Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars32
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£13.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 April 2011
Maybe you need to be a person who does not watch Coronation Street to really appreciate this show, so you don't try and match up the characters/actors. I am that person and I loved it. I have ordered the dvd for several of my friends and family.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2014
What an amazing story. Really enjoyed watching it and thought the actors were incredibly good, especially David Dawson and Jessie Wallace. As someone who remembers when Coronation Street started it was great to learn how it was brought together and the difficulties they had getting it screened and then finding the right actresses. Well done Tony Warren.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2016
I am a big fan of these docu-dramas and have in my collection similar ones on Dad's Army, Hattie Jacques, Eric and Ernie, and Burton and Taylor.This one tells the tale of the young Tony Warren and his struggle to bring to TV his story of everyday life in the backstreets of a Manchester suburb. We learn how difficult it was to get the story to the screen, the problems, of casting it, the changes that had to be made along the way, all driven by the sheer determination of Mr. Warren and the fantastic support he received from his equally determined producer.

Coronation Street may now be very established but is was clearly touch and go that it made it to the screen and this film entertainingly takes us through that journey aided and abetted by excellent acting performances, and excellent set designs which take the viewer right back to the dawn of the sixties.

As I write Tony Warren has just passed away. This is a very fitting tribute to him.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2014
I've seen this drama so many times on television I don't think you'd believe me. I don't really know why I like it so much, but the characters just seem to spring to life on the screen and they all seem so real and vivid and the full of life and energy and the story is totally absorbing.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
When this was first aired in 2010, I recorded it and watched it about 5 times over a few months. It was just so well written and acted! I am still confused as to why this was a BBC production and not ITV, but never mind. It is simply a great story.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 February 2015
One of the best things to come from the many 50th celebrations of the nation's longest-running TV serial was actually this dramatisation of how 'Coronation Street' came to be and how it all came together. You do not have to be a 'Street' fan to experience pleasure from this film, I don't think my dad has ever even seen a full episode of 'Corrie' ever, but he did love this.

Tony Warren (portrayed here by David Dawson) was a young former child actor turned struggling scriptwriter who had a dream to create a television drama in the north, focusing on real working-class people living on an ordinary street, which was something that had never been done before. The drama focuses on how he fort to make his vision a small-screen reality and the obstacles he had to overcome from the folks in charge at Granada Television who didn't believe in it.

'The Road to Coronation Street' is one of those perfect dramas that tells a real life is story in an interesting, informative and often humorous way. The casting is superb, and filled with famous faces from the small screen including Lynda Baron (Gladys in 'Open All Hours' and Auntie Mabel in that wonderful kids show 'Come Outside'), the multi-talented Jane Horrocks, and Jessie Wallace, who was something of a revelation to me as actress Pat Phoenix. Wallace is best known as tarty Kat Slater in 'EastEnders', but her portrayal of Pat, who went into star in 'Corrie' as Elsie Tanner was uncanny and played with such conviction.

An interesting story, brilliantly dramatised. Well done Tony Warren who went onto create such a British institution. I was a great 'Coronation Street' fan up until the 1990s, and now it's a different show, but when it was good, it was very good, keeping in with Warren's dream of a cosy, true-to-life drama with likeable characters and good actors. 'The Road to Coronation Street', actually broadcast on the BBC, tells the story of how this show began, and the result is a first-class drama.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2011
One of the best TV Dramas of the last few years. A magnificent tribute to the institution that is Coronation Street.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2011
As a on off viewer of the street i tend to remember the older characters from my youth, so when i purchased this dvd i was not expecting it to drawn into the world of tv so easily. I never saw the 60s corrie so was intrigued by the tale of lowly actor / writer rags to not so riches and loved it. everyone i remember came to life and jesse wallace as pat pheonix is a real surprise. buy it and see. just isnt on long enough so ive bought older episodes that i never saw and loving it..........
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2012
This is one of the best dramas ever, the acting and characterisation are spot on and the story is wonderful.

It could not have been done any better than this!

Absolutely an essential buy for anyone who loves great TV and you don't need to be a fan of Coronation Street to enjoy this, really brilliant!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Good words are hard to find about the Beeb lately, so what a shock to find this magical time machine of a drama.
So much of what the BBC produce lately is total pap. How ironic they pay tribute to Granadaland just as they up sticks and move there.

All beautifully cast and performed but Jesse Wallace steals the show as Pat Phoenix. This is how to do television magic.
A glimpse of the paradise that's been lost.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)