Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars153
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2003
Eagle Strike is the fourth book in the Alex Rider series by Anthony Horowitz. Alex is a truly wonderful creation. He is the person every schoolboy in the world wants to be. Each of Horowitz's books is twice as good as the last. Horowitz has excelled himself yet again with another fantastic book.
In " Eagle Strike" Alex is still only fifteen but has already had three life changing adventures that involved poison gas, clones and ultimate world domination. This time Alex Rider is on the track of multi-millionaire Damian Cray. When he sees contract killer Yassen Gregorovich visit Cray he suspects the worse. When MI6 refuse to look into it, Alex decides to investigate, with or without their help.
Fate also leads Alex to his destiny. But does he like what he finds?
Tension, atmosphere and suspense unite in the adventure of a lifetime. Enter Alex's world of spies, gadgets and murder in this superb book. It will take your breath away.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2007
I think that Eagle Strike is brilliant for the action,suspense,explosive adventures,missions and interesting ending. Eagle Strike is the first book I read and it was much better than I expected. If you are a 10 year old hooked on video games and your mother tells you to read start with Alex Rider.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
For this story to work, Alan Blunt, the head of MI6 has to not believe Alex when he suggests that the pop star Damian Cray is responsible. Given that Alex has worked for him 3 times and come up trumps each time, for Alan Blunt (a character we know to be suspicious and manipulative) to be so dismissive seems rather OOC. I had been hoping that there would have been a deliberate reason for this (i.e. Blunt was deliberately being dismissive in order to provoke Alex into investigating under his own auspices), but Horowitz makes it clear that this is not the reason and I think that's a big missed opportunity.

The big villain in the story is Damian Cray, a Buddhist pop star and charity worker who's something of a cross between Elton John, Bob Geldoff and Bono. This is the first villain in the series that I've totally loved because Horowitz is making such a tongue-in-cheek reference that it's something an adult can really enjoy. Cray still suffers from Bond villain syndrome - an overly grandiose plan and being nuttier than a fruitcake - but at least his plan was well thought out (involving nuclear explosions and Air Force One).

I also enjoyed the fact that Horowitz brings back Yassen Gregorovich as Cray's henchman and this time, weaves the Russian assassin into the backstory of the Rider family and sets up Alex for the next book, Scorpia. There's a tiny nitpick regarding Gregorovich's motivation - we're told that he would never be able to bring himself to kill Alex because of his friendship with Alex's father, and yet this friendship does not seem to have stopped him whacking Alex's Uncle Ian in Stormbreaker.

The plot moves quickly and the set-piece action scenes are pretty exciting. I was particularly intrigued by the scenes in the Amsterdam factory where Cray has set up a real life mock up for his computer game Gameslayer One: Feathered Serpant and the fact that Cray uses it to kill people just so that he can electronically copy the facial expressions to make the game more realistic. I did think that it was a shame for Horowitz to lever in the gadgets (although it is in character for Smithers to send something to help Alex and for Mrs Jones to want him to have some help) because I'd have liked to see what Alex could do without them, but the way the bike was used was effective and very visual.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2003
After reading Anthony Horowitz previous Alex Rider books, this one offered just as much excitment as the previous ones. This time Alex must save the world by himself, with no help from MI6. He discovers a link with a Damian Cray, celebrity, human rights campaigner and creater of a new computer console, who, like in the other 'baddies' in the previous books, wishes to influence the world with 'Eagle strike'. Alex's lack of gadgets is slightly disappointing, or rather the use of them, but the amount of action makes up for this. His friend from Skeleton Key, Sabina Pleasure, offers yet more action and is key to the plot. Nail-biting chapters, excitment and action bring this book together to offer a wonderful read - well up to the standard of Anthony Horowitz. A revalation about Alex's past offeres a shocking ending and hopefully an invitation for another book in the series! Hurrah!
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2003
Having read this book in less than two days i put it down feeling slightly dissappointed. Having read the other three before i couldnt help but feel that this one was really quite similar. Horowitz is certainly an excellent writer and the book is very good but his Alex Rider series is becoming a bit repetitive. However the story line is very good and the quality of writing is great. Perfectly enjoyable for a quiet afternoon or a long plane flight.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2004
This book is amazing! After the first three you think it can't get any better but, wow how does Anthony Horowitz do it! You can't put it down just like the rest of them! It ends with a cliffhanger (of course) which leads it cleverly into the next book! The entire series is brilliant! But one minor warning: YOU WILL NEVER PUT IT DOWN 'TILL YOU'RE FINNISHED!
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2003
Eagle strike is the latest and best adventure in the gripping Alex Rider series. This time, daring teenage spy, Alex Rider must infiltrate popstar and human rights campeigner Damien Cray. It begins quite suddenly when Gregorrovich attacks Alex's friend Sabina Pleasure. Alex has 90 minutes to save the world with no MI6 and nothing but a bike and cycle gear. It has even more chases, action and adventure than it's prequels plus a auprising twist at the end. Eagle strike has to be the best book Ive ever read and I would recommend this book to anyone who likes action and adventure!
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2003
WOW! Yet another brilliant story from the wonder that is Horowitz. His writing technique and imagination is absolutely FANTASTIC & this book is certainly not an anti climax from the other three. Alex Rider, Teenage Superspy, has to save the world by himself! How will he do it, and will he save his 'girl'! Read to find out! One thing is for sure - Horowitz needs to write another!!!
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2003
This book has to be one of the greatest books I have EVER read. This made Harry Potter look like spot the dog! This fun filled, action packed, super-book KICKS MONKEY BUTT! its soooo good! The ending is surely the greatest in the Alex Rider series. And the way that he is slowly finding out about his past and his family is sooooo clever! You have to have read all the books in the series to understand this, or it wont make such a big impact on you. The plot is amazing, it does have an inkling of slightly far fetchedness... but who cares!? It's an honour to be writing a review of my favorite book by my favorite author, Sir Anthony Horowitz.
Buy the book.
Or else.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2005
This is definetly the best Alex Rider Book, it combines action with adventure. I felt it really hard to put down and most of the time I was so nervous and couldn't stop reading.
The reason this is better than the other Alex Rider Books (even though they are all good) is because of its amazing finale and the fact that the villain could be a celebrity. It also leaves you thinking about his motives and were they actually that bad.
The worst bit is, at the end you don't have a clue what is going to happen next and I had to wait a year for Scorpia.
I would reccomend this for teenagers because it is more enjoyable than Artemis Fowl and more action than Harry Potter. I think any book by Antony Horowitz is great for encouraging teenagers to read because they are as good as any movie!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.