Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (273)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gets better
I've been lucky enough to see this already and it was outstanding. Having loved Series 1 and 2 I was concerned series three wouldn't match the standard. Well it does, and raises it again.

Walter has now moved up the food chain and is working exclusively for the dead eyed Pollo, mass producing his crystal meth recipe in a purpose built laboratory...
Published on 13 Oct 2010 by Movieman

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Crawling On.
The third series of Breaking Bad begins with people crawling through the Mexican desert in a kind of David Lynch spooky style. This is really the highlight. The show is still better than an average series and it keeps you just about hooked, but there isn't much progress. The best thing about this series is the two mexican hitmen brothers and the development of Walter...
Published 20 months ago by j.r


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best gets better, 13 Oct 2010
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I've been lucky enough to see this already and it was outstanding. Having loved Series 1 and 2 I was concerned series three wouldn't match the standard. Well it does, and raises it again.

Walter has now moved up the food chain and is working exclusively for the dead eyed Pollo, mass producing his crystal meth recipe in a purpose built laboratory.

Each episode is beautifully crafted, skilfully written, directed, filmed, edited and acted and even though I find the 2 female principles (wife & sister in law) a little grating I'm more than happy to forgive. I did find one episode (The Fly) a little slow but it was interesting in it's own way and the series picks up into a full on sprint soon after.

It's fascinating watching Walt juggle and adapt the changing relationships and pressures from Pollo, Jessie, his wife, In-laws, the Mexicans and his lawyer. There are some simply outstanding scenes as the plot twists and turns culminating in what I guarantee will be one of the most tense cliff hangers you'll have ever seen.

I'd love to speculate what will happen next but don't want to spoil a moment of what will be a genuine viewing pleasure.

If only other TV programs were half as good. Just brilliant. Order it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So addictive, 9 Mar 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
What to say about Season 3 without giving away important plot points? Well... Walt and Skyler's marriage is in trouble, Hank's search for the elusive Heizenburg draws ever closer, Walt and Jesse's setup changes, and there is a hell of lot that Walt and Jesse do that you would never have thought they would have done having seen Season 1 and 2.

I thought the series started off slowly with the early episodes focusing of Walt and Skyler a bit melodramatic, like soap opera schtick. Then the aftermath of the ending of Season 2 and how the town deals with it was a bit overblown as well. But then the series picks up as Walt and Jesse's chickens come home to roost. A couple of badass Mexican assassins are coming to town and it's these guys combined with Walt's benefactor and Hank that really helps the series find 5th gear midway through the series. I watched maybe four episodes in one go and it blew me away, best movie I've seen all year!

In the aftermath of the carnage that happens mid season, things develop even more interestingly for Walt as the situation he finds himself in starts to slowly turn on him. It's always been the case that Walt and Jesse's good things often go bad quickly and it's the case here - only for them it causes them to act more desperately than ever before. And the ending? Everything leading up to it made me wonder how Walt and Jesse were going to survive going head to head with the cartels but this was one hell of an unexpected, gutsy ending.

The writing throughout is utterly brilliant, full credit to Vince Gilligan and his team for knocking it out of the park even in the less explosive episodes (of which there are maybe 4 out of the 13). It's always witty, clever, and the twists and turns always imaginative and unexpected. Fantastic, wonderful writing, maybe the best seen on TV since "The Wire".

And the acting - well, both Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul earned Emmys for their performances in this series and let me say that they both deserved it. Aaron Paul's work in Series 2 was enough for the trophy but he was finally recognised with his work in Series 3. Gilligan and co. give him some excellent speeches to make, especially when Jesse is physically impaired in some of the middle episodes, and Jesse's character becomes more and more interesting with each passing show.

And Bryan Cranston, man this guy can do it all can't he? Walter White goes to some dark places in this series and at every step Cranston is able to make you watch him in every scene without having you take your eyes off of him - he is an actor who takes a scene and turns it into an acting masterclass. Despite all of the darkness in this series there are moments of levity that are really funny because Cranston and Paul have this excellent chemistry (pun intended) and great timing.

Dean Norris who plays Hank the DEA brother in law also knocks it out of the park. His character is given some very difficult and some very human situations and Norris is completely believable throughout. I always liked Hank up to this point but now he becomes more than the loud mouthed indestructible wall of confidence he's been up to now and develops further. Excellent work as well from Anna Gunn, Bob Odenkirk (the deliciously seedy lawyer), and the two "baddies" Giancarlo Esposito (who brings an intensity to every scene like you won't believe - you watch his face during his scenes and that work alone deserves an Emmy) and Jonathan Banks, the badder than badass enforcer.

If you're reading this then you're a fan and wondering if Season 3 holds up to Season 1 and 2 - well let me assure you it does. I would say as a whole it's not as perfect as Season 2 was, but there's too much outstanding work in Season 3 to say it's nothing short of an excellent continuation of the best TV series at the moment. It's too watchable, and though it started slow (for me), once it got going, it got going GOOD, and though I tried to space it out with 1 episode a night, I ended up watching the last 8 in 2 sittings. This is the best TV show out there and puts to shame most everything else that calls itself "drama". Cannot wait for Season 4. Go go Walt and Jesse!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BB3, 6 Dec 2010
By 
M. Neale "Angel-Eyes" (Staffordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Anyone who has not seen any of the Breaking Bad Seasons you should get out and get it seasons 1,2,3 its guaranteed to keep you watching, its so entertaining, gripping, funny - one of the best things we have watched on the box for as long as we can remember - you could not ask for anything else 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent series that improves each season., 3 Dec 2011
By 
Vodka Brown (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
It looks like series 3 is not likely to be released in the UK for a long time yet - do yourself a favour and buy it from Amazon's German website. It's as easy as buying from the UK site, the box is in German but the DVD inside is exactly the same as a UK one would be. I ordered it at the same time as another DVD from the UK site and the German order arrived first (it looks like they are sent from the same place).

Meanwhile, I agree with the other reviewers that Breaking Bad is criminally underrated, mainly because the British public hasn't been given the opportunity to see it. If it had been transmitted on BBC4 it would be more talked about than the Wire and held in at least as much esteem. In addition to being beautifully written, acted and shot, each season charts the ongoing progression of Walter from nerdy downtrodden chemistry teacher to hardened drug lord (possibly?). Walter intends to be a good father and provide for his family while we watch him (and his family) change as his priorities become more ruthless and his morals ebb imperceptibly away. The last episode of series three had me literally on the edge of my seat, shouting at the TV. And series 4 will be available from Amazon Germany in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can I give it 6 stars?, 18 Oct 2014
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
What can be said about this spectacular saga that hasn't been said before? One of the very few series that competes with the best films in history for achievement in cinematic storytelling. Like a great novel slowly unfolding, it's funny, heartbreaking, incredibly tense, deeply disturbing,full of brilliant plot twists, rich, compelling characters and a pitch-black sense of humor.

A nebbishy high-school science teacher finds he has lung cancer, so becomes a meth dealer to make money for his family before his death. Often visually stunning, with a breathtaking performance by Brian Cranston in the lead, and great work from all the supporting roles, this portrait of a man's decent into hell couldn't be much better, and it just grows darker and more disturbing each year.

In a way, thematically it recalls "The Godfather I and II" in how that epic charts Michael's journey from innocence to darkness, along with the moral murkiness of the endless drive for money and success - how we lose ourselves, so that succeeding and having ever more becomes an end in itself for which we will pay any price, rather than a route to happiness, trapping us in a game we can never win.

This third season the story kicks into even higher gear. Every time there's a moment's peace, a new crisis come crashing in to raise the stakes yet again. This is powerful, important and utterly enthralling stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It just keeps getting better, 21 Dec 2010
It is tragic that this brilliant series gets so few viewers in the UK. Every last character is cast perfectly. The narrative flows. The dialogue is flawless. It is entirely of itself. In my opinion there has been only three other US series comparable to Breaking Bad; The Wire, The Shield and Mad Men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All TV should be this good., 31 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
Every season of this show gets better and better. I don't know what to say without adding spoilers, but if you don't watch this series, you are seriously missing out! x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 6* calibre, 5 Jan 2011
Probably the most inventive, exciting, compelling, witty and well produced program on tv. It's a complete mystery to me why series 1 and 2 have not been huge hits in the UK - perhaps they are just too dark.

If you've already watched 1 and 2 you'll know what to expect and Series 3 will not disappoint.
If you're new to Breaking Bad give yourself a treat and watch 1 and 2 first - brilliant.

Walt (Bryan Cranston) has stepped up a league and is now working for, and engaged in a battle of wits with his new employer the dead eyed 'Pollo'.

The dynamic of his relationship with his partner 'Jesse', DEA brother in law, wife, lawyer and new lab partner all provide a huge amount of material.

Each episode is magnificent in its own way with the central plot running through to one of the most spectacular series ending cliff hangars you are ever likely to see.

The photography, direction, characters, acting, situations and humour are just perfect. I find the wife and sister-in-law characters grating but am happy to overlook that for what is the best program on Tv over the past couple of years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 14 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010] (DVD)
I was given Season 1 as a Christmas present and it sat on the shelf for a few weeks until finally, I was bored one evening and decided to give it a shot. Well, what a surprise I got! This is - Absolutely Brilliant! I won't go over the story again of the chemistry teacher who cooks crystal meth blah blah blah but I will say that the more seasons you watch, the deeper the story gets and the twists and turns it takes are very unpredictable. It's quite emotional too in that your feelings for the characters change as the story progresses. I found his sister-in-law quite unbearable at the start (I wanted to strangle her) but then felt sorry for her as she is treated so inconsiderately by her husband and sister. Jesse, Walt's cooking partner is a fascinating character and you see a decent guy emerge from the train-wreck introduced to you at the beginning. I won't say any more as I don't want to spoil it but I will say that I've got as far as Season 4 and it just gets better and better. I wish I hadn't discovered it until Season 8 (if it gets that far) because that way I could have watched them all back to back and not have to wait for the next season like I have to now. *sob*

Tip: it's cheaper to buy the set of Seasons 1-4 than it is to buy them individually. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 26 Feb 2012
this series is brilliant cant buy it in the uk yet typical ..... as other reviewers have said buy it from amazom germany i did came within 4 days of ordering .plays in english no problems . andrew
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010]
Breaking Bad - Season 3 [DVD] [2010] by Bryan Cranston (DVD - 2012)
£9.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews