Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic stand alone album
I am thouroughly enjoying this amazing album by Paul Heaton. So may stand out tracks with clever and often subtle and witty lyrics. My favourite tracks at the moment are Its a Young Man's Game, The Old Radio and Life of a Cat. Not since Miaow from The Beautiful South, in my opinion has Heaton had so much opportunity to show off his lyrical prowess. The inclusion of two...
Published on 18 Oct 2010 by robbie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
not bad not great
Published 1 month ago by Sam E


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic stand alone album, 18 Oct 2010
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
I am thouroughly enjoying this amazing album by Paul Heaton. So may stand out tracks with clever and often subtle and witty lyrics. My favourite tracks at the moment are Its a Young Man's Game, The Old Radio and Life of a Cat. Not since Miaow from The Beautiful South, in my opinion has Heaton had so much opportunity to show off his lyrical prowess. The inclusion of two female guest singers is also an excellent way of showcasing his storytelling skills and adds a great dimension to this fantastic album. can't wait for the next one!Miaow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lyrical & Musical Masterpiece, 15 Oct 2010
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
This album is brilliant the first time you hear it, and then it gets better and better. It covers many musical genres including ballad, country, pop with even a bit of rock thrown in.
Lyrically Acid Country is up there with Heatons best (The people who grinned.... Welcome to.. Choke, Miaow, Gaze etc etc)
Musically it is a move away from the polished, slick sounds of TBS and there are no trumpet/trombone sounds that almost became synonomous with TBS yet this still hits all the right notes in a 'back to real, raw music' kind of way.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and if you were a Housemartin or TBS fan you will love it.
I have seen Paul Heaton and his band on tour recently (Leadmill, Sheffield) and it was fantastic! Buy the album and go see him live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars acid music, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
Heaton is in fine form on acid country with no holding back on saying how it is. this ablum is without doubt a progression from his previous album where heaton has matured into a more confident solo artist. the band gel together nicely giving a rounded complete sound to the record. its hard to pick a week song on this album with most of them very strong, yet maybe no real contender for par excellence. in all a great lyrically inspiring album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Typical Paul Heaton, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acid Country [Explicit] (MP3 Download)
Witty, clever lyrics with incites into modern day Britain. We should expect no less from Mr Heaton, and he certainly delivers here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaton Heaton, 15 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
Back to his brilliant best after semi diss. of Mermaids and Slaves.
Acid Country is lyrically topical and precise.There are catchy tunes for fans of Housemartins and BS fans.
It might just be ststing the obvious but I think the theme of this album is that WE ARE ALL GETTING OLDER. (true of lifelong fans)..This is a great addition for fans of British music and A MUST for all fans of this great singer songwriter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great 2nd/3rd Solo Album, 23 Sep 2010
By 
Daniel Taylor (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
A slow and melancholy album from Mr Heaton. As ever great lyrics and great tunes there is a definate bluesy/country feel to it.

I would recommend this to any fan of Paul Heaton, The Beautiful South, The Housemartins.

I just hope he doesn't leave it as long for his next effort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Heaton, 12 Sep 2010
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
Being a life long fan of Paul Heaton's work through the Beautiful South (I discovered the Housemartins after and I love their body of work too) I waited so long for this album and it didn't disappoint me in the least. Some of it does sound different from his previous work, but the songs are all great or better than great. It's pace is slower than The Cross Eyed Rambler, but Acid Country is just as good. I was going to put "I can't wait for album number three/four (depends if you count's Fat Chance as canon)" but with TCER and this to listen to, time is gonna fly by.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heaton, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
Great album for those that like he brilliant writing of paul heaton. Good back to basic music from a wonderful writer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGEND, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
What is there to say about Paul that hasn't already been said. He is absolute class. His song writing is second to none and everything he has done down the years is fab!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 2 Dec 2010
This review is from: Acid Country (Audio CD)
I love this album, as I do all of Paul's previous cds. Can't wait to see him on tour with Madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Acid Country [Explicit]
Buy MP3 Album4.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews