit of torture in their diets. 8/10
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2011
My brother-in-law has a penchant for buying my wife and I films of questionable quality for special occasions. Suffice it to say, I had low expectations of this offering. Boy, was I in for a surprise.

I'm not one to regurgitate the synopsis to pad out a review so i'll cut to the chase. There really is very little new here but, let's face it, few films genuinely break new ground. Formulaic isn't necessarily bad; it's what you do with it that counts. The opening scene will have you scratching your head (ostensibly to establish the death of the protaganist's father) until halfway through the film.

After that, it's a rather ponderous start and I found myself disliking the rather lacklustre lead character. It's only once we're introduced to the highly dysfunctional (to say the least) antagonist's family that the fun really starts and I began to feel for Samuel's plight. The latter two thirds of the film is largely an exercise in sadistic torture (much more so than Texas Chainsaw Massacre in my opinion) which only serves to root for him even further (not least the unfortunate previous victims). The ending - admittedly - was rather pedestrian in comparison but overall a solid horror film well worth watching.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 September 2011
Good but falls short of the masterpiece it is proclaimed to be in some quarters. As detailed in the synopsis, spurned girl takes rejection very personally and ably assisted by her father throws her own personal prom night with the young gentleman of her choosing. Cue a number of toe-curling set pieces, gratuitous violence and torture etc.
There is a quite unneccessary subplot with a friend of the unfortunate fellow and his rather delectable goth date which acts as a contrast as to what a rather better prom night experience looks like but only serves to pad the film out a bit.
I felt an area where the film fell down a bit was the lack of background on the dysfunctional father and daughter, something to flesh them out a bit, provide an interesting backstory for as this film was slightly in danger of just having a very perfunctory disposable plot in order to justify a series of torture scenes. There was a lot more focus upon the victim and arguably less interesting characters within the film with a relatively slow build-up for the first half hour; the disturbed girl was then pretty much introduced as a psycho from the off following her 10 second rejection scene. Maybe a bit over analytical but at one point whilst our nightmare date was showing pictures of previous prom nights in this disturbed household there was a picture of her when she was very young, taken during a similar evening. I thought this was a bit overkill, if she had been indulging in this type of activity since a pre-teen I'm not convinced she would otherwise have been a relatively normal functionning adolescent at school and in the outside world. Also more would have been made of the string of young males who disappear every prom night in this hick water town.
It was generally well done and quite entertaining though. Not as strong on the stomach as She's Crushed [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] for me despite a pivotal scene featuring a near identical use of a drill.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2014
I enjoyed this movie, it has a rawness about it and maybe a certain naivety that retracts a little from suspense but is still very watchable. It doesn't really allow the viewer to do anything as it's so in your face, but the gore is quite well done and made the film enjoyable. This film is a little like 'Carrie' with the neurotic prom queen, who gets mad but there is where the similarity ends. Unlike Carrie, the protagonist takes control and we find out that she is a major manipulator with a very dark secret world. I would recommend
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2011
I bought this movie after seeing the trailer on another dvd i purchased from here. First i thought "uh oh, an aussie horror. Really??"
Finally got to watch it the other night, and i was surprised at how much i enjoyed watching it.
Ok, i was put off finding out that Xavier Samuel is apart of the Twilight rubbish but.. ergh... whatever.

So yeah, troubled teen turns down an invite to the school prom by a seemingly quiet young girl. Girl's daddy kidnaps boy and they have some fun torturing him. It's (as someone else remarked) its a sort of mix between Carrie and Mum and Dad. How they torture the poor boy is abit different, which i liked. These scenes will no doubt make you mumble "oooh, that's gotta tickle".

Not much of an ending, but it works.
Glad i bought this, it's a film i can deffinately watch again and again and not exile it to the box of watch once and sell on dvds.

Fun, blood filled, and keeps you interested.

But beware of the girl with all the moles. You won't be able to take your eyes off those darn mooooooles!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2011
In order to avoid a ghostly figure in the road, high school senior Brent Mitchell wraps his car around a tree, killing his father. Constantly confronted by his mother's emotional collapse after the accident, Brent escapes into a marijuana fueled world of loud metal music to block the pain and guilt. Dejected and out of sorts, he has a shot at happiness with his girlfriend Holly, a grounded, caring girl with drop dead good looks, a dream date for the high school prom. But his plans are thwarted by a disturbing series of events that take place under a mirrored disco ball, involving pink satin, glitter, syringes, nails, power drills and a secret admirer. Brent has become the prom king at a macabre, sadistic event where he is the entertainment.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2011
A darkly humorous slasher flick that takes a somewhat predictable genre and gives it an effective twist. Here the slashing is done by a maniacal father and daughter team. Daddy wants to protect his serially-rejected, sociopathic daughter, and together they've perfected an inventively sadistic revenge routine. The usual teen angst is ramped up by some heavy-duty guilt and loss but the film works best when it dishes out the grim laughs. The grief and guilt affecting the main teenage protagonists is sometimes laboured and might even be considered padding at times, but when the gore and grins kick in it works very well. Good performances too from an unfamiliar cast.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)