Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like Rock and Blues
I've been a fan of TYA for years, they have always been underrated in my view. I first came across them in their Decca days when they produced quite simply the best most hypnotic version of 'Spoonful' i've ever heard. This album is typically vibrant, moving and immeasurably pleasing for me. You will know just how good the players are, the vocals are exhilirating, there's...
Published on 27 Sep 2010 by AlanS

versus
4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pointless
Absolutely pointless having an album of mixed songs for sale, but not telling you what is on it. It's a bit like buying vegetables for dinner, but you can't look in the bag to see what you've got. Poor way of selling by Amazon, from a company noted for how good it is at everything else.
Published on 24 July 2011 by BobinScotland


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More like Rock and Blues, 27 Sep 2010
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
I've been a fan of TYA for years, they have always been underrated in my view. I first came across them in their Decca days when they produced quite simply the best most hypnotic version of 'Spoonful' i've ever heard. This album is typically vibrant, moving and immeasurably pleasing for me. You will know just how good the players are, the vocals are exhilirating, there's not a duff track on it, i'm just annoyed I didn't come across this sooner. It's not the best album ever but it's in my top 40.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Track Listing!!, 26 Feb 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure... Blues (Audio CD)
This is the Track Listing as far as I know it together with the artists.

Please excuse any genuine mistakes or typos or spelling mistakes
(This is the second in the 'Pure' range I have done!!
CD 1
01. Cross Road Blues - Robert Johnson
02. That's All Right - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
03. The Blues Had A Baby And They Named It Rock And Roll - Muddy Waters
04. Need Your Love So Bad - Fleetwood Mac
05. Lovin' In My Baby's Eyes - Taj Mahal
06. I'm Your Hoochie Coochie Man - Willie Dixon
07. Death Letter Blues - Son House
08. Whitey Headed Blues - Sonny Boy Williamson
09. Crying In My Sleep - Jimmy Yancey
10. Muddy Water (A Mississippi Moan) - Bessie Smith And Her Band
11. Motherless Children - Blind Willie Johnson
12. Fort Worth And Dallas Blues - Leadbelly
13. I'm Gonna Train My Baby - Robert Lockwood
14. Seminole Blues - Tampa Red
15. Johnny B. Goode (Live) - Johnny Winters
16. Got My Mojo Workin' - Otis Span
17. River Of No Return - The Jeff Healey Band

CD 2
01. Blues For Mama - Nina Simone
02. Pride And Joy - Stevie Ray Vaughan & Double Trouble
03. Killing Floor - The Electric Flag
04. I'd Rather Go Blind - Chicken Shack (Christine Perfect (McVie) Vocals
05. Early In The Morning - Bill 'Jazz' Gillum
06. Give Me An Old, Old Lady - Bukka White
07. Baby, Please Don't Go - Big Joe Williams
08. Stormy Monday Blues - Earl Hines & His Orchestra
09. That Ain't Right - Mildred Bailey
10. Sunny Road - Roosevelt Sykes & His Original Honeydrippers
11. Bumble Bee Blues - Memphis Minnie
12. Worried Life Blues - Big Maceo Merriweather
13. Confessin' The Blues - Jimmy Witherspoon with Jay McShann & His Band
14. No More Women Blues - Lonnie Johnson
15. When the Sun Goes Down - Leroy Carr
16. Honky Tonk Train Blues - Meade Lux Leiws
17. Beer Drinkin' Woman - Memphis Slim

CD 3
01. Hard To Be - The Vaughan Brothers
02. Sawbuk - Top Topham
03. Cleanhead Blues - Eddie 'Cleanhead' Vinson
04. Hold Me (Just A Little Longer Tonight) - Etta James
05. Baby Don't You Think I Know - Johnny Shines
06. Everyday I Have the Blues - Joe Williams
07. Broke And Hungry Blues - Big Maceo Merriweather
08. Prowling Night Hawk - Robert Lee McCoy
09. Deep Down In The Ground - Sonny Boy Williamson
10. Rag Mama Rag - Blind Boy Fuller
11. I Love My Baby - Tommy McClennan
12. Mean Ole Frisco Blues - Arthur 'Big Boy' Crudup
13. Sweet Home Chicago - Robert Johnson
14. Careless Love - Joe Turner
15. Friendless Blues - Bih Bill Broonzy
16. She's Makin' a Fool Out Of Me - Washboard Sam & His Washboard Band
17. Billie's Blues (I Love My Man) - Billie Holiday & Her Orchestra

CD 4

01. Howling Wolf (Live) - Muddy Waters
02. I've Got To Forget You - Jellybrad
03. Corinna - Taj Mahal
04. Let Me Miss You, Baby - Henry 'Red' Allen
05. Back O' Town Blues - Louis Armstrong & His All Stars
06. Rocks In My Bed - Duke Ellington & His Famous Orchestra
07. Brand New Wagon - Count Basie And His Orchestra
08. St. Louis Blues - Jack Teagarden's Big Eight
09. The Blues in My Flat - Benny Goodman Quartet
10. Why Don't You Do Right? (Get Me Some Money Too) - Lil Green
11. Kassie Jones, Part 1 - Furry Lewis
12. Wipe It Off - Lonnie Johnson
13. Southern Can Is Mine - Blind Willie McTell
14. Key To The Highway 70 No.1 - Brownie McGhee
15. Lend Me Your Love - Memphis Slim
16. Am I Wrong - Keb' Mo'
17. JB's Blues - Jeff Beck
(I think those people at Pure should reward me don't you??)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alvin Lee - Pure Blues, 15 Dec 2005
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
Alvin Lee is one of the best guitarists ever....(along with Eric Clapton, Jimi Hendrix, Stevie Ray Vaughan, and Carlos Santana) and this particular album spotlights the great talent of a man who is not as well-known as the above-mentioned, yet one of the most beloved (here in America - the Homeland of the Blues) and talented guitar players of our time - from the 60's
right up to the present day. We LOVE his guitar AND his music forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars pure blues - sure is!!!, 21 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
bought this album for the george harrison slide guitar solo but soon loved a lot more tracks than that one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars alvin lee-in a word -brilliant, 10 Aug 2009
By 
Mrs. C. Casson "carol" (buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
GOT INTO TEN YEARS AFTER COUPLE OF YEARS AGO-COLLECTED THEIR BEST CDS AND THEN REALISED ALVIN LEE HAD SOME OF HIS OWN-IN A WORD THIS CD WILL NOT DISAPPOINT-A GOOD SELECTION OF ALVIN TRACKS,ITS JUST A GREAT CD THAT IS TIMELESS AND NEVER GETS BORING-DONT THINK ABOUT IT JUST BUY IT AND YOU WILL TREASURE IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a very different collection, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure... Blues (Audio CD)
brilliant selection of tracks, some rare and unusual. Some artists I wish I'd come across years ago. Great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alvin playing the Blues, 6 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
A showcase for some great Blues Tracks played by Alvin over the Years If you are Blues Officianado go and buy it you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man on the strings, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
What a compilation. Rare to see such a versatile guitarist -we probably wont see someone this good for years. He was the master
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From one of the great blues players, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. Stephen Cuss (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
This is a classic album, A much underated guiter player Alvin shows how its done with style a great album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars hot blues from a master, 1 Jan 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pure Blues (Audio CD)
This is one great album. Alvin Lee is one great blues man. Nice to hear George Harrison on slide guitar too. A good mix of songs from Lee's solo albums and a few with Ten Years After. Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa73b3c30)

This product

Pure... Blues
Pure... Blues by Ten Years After (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews