Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars29
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 October 2010
I am thouroughly enjoying this amazing album by Paul Heaton. So may stand out tracks with clever and often subtle and witty lyrics. My favourite tracks at the moment are Its a Young Man's Game, The Old Radio and Life of a Cat. Not since Miaow from The Beautiful South, in my opinion has Heaton had so much opportunity to show off his lyrical prowess. The inclusion of two female guest singers is also an excellent way of showcasing his storytelling skills and adds a great dimension to this fantastic album. can't wait for the next one!Miaow
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
This album is brilliant the first time you hear it, and then it gets better and better. It covers many musical genres including ballad, country, pop with even a bit of rock thrown in.
Lyrically Acid Country is up there with Heatons best (The people who grinned.... Welcome to.. Choke, Miaow, Gaze etc etc)
Musically it is a move away from the polished, slick sounds of TBS and there are no trumpet/trombone sounds that almost became synonomous with TBS yet this still hits all the right notes in a 'back to real, raw music' kind of way.
I would absolutely recommend this to anyone and if you were a Housemartin or TBS fan you will love it.
I have seen Paul Heaton and his band on tour recently (Leadmill, Sheffield) and it was fantastic! Buy the album and go see him live.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
Back to his brilliant best after semi diss. of Mermaids and Slaves.
Acid Country is lyrically topical and precise.There are catchy tunes for fans of Housemartins and BS fans.
It might just be ststing the obvious but I think the theme of this album is that WE ARE ALL GETTING OLDER. (true of lifelong fans)..This is a great addition for fans of British music and A MUST for all fans of this great singer songwriter.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2010
Being a life long fan of Paul Heaton's work through the Beautiful South (I discovered the Housemartins after and I love their body of work too) I waited so long for this album and it didn't disappoint me in the least. Some of it does sound different from his previous work, but the songs are all great or better than great. It's pace is slower than The Cross Eyed Rambler, but Acid Country is just as good. I was going to put "I can't wait for album number three/four (depends if you count's Fat Chance as canon)" but with TCER and this to listen to, time is gonna fly by.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
A slow and melancholy album from Mr Heaton. As ever great lyrics and great tunes there is a definate bluesy/country feel to it.

I would recommend this to any fan of Paul Heaton, The Beautiful South, The Housemartins.

I just hope he doesn't leave it as long for his next effort.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2010
Heaton is in fine form on acid country with no holding back on saying how it is. this ablum is without doubt a progression from his previous album where heaton has matured into a more confident solo artist. the band gel together nicely giving a rounded complete sound to the record. its hard to pick a week song on this album with most of them very strong, yet maybe no real contender for par excellence. in all a great lyrically inspiring album.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2010
Firstly, I have to admit to being a big Paul Heaton fan. I have every album he, The Housemartins and The Beautiful South have ever produced. Despite this loyalty I still think he has released a couple of stinkers, but this sees him back on form. The slightly caustic duet is in there with "Even a Palm Tree" and the title track is brutal and to the point without sounding harsh. He has always delivered a narrative on topics such as drink, relationships and social inequality couched in a catchy tune and this album is no exception. I can't admit to liking all the songs in one listen, but you find yourself listening to more and more of it. This album is even better than Biscuit Boy and has the hard edge that kicked his career off with The Housemartins all those years ago. My advice? Buy it!!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Witty, clever lyrics with incites into modern day Britain. We should expect no less from Mr Heaton, and he certainly delivers here.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2014
Gets better after each listen, didn't notice when this was first released but delighted to have caught up with it now. The Amazon download through the new app is a brilliant service and allows you to quickly store this in your desired library.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
What is there to say about Paul that hasn't already been said. He is absolute class. His song writing is second to none and everything he has done down the years is fab!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)