Shop now Shop now Shop now Wedding Guest Edit Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars85
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 July 2002
I fully recommend Anthony Horowitz's new Alex Rider book, Skeleton Key. It is action-packed and reads just like watching an adventure film. This is a great sequel to 'Stormbreaker' and 'Point Blanc'. Anthony Horowitz makes me never want to put his books down because he is such a great author. This time, MI6 persuade Alex to find out who is trying to sabotage the Wimbledon tennis championships. Then a murderous Chinese triad gang try to kill him. He is forced to hide out at an island called Skeleton Key. General Sarov is an insane Russian who plans to change history with a nuclear bomb. Only Alex can stop him with some brilliantly disguised gadgets, such as a mobile phone that works underwater and has an aerial that shoots out a drugged needle when dialing '999'. Sarov's henchman, Conrad, doesn't making it easy for Alex. The teenage spy comes face to face with a great white shark, battles against a triad gang member on a jet ski, tries to blow up a classic motor yacht, and loads more... This is not as thrilling as the excellent 'Stormbreaker', but it is still one of the best books I've read.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2003
The third installment in the Alex Rider series looked set to be another star book - and it was. The third book incorporates some very good language and shows Alex has slightly matured but is still wanted as a spy. His skills are once again required and he has to save the day in this exciting spy adventure. Pick it up.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2003
Great third book by Horowitz...I'm only a teenager,and not that fond of books,but this was one of the best.About how young Alex Rider saves the world,yet again,but this time along with the CIA.He travels from England to America,to an island close to Cuba,and to Russia.He comes close to death,almost killed by a mad man's assitant...in the eyes of the mad man,he is a hero,intent on "saving the world" but is sort of off in the head.Hope you like this book.Hope Horowitz's fourth comes to the USA sometime soon so I can read it too...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2002
Once again Mr Horowitz has written a "kids" book that literally blows many so called "Adult" writers out of the water.
I have recently been reading nothing but childrens books because frankly i believe the standard of writing far better, the imagination far greater and the editing tighter. 'Sophies World' 'Mortal Engines' and of course 'The Dark Materials trilogy' have all been excellent reading for all ages.
Anthony Horowitz has surpassed the two previous Alex Rider books in terms of entertainment as they just keep getting better. Very witty (and always with a knowing wink) and suitable for all ages, with action and explosions for youngsters and also some lovely 'in-jokes' for adults.
My only gripe is that as Mr Horowitz is normally so good at 'play on word' titles (Point Blanc, French Confection and my fave The Falcons Malteaser) is still feel it should have been called 'Skeleton Quay'...
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2002
Teen spy Alex Rider is more Harry Palmer than James Bond, a reluctant agent who just wants to get on with his life. But author Anthony Horowitz has other plans for him, pitting him against villains with delicious names like Herod Sayle and Dr Grief and forcing his fourteen year old hero - Buffy-like - to save the world more than once.
The pace of Alex Rider's third adventure 'Skeleton Key' is so compulsive that is almost impossible to put down. Thoroughly researched and extremely well-written, with evocative settings and great baddies, this is a brilliant adventure for kids aged 10 and up. And there are plenty of 'in-jokes' for us grown ups, too.
Plus, I like the book's cover. As Dustin Hoffman says in Rain Man: 'Sparkly... very sparkly.' I want sparkles on MY next book!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2002
Really fantastic read! Another Alex Rider book even better than Stormbreaker and Point Blanc-but you have to read Stormbreaker first to be able to relate to all the characters. I couldn't put it down so I read it all in one day! Lots of cliffhanger situations to keep you hooked to the very end. You'll love this book if you enjoy really good adventure stories with a few laughs thrown in.
All in all it was FANTASTIC!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon 13 June 2002
For parents of boys who've given up on books, the Alex Rider series is a godsend. Here the reluctant teenage spy foils a Triad betting scam while working undercover as ball-boy at WImbledon, out-manoeuvres an assassin on his surfboard at Cornwall and survives a shark attack and a killer cave that kills two adult CIA spies. Ultimately, he saves the world... The tension is wicked, and so are the great jokes. More, please!
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2003
This is a really exciting book. It is the third Alex Rider book by Anthony Horowitz and I think its the best. It features spies, Crocodiles, Sharks and a Wimbledon Tennis Champion and is set in the Carribean. If you liked Stormbreaker and Point Blanc you will really love 'Skeleton Key'.
Spike Western
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2002
The third in the series, Skeleton Key brings facinating excitement to the world of reading. When i read the first book, Stormbreaker, i was more than impressed. When i read the 2nd, Point Blanc, I was stunned, now i've read this book i am stunned, impressed, excited, overpowered and amazed that anyone could write such an AMAZING book. Alex Rider, teenage spy, is in this book, helping the CIA. The two people from the CIA looking after him are killed and Alex must save the world from a Nuclear Bomb on his own. It is a great book which I could not put down. So much suspense was crammed into the pages of this book.I don't know whether Anthony Horowitz is gonna be writing any more in this series but if he doesn't, i hope someone does. Even after reading Harry Potter, i believe that this book is the best book i've read in my Life.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2006
I have read all of the alex rider books to date. I started reading them when i was 10 or 11 and now i am 16 and still re-reading them.

As with all the books Skeleton Key offers lots of easy to read and fast paced action, mixed in with Anthony Horowitz's own brand of humour which should keep anyone amused for hours and as usual the crooked hench-men that Horowitz comes up with would probably even give James Bond a run for his money. The contrasts and changes of locations in the book, along with the various factions Alex is forced to work for make sure you never think about putting this book down and are bound to keep anyone interested.

This book can be read be everyone, going from the kid dreams of being a spy, to the 40-something parent... who dreams of being a spy.

This is my favourite book of the series and i think one of the best childrens fiction books around.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.