Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album!!!
Brilliant album, the intro music 'tony's theme' is slightly different to when its in the movie.I've played it numerous times, don't think i could get fed up with it it's a classic sound track.
Published on 16 Jun 2012 by betty boop

versus
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remixed, not remastered
As a Moroder fan, I've always loved this soundtrack, and was looking forward to a remastered, better quality CD copy of the original. Unfortunately in this case, for 'remastered' read 'remixed'. Cheaply remixed. The tracks are pretty much as they were but in most cases with a new rhythm track that does nothing for them. None of the tracks are improved, they don't even...
Published on 1 Jun 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remixed, not remastered, 1 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
As a Moroder fan, I've always loved this soundtrack, and was looking forward to a remastered, better quality CD copy of the original. Unfortunately in this case, for 'remastered' read 'remixed'. Cheaply remixed. The tracks are pretty much as they were but in most cases with a new rhythm track that does nothing for them. None of the tracks are improved, they don't even sound more modern. This CD still leaves me wanting nothing more than a digital enhancement of the originals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dont go near this, 19 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. Barker "MJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
Bought this by mistake thinking it was the original soundtrack. I can not believe GM had anything to do with these remix re issues.
Truly appalling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
Although this was never really one of the best 80's soundtracks, there are a few tracks here which would rank high in a list of the best themese from 80's movies. Paul Engelmans Push It To The Limit is an overlooked soundtrack gem and Tony's Theme by Georgio Moroder sends shivers up the spine (and is very similar to tracks he produced for The Never Ending Story a year later).
What let's this release down is (as many have stated here already)that all the tracks have been 'updated'. This is not just digital remastering but tinkering with the oiginal tracks so that the aforementioned Push It To The Limit starts with a very 90's/00's dance beat which dates the song moreso that the original from 1983 would have done. This has been done to very track apart from the two instrumentals.

There is likely only minimal demand for this soundtrack so a rerelease of the original mastered album is unlikely. As most tracks have a latin flavoured dance beat anyway, the addition of sampled beats make most of this sound like the type of thing you hate the Eurovision Song Contest for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Scarface Defaced, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Peter Snow "Snowman" (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
I agree with 'A Customer'. No proper remastering just an onverlaying, drowning rhythm track throughout. In addition the recording was defective. One of the finest tracks, Vamos a Bailar, is an unplayable cacophony. Go for an earlier version.
Peter Snow
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ruined, 15 April 2012
By 
LRJ Burne (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
Oh dear.

Unfortunately this is not the soundtrack to the movie Scarface. It's actually the songs from the film remixed with horrendous techno and dance beats laid over the top that totally ruin the feel and style of the songs. Granted, the original Scarface soundtrack is a very dated album, but surely that's the point? In many people's minds Scarface symbolises the 80s as much as Miami Vice, and to take that 80s feeling away from these tracks is to take away the essence of the album, as well as its connection with the film.

The only good thing I can bring myself to say about this CD is that the extra guitar solo heard in Paul Engemann's "Push It To The Limit" in the film has been added back into the track here, but its pretty much irrelevant as all of the other additions have ruined the song.

Do yourself a favour, avoid this 'remastered' album and track down the original version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars These downloads are not remixes, 2 Sep 2010
This review is from: Scarface (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) (MP3 Download)
seems the other 2 reviews of the 2003 cd don't apply to these tracks, which aren't the horrendous remixes. the 3 stars is just because the awesome moroder intro track isn't included and i'd have paid [...] just for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Album!!!, 16 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
Brilliant album, the intro music 'tony's theme' is slightly different to when its in the movie.I've played it numerous times, don't think i could get fed up with it it's a classic sound track.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Back in time, 9 Sep 2010
By 
Jacco De Wit "Jacco" (The Hague) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Scarface (Audio CD)
Saw the movie when I was like 12 or something. It made a great impression on my young mind. Since then, I watched it about four time more - last time was at least ten years ago. All of a sudden, I somewhere heard the : Push It To The Limit tune. Immediately I bought the CD and it arrived a couple da of days back.

This soundtrack is a trip. The whole movie plays again in my mind's eye. Feast of recognition!

Like Scarface? Then this OST is a must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews