Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars
13
3.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2004
As a Moroder fan, I've always loved this soundtrack, and was looking forward to a remastered, better quality CD copy of the original. Unfortunately in this case, for 'remastered' read 'remixed'. Cheaply remixed. The tracks are pretty much as they were but in most cases with a new rhythm track that does nothing for them. None of the tracks are improved, they don't even sound more modern. This CD still leaves me wanting nothing more than a digital enhancement of the originals.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2013
Although this was never really one of the best 80's soundtracks, there are a few tracks here which would rank high in a list of the best themese from 80's movies. Paul Engelmans Push It To The Limit is an overlooked soundtrack gem and Tony's Theme by Georgio Moroder sends shivers up the spine (and is very similar to tracks he produced for The Never Ending Story a year later).
What let's this release down is (as many have stated here already)that all the tracks have been 'updated'. This is not just digital remastering but tinkering with the oiginal tracks so that the aforementioned Push It To The Limit starts with a very 90's/00's dance beat which dates the song moreso that the original from 1983 would have done. This has been done to very track apart from the two instrumentals.

There is likely only minimal demand for this soundtrack so a rerelease of the original mastered album is unlikely. As most tracks have a latin flavoured dance beat anyway, the addition of sampled beats make most of this sound like the type of thing you hate the Eurovision Song Contest for.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
Bought this by mistake thinking it was the original soundtrack. I can not believe GM had anything to do with these remix re issues.
Truly appalling.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
Oh dear.

Unfortunately this is not the soundtrack to the movie Scarface. It's actually the songs from the film remixed with horrendous techno and dance beats laid over the top that totally ruin the feel and style of the songs. Granted, the original Scarface soundtrack is a very dated album, but surely that's the point? In many people's minds Scarface symbolises the 80s as much as Miami Vice, and to take that 80s feeling away from these tracks is to take away the essence of the album, as well as its connection with the film.

The only good thing I can bring myself to say about this CD is that the extra guitar solo heard in Paul Engemann's "Push It To The Limit" in the film has been added back into the track here, but its pretty much irrelevant as all of the other additions have ruined the song.

Do yourself a favour, avoid this 'remastered' album and track down the original version.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
I agree with 'A Customer'. No proper remastering just an onverlaying, drowning rhythm track throughout. In addition the recording was defective. One of the finest tracks, Vamos a Bailar, is an unplayable cacophony. Go for an earlier version.
Peter Snow
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2010
seems the other 2 reviews of the 2003 cd don't apply to these tracks, which aren't the horrendous remixes. the 3 stars is just because the awesome moroder intro track isn't included and i'd have paid [...] just for that.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2015
Superb 80s soundtrack.A must for any fan of Moroder's genious and Blondie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2015
I wanted this for Tony's Theme. Really pleased I got it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Saw the movie when I was like 12 or something. It made a great impression on my young mind. Since then, I watched it about four time more - last time was at least ten years ago. All of a sudden, I somewhere heard the : Push It To The Limit tune. Immediately I bought the CD and it arrived a couple da of days back.

This soundtrack is a trip. The whole movie plays again in my mind's eye. Feast of recognition!

Like Scarface? Then this OST is a must have.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2015
say hello to my little friend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)