Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the great interpretations of the Beethoven
It would be nice if DGG were to release Scheiderhan's earlier recording with Paul van Kempen too to complement this, but on its own this is an outstanding recording of the Concerto. Schneiderhan was a wonderful Beethoven interpreter, as his two sets of the Sonatas (with Wilhelm Kempff and Carl Seeman) testify. There is nothing eccentric or quirky about the approach, but...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing from Schneiderhan but...
Beautiful playing from Schneiderhan in fabulously warm, rich sound but utterly lacking in terms of any sign of Beethovenian fire and muscularity. Note for example the utterly limp transition to the 'allegro' (there isn't any sign of an 'allegro' movement here properly understood) in the final movement. If you like your Beethoven performed reverentially you will love this...
Published 13 hours ago by Dr. M. Rologas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the great interpretations of the Beethoven, 7 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. Ian A. Macfarlane "almac1975" (Fife, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It would be nice if DGG were to release Scheiderhan's earlier recording with Paul van Kempen too to complement this, but on its own this is an outstanding recording of the Concerto. Schneiderhan was a wonderful Beethoven interpreter, as his two sets of the Sonatas (with Wilhelm Kempff and Carl Seeman) testify. There is nothing eccentric or quirky about the approach, but everything is done so well - the sound is glorious, the proportions of the Concerto are very well managed, climaxes are beautifully judged and there is an effortless focus about the whole thing. In the first movement Schneiderhan uses Beethoven's own cadenza (written for the piano version of the same Concerto), and I have to say that - pace Beethoven - I would much rather have the familiar Kreisler cadenza, which is ingenious and wonderfully violinistic, but it is the soloist's prerogative to use whichever cadenza he chooses, so fair enough. Eugen Jochum was a wonderful Beethoven conductor, and everything about the issue exudes quality. The Mozart Concerto is beautifully played too. This is an outstanding CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic account, 27 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. Christopher Harris "Chris in Brum" (Birmingham UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I've had this version of the Beethoven VC for many years and although I have a number of others it's this one I come back to in the end. Why I'm not completely sure but somehow it brings me closer to the music. I'm sorry that this is vague but I'll have to leave it to the experts to tell you why this is so good but trust me it is. Even if you have other versions buy this as a comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, 15 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Beethoven's Violin Concerto, featuring Ruggiero Ricci, was the first LP I bought, on vinyl around 1960. I needed a replacement on CD, and I wasn't disappointed with this sublime rendition. I loved the cadenzas, and can highly recommend this recording
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful playing from Schneiderhan but..., 17 Sep 2014
By 
Dr. M. Rologas (Edinburgh, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Beautiful playing from Schneiderhan in fabulously warm, rich sound but utterly lacking in terms of any sign of Beethovenian fire and muscularity. Note for example the utterly limp transition to the 'allegro' (there isn't any sign of an 'allegro' movement here properly understood) in the final movement. If you like your Beethoven performed reverentially you will love this recording. If you don't then, like me, you will need to look elsewhere. You may find Thomas Zehetmair's version wth Bruggen a bracing antidote to this kind of performance. P.S. They also use Beethoven's timpani dominated cadenza that he used for his piano concerto arrangement of the violin concerto which I find difficult to warm to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a classic performance of the Beethoven violin concerto, 26 Feb 2014
This remains above all a beautifully serene account of the Beethoven violin concerto with soloist, conductor and orchestra perfectly poised. The recording sounds well for its age, but it is the elegiac qualities of this Beethoven performance that make this disc so memorable. This was my introduction to this concerto on LP too many years ago and in listening again on CD after some forty years I am reminded why this is such a special reading.

The Mozart addition is a very fine performance in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic!, 31 Jan 2008
By 
D. E. Potts - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
It took me a long time before I really started to appreciate Beethoven's Violin concerto. It can seem quite tame when you first hear it. Possibly because of the lack of notes in comparison to his piano concertos for instance. This is in fact quite the opposite- every note the violin plays has space, that is all. Beethoven recognised that there was no need to stretch the violin to its limits in order to achieve the most beautiful effect, which he does by letting every note breath. This version is one of the best, along with Perlman's celebrated performance. Sound is 1st Class too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars W. Schneiderhahn, 28 Feb 2014
I am struck by the relative dearth of recordings of this Concerto, often placed in the top three.
Chung with the Wiener is a great version.
It is a very symphonic concerto, so both orchestra and soloist quality are important.
But I shall not be buying this or indeed any other W. Schneiderhahn CD, having discovered that he was a Nazi member from 1940.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beethoven: Violin Concerto / Mozart: Violin Concerto No.5
Beethoven: Violin Concerto / Mozart: Violin Concerto No.5 by Berliner Philharmoniker and Eugen Jochum and Wolfgang Schneiderhan
Buy MP3 Album8.49
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews