Customer Reviews


131 Reviews
5 star:
 (107)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Rider - The new James Bond?
Eagle Strike is the fourth book in the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz. Alex is a truly wonderful creation. He is the person every schoolboy in the world wants to be. Each of Horowitz's books is twice as good as the last. Horowitz has excelled himself yet again with another fantastic book.
In " Eagle Strike" Alex is still only fifteen but has already had three...
Published on 20 April 2003

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some inconsistencies with previous books but another interesting plot
For this story to work, Alan Blunt, the head of MI6 has to not believe Alex when he suggests that the pop star Damian Cray is responsible. Given that Alex has worked for him 3 times and come up trumps each time, for Alan Blunt (a character we know to be suspicious and manipulative) to be so dismissive seems rather OOC. I had been hoping that there would have been a...
Published on 13 Jun 2007 by I Read, Therefore I Blog


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alex Rider - The new James Bond?, 20 April 2003
By A Customer
Eagle Strike is the fourth book in the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz. Alex is a truly wonderful creation. He is the person every schoolboy in the world wants to be. Each of Horowitz's books is twice as good as the last. Horowitz has excelled himself yet again with another fantastic book.
In " Eagle Strike" Alex is still only fifteen but has already had three life changing adventures that involved poison gas, clones and ultimate world domination. This time Alex Rider is on the track of multi-millionaire Damian Cray. When he sees contract killer Yassen Gregorovich visit Cray he suspects the worse. When MI6 refuse to look into it, Alex decides to investigate, with or without their help.
Fate also leads Alex to his destiny. But does he like what he finds?
Tension, atmosphere and suspense unite in the adventure of a lifetime. Enter Alex's world of spies, gadgets and murder in this superb book. It will take your breath away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagle Strike, 21 Aug 2007
I think that Eagle Strike is brilliant for the action,suspense,explosive adventures,missions and interesting ending. Eagle Strike is the first book I read and it was much better than I expected. If you are a 10 year old hooked on video games and your mother tells you to read start with Alex Rider.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some inconsistencies with previous books but another interesting plot, 13 Jun 2007
For this story to work, Alan Blunt, the head of MI6 has to not believe Alex when he suggests that the pop star Damian Cray is responsible. Given that Alex has worked for him 3 times and come up trumps each time, for Alan Blunt (a character we know to be suspicious and manipulative) to be so dismissive seems rather OOC. I had been hoping that there would have been a deliberate reason for this (i.e. Blunt was deliberately being dismissive in order to provoke Alex into investigating under his own auspices), but Horowitz makes it clear that this is not the reason and I think that's a big missed opportunity.

The big villain in the story is Damian Cray, a Buddhist pop star and charity worker who's something of a cross between Elton John, Bob Geldoff and Bono. This is the first villain in the series that I've totally loved because Horowitz is making such a tongue-in-cheek reference that it's something an adult can really enjoy. Cray still suffers from Bond villain syndrome - an overly grandiose plan and being nuttier than a fruitcake - but at least his plan was well thought out (involving nuclear explosions and Air Force One).

I also enjoyed the fact that Horowitz brings back Yassen Gregorovich as Cray's henchman and this time, weaves the Russian assassin into the backstory of the Rider family and sets up Alex for the next book, Scorpia. There's a tiny nitpick regarding Gregorovich's motivation - we're told that he would never be able to bring himself to kill Alex because of his friendship with Alex's father, and yet this friendship does not seem to have stopped him whacking Alex's Uncle Ian in Stormbreaker.

The plot moves quickly and the set-piece action scenes are pretty exciting. I was particularly intrigued by the scenes in the Amsterdam factory where Cray has set up a real life mock up for his computer game Gameslayer One: Feathered Serpant and the fact that Cray uses it to kill people just so that he can electronically copy the facial expressions to make the game more realistic. I did think that it was a shame for Horowitz to lever in the gadgets (although it is in character for Smithers to send something to help Alex and for Mrs Jones to want him to have some help) because I'd have liked to see what Alex could do without them, but the way the bike was used was effective and very visual.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eagle Strike, 5 April 2003
By 
Rachel (England, Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
After reading Anthony Horowitz previous Alex Rider books, this one offered just as much excitment as the previous ones. This time Alex must save the world by himself, with no help from MI6. He discovers a link with a Damian Cray, celebrity, human rights campaigner and creater of a new computer console, who, like in the other 'baddies' in the previous books, wishes to influence the world with 'Eagle strike'. Alex's lack of gadgets is slightly disappointing, or rather the use of them, but the amount of action makes up for this. His friend from Skeleton Key, Sabina Pleasure, offers yet more action and is key to the plot. Nail-biting chapters, excitment and action bring this book together to offer a wonderful read - well up to the standard of Anthony Horowitz. A revalation about Alex's past offeres a shocking ending and hopefully an invitation for another book in the series! Hurrah!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yet another one!, 5 Jun 2003
Having read this book in less than two days i put it down feeling slightly dissappointed. Having read the other three before i couldnt help but feel that this one was really quite similar. Horowitz is certainly an excellent writer and the book is very good but his Alex Rider series is becoming a bit repetitive. However the story line is very good and the quality of writing is great. Perfectly enjoyable for a quiet afternoon or a long plane flight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a book!, 27 Jun 2004
This book is amazing! After the first three you think it can't get any better but, wow how does Anthony Horowitz do it! You can't put it down just like the rest of them! It ends with a cliffhanger (of course) which leads it cleverly into the next book! The entire series is brilliant! But one minor warning: YOU WILL NEVER PUT IT DOWN 'TILL YOU'RE FINNISHED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Incredible Eagle Strike, 9 Sep 2003
Eagle strike is the latest and best adventure in the gripping Alex Rider series. This time, daring teenage spy, Alex Rider must infiltrate popstar and human rights campeigner Damien Cray. It begins quite suddenly when Gregorrovich attacks Alex's friend Sabina Pleasure. Alex has 90 minutes to save the world with no MI6 and nothing but a bike and cycle gear. It has even more chases, action and adventure than it's prequels plus a auprising twist at the end. Eagle strike has to be the best book Ive ever read and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes action and adventure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can They Get BETTER!!!, 31 July 2003
WOW! Yet another brilliant story from the wonder that is Horowitz. His writing technique and imagination is absolutely FANTASTIC & this book is certainly not an anti climax from the other three. Alex Rider, Teenage Superspy, has to save the world by himself! How will he do it, and will he save his 'girl'! Read to find out! One thing is for sure - Horowitz needs to write another!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars :O AMAZING!!!! :O, 21 April 2003
By A Customer
This book has to be one of the greatest books I have EVER read. This made Harry Potter look like spot the dog! This fun filled, action packed, super-book KICKS MONKEY BUTT! its soooo good! The ending is surely the greatest in the Alex Rider series. And the way that he is slowly finding out about his past and his family is sooooo clever! You have to have read all the books in the series to understand this, or it wont make such a big impact on you. The plot is amazing, it does have an inkling of slightly far fetchedness... but who cares!? It's an honour to be writing a review of my favorite book by my favorite author, Sir Anthony Horowitz.
Buy the book.
Or else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the Alex Rider Books, 17 July 2005
This is definetly the best Alex Rider Book, it combines action with adventure. I felt it really hard to put down and most of the time I was so nervous and couldn't stop reading.
The reason this is better than the other Alex Rider Books (even though they are all good) is because of its amazing finale and the fact that the villain could be a celebrity. It also leaves you thinking about his motives and were they actually that bad.
The worst bit is, at the end you don't have a clue what is going to happen next and I had to wait a year for Scorpia.
I would reccomend this for teenagers because it is more enjoyable than Artemis Fowl and more action than Harry Potter. I think any book by Antony Horowitz is great for encouraging teenagers to read because they are as good as any movie!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eagle Strike (Alex Rider Book 4)
£3.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews